ASC Awards: 'Mudbound' Cinematographer Rachel Morrison Becomes First Woman Nominated in Features

1:20 PM 1/9/2018

by Carolyn Giardina

Roger Deakins, Bruno Delbonnel, Hoyte Van Hoytema and Dan Laustsen are also nominated in the category.

Mudbound -still 2-H 2017
Courtesy of Sundance

Mudbound cinematographer Rachel Morrison has become the first woman to be nominated in the feature category of the American Society of Cinematographers Outstanding Achievement Awards, which will be held for the 32nd time on Feb. 17 at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland.

Also nominated in the feature competition of the ASC awards are Roger Deakins for Blade Runner 2049, Bruno Delbonnel for Darkest Hour, Hoyte Van Hoytema for Dunkirk and Dan Laustsen for The Shape of Water.

Morrison received her game-changing first nomination on the strength of Dee Rees' Deep South-set drama for Netflix. Should Morrison receive an Academy Award nomination, she would also become the first woman nominated for the Oscar for cinematography.

For veteran cinematographer Deakins, Denis Villeneuve's sci-fi fantasy Blade Runner 2049 was his 15th ASC feature nomination. He previously won for The Shawshank Redemption, The Man Who Wasn't There and Skyfall, and he additionally received the society's Lifetime Achievement Award in 2011.

Deakins also has 13 prior Oscar nominations, though he's still looking for his first win.

The Winston Churchill drama Darkest Hour represents Delbonnel's fourth ASC nomination; he previous won for A Very Long Engagement.

Christopher Nolan's WWII epic Dunkirk is Van Hoytema's second ASC nomination; he was nominated in 2012 for Tinker Tailer Soldier Spy.

Guillermo del Toro's Cold War fairy tale Shape of Water is Laustsen's first ASC nomination.

Deakins, Delbonnel, Van Hoytema and Laustsen also received BAFTA nominations on Tuesday, along with Ben Davis for Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri.

Nominees for the ASC Spotlight Award for features that are screened at festivals, internationally, or in limited theatrical release, include Máté Herbai for On Body and Soul, which won Camerimage's Golden Frog last November in Poland; Mikhail Krichman for Loveless, which earned Camerimage's Silver Frog; and Mart Taniel for November.

In the TV categories, Game of Thrones and 12 Monkeys received two nominations apiece.

The complete list of nominees is below.

  • Theatrical Release

    WINNER Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC for Blade Runner 2049

    Bruno Delbonnel, ASC, AFC for Darkest Hour

    Hoyte van Hoytema, ASC, FSF, NSC for Dunkirk

    Dan Laustsen, ASC, DFF for The Shape of Water

    Rachel Morrison, ASC for Mudbound

  • Spotlight

    Mate Herbai, HSC for On Body and Soul

    Mikhail Krichman, RGC for Loveless

    WINNER Mart Taniel for November

  • Episode of a Series for Non-Commercial Television

    Gonzalo Amat for The Man in the High Castle ("Land O’ Smiles") on Amazon

    WINNER Adriano Goldman, ASC, ABC for The Crown ("Smoke and Mirrors") on Netflix

    Robert McLachlan, ASC, CSC for Game of Thrones ("The Spoils of War") on HBO

    Gregory Middleton, ASC, CSC for Game of Thrones (“Dragonstone”) on HBO

    Alasdair Walker for Outlander (“The Battle Joined") on Starz

  • Episode of a Series for Commercial Television

    Dana Gonzales, ASC for Legion ("Chapter 1") on FX

    David Greene, ASC, CSC for 12 Monkeys ("Mother") on Syfy

     Kurt Jones for The Originals ("Bag of Cobras") on The CW

    WINNER Boris Mojsovski, CSC for 12 Monkeys ("Thief") on Syfy

    Crescenzo Notarile, ASC for Gotham ("The Executioner") on Fox

  • Motion Picture, Miniseries, or Pilot Made for Television

    Pepe Avila del Pino for The Deuce "Pilot" on HBO

    Serge Desrosiers, CSC for Sometimes the Good Kill on Lifetime

    WINNER Mathias Herndl, AAC for Genius ("Chapter 1") on National Geographic

    Shelly Johnson, ASC for Training Day "Pilot (Apocalypse Now)" on CBS

    Christopher Probst, ASC for the Mindhunter "Pilot" on Netflix