Spirit Awards: The Complete Winners List

1:53 PM 2/25/2017

by Kimberly Nordyke

The awards were handed out Saturday in a tent on the beach in Santa Monica.

2017 Film Independent Spirit Awards - New- Cast and crew of Moonlight - Getty - H 2017
Kevork Djansezian/Getty Images for Film Independent

SANTA MONICA, CA - FEBRUARY 25:  Cast and crew of 'Moonlight' accept the Robert Altman Award onstage during the 2017 Film Independent Spirit Awards at the Santa Monica Pier on February 25, 2017 in Santa Monica, California. 

Moonlight topped the winners at Film Independent's Spirit Awards on Saturday afternoon, taking home a total of six statuettes, including best feature.

The movie won all the categories in which it was nominated, including best director, screenplay, editing and cinematography, as well as the Robert Altman Award.

The 32nd Film Independent Spirit Awards aired live on IFC. As usual, the show was held in a tent on the beach in Santa Monica, just north of the Santa Monica Pier. Nick Kroll and John Mulaney hosted.

A complete list of winners follows.

. ... If this room leaned anymore to the left, we would literally topple into the Pacific Ocean.""]

  • Best Feature

    Moonlight (WINNER)
    Producers: Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Adele Romanski

    American Honey
    Producers: Thomas Benski, Jay Van Hoy, Lars Knudsen, Lucas Ochoa, Pouya Shahbazian, Alice Weinberg

    Producers: Michel Franco, Gina Kwon, Gabriel Ripstein, Moisés Zonana

    Producers: Darren Aronofsky, Scott Franklin, Ari Handel, Juan de Dios Larraín, Mickey Liddell

    Manchester by the Sea
    Producers: Lauren Beck, Matt Damon, Chris Moore, Kimberly Steward,
    Kevin J. Walsh

  • Best Director

    Barry Jenkins (WINNER)

    Andrea Arnold
    American Honey

    Pablo Larrain

    Jeff Nichols

    Kelly Reichardt
    Certain Women

  • Best Male Lead

    Casey Affleck (WINNER)
    Manchester by the Sea

    David Harewood
    Free in Deed

    Viggo Mortensen
    Captain Fantastic

    Jesse Plemons
    Other People

    Tim Roth

  • Best Female Lead

    Isabelle Huppert (WINNER)

    Annette Bening
    20th Century Women

    Sasha Lane
    American Honey

    Ruth Negga

    Natalie Portman

  • Best Supporting Male

    Ben Foster (WINNER)
    Hell or High Water

    Ralph Fiennes
    A Bigger Splash

    Lucas Hedges
    Manchester by the Sea

    Shia LaBeouf
    American Honey

    Craig Robinson
    Morris from America

  • Best Supporting Female

    Molly Shannon (WINNER)
    Other People

    Edwina Findley
    Free in Deed

    Paulina Garcia
    Little Men

    Lily Gladstone
    Certain Women

    Riley Keough
    American Honey

  • Best Screenplay

    Barry Jenkins, story by Tarell Alvin McCraney (WINNER)

    Kenneth Lonergan
    Manchester by the Sea

    Mike Mills
    20th Century Women

    Ira Sachs & Mauricio Zacharias
    Little Men

    Taylor Sheridan
    Hell or High Water

  • Best First Feature

    The Witch (WINNER)
    Director: Robert Eggers
    Producers: Daniel Bekerman, Jay Van Hoy, Lars Knudsen, Jodi Redmond, Rodrigo Teixeira

    The Childhood of a Leader
    Director: Brady Corbet
    Producers: Antoine de Clermont-Tonnerre, Chris Coen, Ron Curtis, Helena Danielsson, Mona Fastvold, Istvan Major

    The Fits
    Director/producer: Anna Rose Holmer
    Producer: Lisa Kjerulff

    Other People
    Director: Chris Kelly
    Producers: Sam Bisbee, Adam Scott, Naomi Scott 

