'Star Wars,' 'Mad Max: Fury Road' Among Art Directors Guild Award Nominees

1:59 PM 1/28/2016

by Carolyn Giardina

'Bridge of Spies,' 'The Danish Girl' and 'The Martian' are also nominated.

First Order Star Wars - H - 2015

Star Wars: The Force Awakens, Mad Max: Fury Road, Bridge of Spies and The Martian are among the nominees for the Art Directors Guild's 20th annual Excellence in Production Design Awards, which will be presented Jan. 31 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles.

The guild recognizes work in feature film in three categories: period, fantasy and contemporary.

Nominees in the category for period films include Bridge of Spies (whose production designer, Adam Stockhausen, won an Oscar last year for The Grand Budapest Hotel), Crimson Peak, Danish Girl, The Revenant and Trumbo.

The fantasy film nominees are Cinderella, Jurassic World, Fury Road, The Force Awakens and Tomorrowland. And in the contemporary film category, the ADG nominated Ex Machina, Joy, Martian, Sicario and Spectre.

Absent from the nominees list are period dramas Carol and Brooklyn.

Downton Abbey, Game of Thrones and the finale of Mad Men are among the TV nominees. As the result of a tie, the category for a variety, reality or competition series has six nominees: Conan, The Ellen DeGeneres Show, Key & Peele, Saturday Night Live, Top Chef and The Voice.

The complete list of nominees follows:

  • Period Film

    The Revenant (WINNER)

    Production designer: Jack Fisk


    Bridge of Spies

    Production designer: Adam Stockhausen


    Crimson Peak

    Production designer: Thomas E. Sanders


    The Danish Girl

    Production designer: Eve Stewart



    Production designer: Mark Ricker


    Watch THR’s Roundtable with The Revenant Director

  • Fantasy Film

    Mad Max: Fury Road (WINNER)

    Production designer: Colin Gibson



    Production designer: Dante Ferretti


    Jurassic World

    Production designer: Edward Verreaux


    Star Wars: The Force Awakens

    Production designers: Rick Carter, Darren Gilford



    Production designer: Scott Chambliss

  • Contemporary Film

    The Martian (WINNER)

    Production designer: Arthur Max


    Ex Machina

    Production designer: Mark Digby



    Production designer: Judy Becker



    Production designer: Patrice Vermette



    Production designer: Dennis Gassner


    Watch THR’s Roundtable with The Martian Director

  • One-Hour Period or Fantasy Single-Camera Series

    Game of Thrones: "High Sparrow," "Unbowed, Unbent, Unbroken," "Hardhome" (WINNER)

    Production designer: Deborah Riley


    Downton Abbey: "A Moorland Holiday"

    Production designer: Donal Woods


    Gotham: "Strike Force," "Dammed If You Do…"

    Production designer: Richard Berg


    The Knick: "Ten Knots," "The Best With the Best to Get the Best," "Wonderful Surprises"

    Production designer: Howard Cummings


    Mad Men: "Person to Person"

    Production designer: Dan Bishop

  • One-Hour Contemporary Single-Camera Series

    Homeland: "The Tradition of Hospitality," "All about Allison," "The Litvinov Ruse" (WINNER)

    Production designer: John D. Kretschmer


    Better Call Saul: "Five-O," "Rico," "Marco"

    Production designer: Tony Fanning


    Empire: "Pilot"

    Production designer: Steve Saklad


    House of Cards: "Chapter 29," "Chapter 36"

    Production designer: Steve Arnold


    True Detective: "The Western Book of the Dead," "Night Finds You," "Omega Station"

    Production designer: Alex Digerlando


    Watch THR’s Roundtable with Homeland Creator

  • Television Movie or Limited Series

    American Horror Story: Hotel: "Checking In" (WINNER)

    Production designer: Mark Worthington



    Production designer: Clark Hunter


    Fargo: "Waiting for Dutch," "Before the Law," "Fear and Trembling"

    Production designer: Warren Alan Young


    Tut: "Power," "Betrayal," "Destiny"

    Production designer: Michael Hanan


    Wolf Hall: "Three Card Trick"

    Production designer: Pat Campbell


    See Lady Gaga's One-on-One with The Hollywood Reporter

  • Half Hour Single-Camera Series

    The Muppets: "The Ex-Factor," "Pig's in a Blanket" (WINNER)

    Production designer: Denise Pizzini


    The Last Man on Earth: "Alive in Tucson," "Is Anybody out There?," "Silent Night"

    Production designer: Bruce Robert Hill


    Silicon Valley: "Sand Hill Shuffle," "Homicide," "Adult Content"

    Production designer: Richard Toyon


    Transparent: "Kina Hora," "The Book of Life," "Oscillate"

    Production designer: Cat Smith


    Veep: "Joint Session," "Election Night"

    Production designer: James Gloster

  • Multi-Camera Series

    The Big Bang Theory: "The Skywalker Incursion," "The Mystery Date Observation," "The Platonic Permutation" (WINNER)

    Production designer: John Shaffner


    2 Broke Girls: "And the Escape Room," "And the Maybe Baby," "And the Coming out Party"

    Production designer: Glenda Rovello


    Clipped: "Dreamers," "Wi-Fi," "World's Rudest Barbershop"

    Production designer: Greg Grande


    Mom: "Mashed Potatoes and a Little Nitrous," "Six Popes and Red Ferrari,""Fun Girl Stuff and Eternal Salvation"

    Production designer: John Shaffner


    Truth Be Told: "Pilot," "Big Black Coffee," "Members Only"

    Production designer: Stephan Olson

  • Awards or Event Special

    The Oscars: 2015 (WINNER)

    Production designer: Derek Mclane


    67th Annual Emmy Awards

    Production designers: Tamlyn Wright, Baz Halpin


    The American Music Awards: 2015

    Production designers: Joe Stewart, John Shaffner


    Saturday Night Live: "40th Anniversary Special"

    Production designers: Keith Ian Raywood, Eugene Lee, Akira Yoshimura, N. Joseph Detullio, Peter Baran


    The Wiz Live

    Production designer: Derek Mclane

  • Short Format: Web Series, Music Video or Commercial

    Apple Music: "The History of Sound" (WINNER)

    Production designer: Jess Gonchor


    American Horror Story: Hotel: "Hallways"

    Production designer: Zach Mathews


    Duracell — Star Wars: "Battle for Christmas Morning"

    Production designer: Tom Meyer


    Madonna: "Ghosttown"

    Production designer: Emma Fairley


    Victoria's Secret: "Rome"

    Production designer: Jeffrey Beecroft

  • Variety, Reality or Competition Series

    Key & Peele: "Ya'll Ready for This?" "The End" (WINNER)

    Production designer: Gary Kordan


    Conan: "At Comic-Con"

    Production designer: Christopher Goumas


    The Ellen DeGeneres Show: "Halloween"

    Production designer: Scott Moses


    Saturday Night Live: "Tracey Morgan/Demi Lovato," "Scarlett Johansson/Wiz Khalifa," "Miley Cyrus"

    Production designers: Keith Ian Raywood, Eugene Lee, Akira Yoshimura, N. Joseph Detullio


    Top Chef: "Stop the Presses"

    Production designer: James Pearse Connelly


    The Voice Season 9: "Blind Auditions Premiere," "Battles Premiere," "The Knockouts Premiere"

    Production designers: Anton Goss, James Pearse Connelly


    Watch THR’s Roundtable with Jordan Peele