• The Hollywood Reporter on LinkedIn
  • Follow THR on Pinterest

'American Idol': New Promo Highlights Show Alums, Track Record (Exclusive Video)

The ad for season 13 features Kelly Clarkson, Carrie Underwood, Phillip Phillips and Adam Lambert, among others, in a Facebook timeline-themed list.

American Idol season 13 logo P

American Idol's die-hard fans -- diminishing but still proud -- will appreciate the effort Fox and the show's new executive producers are putting into highlighting the series' past to amp up its future.

In a new promo for season 13 (or XIII, as it's been branded), revealed exclusively to The Hollywood Reporter's Idol Worship, a Facebook timeline theme is employed to remind viewers -- devoted, passive, casual and otherwise -- of the more than 20 household names to emerge from the show, starting with season-one winner Kelly Clarkson and ending on season 11's Phillip Phillips.

PHOTOS: 'American Idol' Judges Past and Present: The Good, the Bad and the Boring

Other alums that get shout-outs in the clip include season-four champ Carrie Underwood, season three's Jennifer Hudson, season-five finalist Chris Daughtry and season-eight favorite Adam Lambert

The effort mirrors what Fox, Fremantle and friends have long contended: that Idol's postshow track record is unparalleled -- and competitors The Voice (on NBC) and X Factor U.S. (also on Fox) don't even come close. That may be true, but American Idol has undoubtedly lost some of its luster, especially in recent years. Will a nod toward its past turns things around?

See the promo below, along with a list of Idol alums referenced in the clip followed by the number of mentions (written or visual).

Ryan Seacrest: 1
Kelly Clarkson: 3
Ruben Studdard: 1 
Jennifer Hudson: 2
Diana DeGarmo: 1 
Carrie Underwood: 2
Chris Daughtry: 1
Katharine McPhee: 1
Taylor Hicks: 1 
Jordin Sparks: 2
David Cook: 1
Adam Lambert: 2
Kris Allen: 1 
Lee DeWyze: 1
Simon Cowell: 2 
Randy Jackson: 1
Jennifer Lopez: 1
Steven Tyler: 1 
Haley Reinhart: 1 
Fantasia: 1 
Scotty McCreery: 1 
Candice Glover: 1 
Phillip Phillips: 2