BAFTA Awards: Complete Winners List

10:54 AM 2/14/2016

by Alex Ritman

'The Revenant' scooped the best film, best actor and best director awards at the 69th edition of the biggest film awards outside the U.S.

BAFTA Awards - H 2015
AP Images/Invision

BAFTA Awards - H 2015

The Revenant emerged as the main victor in an otherwise relatively evenly spread-out BAFTA honors night that saw 14 films emerge with awards.

The film scooped the best film, best director and best actor awards, alongside best sound and best cinematography. Mad Max: Fury Road earned four awards, while Carol, which had led the nominations, was among the few titles shut out entirely.

Stephen Fry was, again, the evening's main host, but the other presenters included Tom Cruise, Idris Elba (who missed out on a best supporting actor to Mark Rylance) and Cuba Gooding Jnr. There were several comedic digs at the Oscars diversity debate throughout, including ones from Rebel Wilson and Sacha Baron Cohen. The evening also saw Sidney Poitier receive the BFI Fellowship, but the iconic actor was too ill to attend so accepted the award in a video.

In honor of the evening clashing with Valentine's Day, BAFTA set up a "Kiss Cam," which was aimed at real-life couples, including Fassbender and Vikander, and less likely pairings, such as Maggie Smith and Leonardo DiCaprio. "This year, the stars have colluded and collided in such a way to make the BAFTAs coincide with Valentine's Day," said Fry. "Love between two women, love between roman catholic priests ... and… their lawyers."

See the winners list below.

  • Film

    The Revenant (WINNER)

    The Big Short

    Bridge of Spies




  • Best Actor

    Leonardo DiCaprio – The Revenant (WINNER)

    Eddie Redmayne – The Danish Girl

    Michael Fassbender – Steve Jobs

    Matt Damon  – The Martian

    Bryan Cranston – Trumbo


  • Best Actress

    Brie Larson – Room (WINNER) `

    Saoirse Ronan – Brooklyn

    Cate Blanchett – Carol

    Alicia Vikander – The Danish Girl

    Maggie Smith – Lady in the Van

  • Director

    The Revenant – Alejandro G. Inarritu (WINNER)

    The Big Short
    Adam McKay

    Bridge of Spies – Steven Spielberg

    Carol – Todd Haynes

    The Martian – Ridley Scott


  • Supporting Actor

    Mark Rylance – Bridge of Spies (WINNER)

    Benicio Del Toro – Sicario

    Christian Bale – The Big Short

    Idris Elba – Beasts of No Nation

    Mark Ruffalo – Spotlight



  • Supporting Actress

    Kate Winslet – Steve Jobs (WINNER)

    Alicia Vikander – Ex Machina

    Rooney Mara – Carol

    Jennifer Jason Leigh – The Hateful Eight

    Julie Walters – Brooklyn


  • Film Not in the English Language

    Wild Tales – Damian Szifron (WINNER)

    Force Majeure – Ruben Ostlund

    The Assassin – Hou Hsiao-Hsien

    Theeb – Naji Abu Nowar, Rupert Lloyd

    Timbuktu – Abderrahmane Sissako


  • Documentary

    Amy – Asif Kapadia, James Gay-Rees (WINNER)

    Cartel Land – Matthew Heineman, Tom Yellin

    He Named Me Malala – Davis Guggenheim, Walter Parkes, Laurie MacDonald

    Listen to Me Marlon – Stevan Riley, John Battsek, George Chignell, R.J. Cutler

    Sherpa – Jennifer Peedom, Bridget Ikin, John Smithson


  • Animated Film

    Inside Out – Pete Docter - WINNER

    Minions – Pierre Coffin, Kyle Balda

    Shaun the Sheep Movie – Mark Burton, Richard Starzak

  • Original Screenplay

    Spotlight – Tom McCarthy, Josh Singer (WINNER)

    Bridge of Spies – Matthew Charman, Ethan Coen, Joel Coen

    Ex Machina – Alex Garland

    The Hateful Eight – Quentin Tarantino

    Inside Out – Josh Cooley, Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve


  • Adapted Screenplay

    The Big Short – Adam McKay, Charles Randolph (WINNER)

