Saturn Awards Recognizing Jason Blum, Guillermo del Toro and More

Jason Blum and Guillermo Del Toro - Split - Getty - H 2018
Left, Bryan Bedder, right, Carlos Alvarez, both Getty Images
The recipients of this year's special awards have been revealed ahead of the June 27 ceremony.

Ahead of the official 44th Annual Saturn Awards Ceremony on June 27, the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Films on Wednesday revealed the recipients of this year’s special awards. The honors recognize both rising stars and reigning champions of genre entertainment in both movies and television.

Paranormal Activity and Get Out producer Jason Blum will receive the Producer’s Showcase Award, and Berlanti Productions president Sarah Schechter — executive producer on the CW shows Arrow, The Flash, Black Lightning, Supergirl, Legends of Tomorrow and Riverdale — will take home the Dan Curtis Award.

Additionally, Jake Kasdan, producer and director of Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle, will be given the Filmmaker’s Showcase Award, and Child’s Play creator Don Mancini — currently supervising producer on the Syfy series Channel Zero — will be presented with the Special Achievement Award.

This year’s Founder’s Award, presented in honor of the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Films founder Dr. Donald A. Reed, will go to Pacific Rim, Crimson Peak and The Shape of Water filmmaker Guillermo del Toro, with particular mention being made to his dedication to elevating genre works into artistic statements in their own right.

The awards ceremony, set to take place in Burbank, will be hosted by Mystery Science Theater 3000: The Return star and comedian Jonah Ray. More information about the awards, including a list of this year’s nominees in all categories, can be found at the Saturn Awards website.