Universal's 'Fast 8' Gets Title: 'The Fate of the Furious'

The studio also released a teaser trailer for the eighth installment, which hits theaters on April 14.

Fast and Furious 8 has a new name.

Universal announced that the eighth installment of the Fast and the Furious franchise will be titled The Fate of the Furious.

F. Gary Gray is directing the film, which features the return of Vin Diesel, Dwayne Johnson, Jason Statham, Michelle Rodriguez, Ludacris, Tyrese Gibson and Kurt Russell, as well as the additions of Scott Eastwood and Charlize Theron.

The seventh entry in the franchise grossed more than $1.5 billion globally. 

The Fate of the Furious hits theaters April 14.

The announcement was accompanied by a climate-hopping teaser trailer, featuring Johnson's line, "Let's play."