    Swiss Army Man
    Directors: Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert
    Producers: Miranda Bailey, Lawrence Inglee, Lauren Mann, Amanda Marshall, Eyal Rimmon, Jonathan Wang

  • Best First Screenplay

    Robert Eggers (WINNER)
    The Witch

    Chris Kelly
    Other People

    Adam Mansbach

    Stella Meghie
    Jean of the Joneses

    Craig Shilowich

  • Best Cinematography

    James Laxton (WINNER)

    Ava Berkofsky
    Free In Deed

    Lol Crawley
    The Childhood of a Leader

    Zach Kuperstein
    The Eyes of My Mother

    Robbie Ryan
    American Honey

  • Best Editing

    Joi McMillon, Nat Sanders (WINNER)

    Matthew Hannam
    Swiss Army Man

    Jennifer Lame
    Manchester by the Sea

    Jake Roberts
    Hell or High Water

    Sebastian Sepulveda

  • Best Documentary

    O.J.: Made in America (WINNER)
    Director/producer: Ezra Edelman
    Producers: Nina Krstic, Tamara Rosenberg, Caroline Waterlow

    Director/producer: Ava DuVernay
    Producers: Spencer Averick, Howard Barish

    Director/producer: Kirsten Johnson
    Producer: Marilyn Ness

    I Am Not Your Negro
    Director/producer: Raoul Peck
    Producers: Remi Grellety, Herbert Peck

    Director: Rokhsareh Ghaem Maghami
    Producer: Gerd Haag

    Under the Sun
    Director: Vitaly Mansky
    Producer: Natalya Manskaya

  • Best International Film

    Toni Erdmann (WINNER)
    (Germany and Romania)
    Director: Maren Ade

    Director: Kleber Mendonça Filho

    Director: Athina Tsangari

    My Golden Days
    Director: Arnaud Desplechin

    Under the Shadow  
    (U.K., Jordan and Qatar)
    Director: Babak Anvari

  • Robert Altman Award

    Moonlight  (WINNER)
    Director: Barry Jenkins
    Casting director: Yesi Ramirez
    Ensemble cast: Mahershala Ali, Patrick Decile, Naomie Harris, Alex Hibbert, André Holland, Jharrel Jerome, Janelle Monáe, Jaden Piner, Trevante Rhodes, Ashton Sanders

  • 20th Annual Piaget Producers Award

    Jordana Mollick (WINNER)

    Lisa Kjerulff

    Melody C. Roscher & Craig Shilowich

  • 23rd Annual Kiehl's Someone to Watch Award

    Anna Rose Holmer (WINNER)
    Director of The Fits

    Andrew Ahn
    Director of Spa Night

    Claire Carre
    Director of Embers   

    Ingrid Jungermann
    Director of Women Who Kill

  • 22nd Truer Than Fiction Award

    Nanfu Wang (WINNER)
    Director of Hooligan Sparrow

    Kristi Jacobson
    Director of Solitary

    Sara Jordeno
    Director of Kiki

  • John Cassavetes Award

    Spa Night  (WINNER)
    Writer/director: Andrew Ahn
    Producers: David Ariniello, Giulia Caruso, Ki Jin Kim, Kelly Thomas

    Free in Deed
    Writer/director: Jake Mahaffy
    Producers: Mike Bowes, Mike S. Ryan, Brent Stiefel
    Hunter Gatherer
    Writer/director: Josh Locy
    Producers: Michael Covino, April Lamb, Sara Murphy, Isaiah Smallman
    Writer/director: So Yong Kim
    Writer/producer: Bradley Rust Gray
    Producers: David Hansen, Alex Lipschultz, Johnny Mac
    Writer/director/producer: TW Pittman
    Director/producer: Kelly Daniela Norris
    Writer/producer: Isaac Adakudugu  
    Producer: Giovanni Ximénez