Publisher Rebellion to Offer Rare Comics Digitally in 2021

Firekind, Rebellion Publishing
Paul Marshall/Rebellion Publishing
The new publishing line will release material from the 40-plus-year history of the long-running British anthology comic.

In addition to its existing 2021 print slate, Rebellion Publishing has announced an aggressive new program of digital collected editions for next year, representing multiple titles from the 2000 AD library, including rare work by Preacher co-creator Garth Ennis, Criminal’s Sean Phillips and Judge Dredd writer Alan Grant.

Released monthly throughout 2021, the digital collections include stories in a number of different genres, including the time-travel comedy of Time Flies, the barbarian action of Aquila Vol. II: The Burning Fields and the horror series Dark Justice: Torture Garden. Of particular note are three separate collections dedicated to the work of writer John Smith, including Firekind, a fantasy sci-fi serial that echoes elements of James Cameron’s Avatar despite being published two decades prior to that movie’s release.

“This new series of digital-only collections available from our app and webshop are a fantastic dive into 2000 AD’s incredible backlist," said Ben Smith, Rebellion head of film, television and publishing. "Our archives are bursting at the seams with hidden gems that have either never been collected or just haven’t been digitized before, so it’s great to be able to make them available. The advance of digital-only collections is that we can bring these classics direct to the readers without having to add even more books to our already bumper publishing schedule.”

As with all 2000 AD digital releases, the titles will be available via the 2000 AD app for Apple, Android and Windows 10 devices, as well as DRM-free PDF or CBZ downloads directly from the 2000 AD web store. Titles will also be available via Amazon Kindle.

See the full digital publishing slate of 2021 Rebellion collections below:

Armoured Gideon by John Tomlinson, Alan McKenzie, Simon Jacob, and Sean Phillips (Jan. 6)
Revere by John Smith and Simon Harrison (Feb. 3)
The Mean Arena Volume 1: The Southampton Sharks by Tom Tully, John Richardson, Steve Dillon, and Johnny Johnstone (Mar. 3)
Flesh: Midnight Cowboys by Pat Mills and James McKay (Apr. 7)
Time Flies by Garth Ennis, Philip Bond, John Beeston, and Roger Langridge (May 5)
Slaughter Bowl by John Smith and Paul Peart (June 2)
Aquila Volume II: The Burning Fields by Gordon Rennie, Paul Davidson, and Patrick Goddard (July 7)
Bad City Blue by Alan Grant and Robin Smith (Aug. 4)
Firekind by John Smith and Paul Marshall (Sept. 1)
Dark Justice: Torture Garden by David Hine and Nick Percival (Oct. 6)
Tales from the Black Museum: Volume One by various, including John Wagner, Al Ewing, Dan Abnett, Simon Spurrier, John Smith, Alan Grant, Shaun Thomas, John Ridgway, Dylan Teague, Rufus Dayglo, and Dean Ormston (Nov. 3)
Durham Red: Born Bad by Alec Worley, Ben Willsher, and Lee Carter (Dec. 1)