    Brooklyn – Nick Hornby

    Carol – Phyllis Nagy

    Room – Emma Donoghue

    Steve Jobs – Aaron Sorkin

  • Cinematography

    The Revenant – Emmanuel Lubezki  (WINNER)

    Bridge of Spies
     – Janusz Kaminski

    Carol – Ed Lachman

    Mad Max: Fury Road – John Seale

    Sicario – Roger Deakins

  • Outstanding Debut By A British Writer, Director or Producer in 2016

    Naji Abu Nowar (Writer/Director) Rupert Lloyd (Producer) – Theeb (WINNER)

    Alex Garland (Director) – Ex Machina

    Debbie Tucker Green (Writer/Director) – Second Coming

    Sean McAllister (Director/Producer), Elhum Shakerifar (Producer) – A Syrian Love Story

    Stephen Fingleton (Writer/Director) – The Survivalist

  • Costume Design

    Mad Max: Fury Road – Jenny Beavan - (WINNER)

    Brooklyn – Odile Dicks-Mireaux

    Carol – Sandy Powell

    Cinderella – Sandy Powell

    The Danish Girl – Paco Delgado


  • Production Design

    Mad Max: Fury Road – Colin Gibson, Lisa Thompson (WINNER)

    Star Wars: The Force Awakens
    Rick Carter, Darren Gilford, Lee Sandales

    Bridge of Spies – Adam Stockhausen, Rena DeAngelo

    Carol – Judy Becker, Heather Loeffler

    The Martian – Arthur Max, Celia Bobak

  • Special Visual Effects

    Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Chris Corbould, Roger Guyett, Paul Kavanagh, Neal Scanlan (WINNER)

    Jake Morrison, Greg Steele, Dan Sudick, Alex Wuttke

    Ex Machina – Mark Ardington, Sara Bennett, Paul Norris, Andrew Whitehurst

    Mad Max: Fury Road – Andrew Jackson, Dan Oliver, Tom Wood, Andy Williams

    The Martian – Chris Lawrence, Tim Ledbury, Richard Stammers, Steven Warner



  • Sound

    The Revenant – Lon Bender, Chris Duesterdiek, Martin Hernandez, Frank A. Montaño, Jon Taylor, Randy Thom (WINNER)

    Bridge of Spies – Drew Kunin, Richard Hymns, Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom

    Mad Max: Fury Road – Scott Hecker, Chris Jenkins, Mark Mangini, Ben Osmo, Gregg Rudloff, David White

    The Martian – Paul Massey, Mac Ruth, Oliver Tarney, Mark Taylor

    Star Wars: The Force Awakens – David Acord, Andy Nelson, Christopher Scarabosio, Matthew Wood, Stuart Wilson

  • Editing

    Mad Max: Fury Road – Margaret Sixel (WINNER)

    The Big Short – Hank Corwin

    Bridge of Spies – Michael Kahn

    The Martian – Pietro Scalia

    The Revenant – Stephen Mirrione

  • Make-Up and Hair

    Mad Max: Fury Road – Lesley Vanderwalt, Damian Martin (WINNER)

    Morna Ferguson, Lorraine Glynn

    Carol – Jerry DeCarlo, Patricia Regan

    The Danish Girl – Jan Sewell

    The Revenant – Sian Grigg, Duncan Jarman, Robert Pandini

  • Outstanding British Film in 2016

    Brooklyn – John Crowley, Finola Dwyer, Amanda Posey, Nick Hornby (WINNER)

    45 Years
     – Andrew Haigh, Tristan Goligher

    Amy – Asif Kapadia, James Gay-Rees

    The Danish Girl – Tom Hooper, Tim Bevan, Eric Fellner, Anne Harrison, Gail Mutrux, Lucinda Coxon

    Ex Machina – Alex Garland, Andrew Macdonald, Allon Reich

    The Lobster – Yorgos Lanthimos, Ceci Dempsey, Ed Guiney, Lee Magiday, Efthimis Filippou