Roger Deakins Wins American Society of Cinematographers Award

10:26 PM 2/17/2018

by Carolyn Giardina

The winner of the ASC feature competition went on to win the Oscar in six of the past 10 years.

Blade Runner: 2049 BTS 1 - Publicity - Embed 2018
Courtesy of Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc.

Hoeks and Ford as they crash into the inky water.

Legendary cinematographer Roger Deakins' work on Denis Villeneuve's futuristic Blade Runner 2049 won the American Society of Cinematographers Award for feature cinematography on Saturday during the 32nd American Society of Cinematographers Outstanding Achievement Awards at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland.

Deakins — who is also nominated for an Oscar for the 14th time for this film — topped a field that included Mudbound cinematographer Rachel Morrison, the first woman to be nominated in the ASC feature category as well as for the cinematography Oscar; Bruno Delbonnel for Darkest Hour; Hoyte Van Hoytema for Dunkirk; and Dan Laustsen for The Shape of Water. These are the same five directors of photography nominated for the Oscar in cinematography. The winner of the ASC feature competition has gone on to win the Oscar in six of the past 10 years.

Deakins was unable to attend the ceremony, though the crowd was on its feet as his name was announced. His wife, James Ellis, accepted on his behalf.

For DeakinsBlade Runner 2049 marked his 15th ASC feature nomination and fourth win, having previously won for The Shawshank Redemption, The Man Who Wasn't There and Skyfall. (He additionally received the society's Lifetime Achievement Award in 2011.)

It should also be noted that for the ASC Award for feature cinematography, Emmanuel "Chivo" Lubezki has won a record five times. Deakins and the late Conrad Hall have four feature wins apiece.

During the ceremony, AMPAS president John Bailey presented the ASC Spotlight Award (which honors features that are screened at festivals, internationally or in limited theatrical release) to Mart Taniel for November. TV awards went to episodes of 12 Monkey, Genius and The Crown.

Numerous speeches during the evening focused on bringing more women into Hollywood and cinematography — and Morrison received enthusiastic applause.

"I'm grateful that I have never been made to feel like a female director, but that my job was to be a good director," said Angelina Jolie, accepting the Board of Governors Award. "I'm excited to see more women making their mark in cinematography. ... I'm hopeful that in my lifetime we'll see that light [from women] in all societies, that have been held back for too long."

"I was taught to direct by a few amazing DPs ... they are the other directors on set," she added. "I never heard from Roger [Deakins], 'Don't worry, we'll fix it in post.'"

Alan Caso (Six Feet Under), who received the Career Achievement in Television Award, vowed to "spend the reminding years of my career kicking down doors for those who don't look like me. I appeal to my peers. ... Let's uninstall them for good. Let's surround ourselves with a crew that looks like the real world. There's room for all of us."

Receiving the Presidents Award, Stephen Lighthill announced that AFI is set to graduate the 99th female cinematographer under his watchful eye, and he added that he looks forward to the day when cinematography is gender-neutral, "when we are cinematographers." 

Oscar-winning cinematographer Russell Carpenter (Titanic) receive the Lifetime Achievement Award and a standing ovation as he thanked his colleagues and family.

Lenser Mandy Walker presented Russell Boyd, Oscar winner for Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World, with the International Award. Kinoflo president Frieder Hochheim was surprised with the Bud Stone Award.

Owen Roizman (The French Connection, The Exocist), who received an honorary Oscar at this past Governors Awards, was recognized with a lengthy standing ovation. 

The complete list of winners follows.

  • Theatrical Release

    WINNER Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC for Blade Runner 2049

    Bruno Delbonnel, ASC, AFC for Darkest Hour

    Hoyte van Hoytema, ASC, FSF, NSC for Dunkirk

    Dan Laustsen, ASC, DFF for The Shape of Water

    Rachel Morrison, ASC for Mudbound

  • Spotlight

    Mate Herbai, HSC for On Body and Soul

    Mikhail Krichman, RGC for Loveless

    WINNER Mart Taniel for November

  • Episode of a Series for Non-Commercial Television

    Gonzalo Amat for The Man in the High Castle ("Land O’ Smiles") on Amazon

    WINNER Adriano Goldman, ASC, ABC for The Crown ("Smoke and Mirrors") on Netflix

    Robert McLachlan, ASC, CSC for Game of Thrones ("The Spoils of War") on HBO

    Gregory Middleton, ASC, CSC for Game of Thrones (“Dragonstone”) on HBO

    Alasdair Walker for Outlander (“The Battle Joined") on Starz

  • Episode of a Series for Commercial Television

    Dana Gonzales, ASC for Legion ("Chapter 1") on FX

    David Greene, ASC, CSC for 12 Monkeys ("Mother") on Syfy

     Kurt Jones for The Originals ("Bag of Cobras") on The CW

    WINNER Boris Mojsovski, CSC for 12 Monkeys ("Thief") on Syfy

    Crescenzo Notarile, ASC for Gotham ("The Executioner") on Fox

  • Motion Picture, Miniseries, or Pilot Made for Television

    Pepe Avila del Pino for The Deuce "Pilot" on HBO

    Serge Desrosiers, CSC for Sometimes the Good Kill on Lifetime

    WINNER Mathias Herndl, AAC for Genius ("Chapter 1") on National Geographic

    Shelly Johnson, ASC for Training Day "Pilot (Apocalypse Now)" on CBS

    Christopher Probst, ASC for the Mindhunter "Pilot" on Netflix