Dorian Awards: 'The Favourite' Named Film of the Year

8:00 AM 1/8/2019

by Gregg Kilday

GALECA, the Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics, also gave top film acting honors to Ethan Hawke and Olivia Colman.

'The Favourite'
'The Favourite'
Atsushi Nishijima/Twentieth Century Fox

The Favourite has been named the Dorian Awards film of the year, it was announced Tuesday by GALECA, the Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics. The period film also earned Olivia Colman the Dorian for film performance of the year by an actress and its writers Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara were awarded the screenplay of the year prize.

GALECA, which is composed of more than 200 gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, queer and ally entertainment journalists in the U.S., Canada, Australia and U.K., will celebrate its nominees and winners at an invitation-only Winners Toast on Saturday at the Paley restaurant in Hollywood, with Frank DeCaro, of The Daily Show With Jon Stewart and SiriusXM’s The Frank DeCaro Show fame, serving as master of ceremonies. 

Alfonso Cuarón, writer and director of Roma, was cited as director of the year, while the film itself was named foreign language film of the year. 

Ethan Hawke took film performance of the year-actor for his performance in First Reformed. In the supporting film performance categories, the winners were Regina King for If Beale Street Could Talk and Richard E. Grant for Can You Ever Forgive Me? The latter film, a fact-based dark comedy about a struggling New York writer who turns to forgery, also was named Dorian Award winner for LGBTQ film of the year. 

On the TV side, FX’s Pose was recognized as TV drama of the year and LGBTQ drama of the year. Its producer Ryan Murphy collected his second Dorian Award win for Wilde Artist of the Year, becoming the first person to win the title twice in GALECA’s 10-year history. Pose's Billy Porter took two Dorians — one for TV performance of the year-actor and a shared win with his co-stars MJ Rodriguez and Our Lady J for their moving rendition of “Home” on the series.  

Pop’s Schitt’s Creek took TV comedy of the year honors as well as unsung TV comedy. 

Awkwafina, the rapper who starred in Crazy Rich Asians, was crowned GALECA’s “We’re Wilde About You!” Rising Star, while Australian comic Hannah Gadsby, who made a mark with her own well received Netflix special last year, was named Wilde Wit of the Year. 

Harvey Fierstein took home the timeless star honor, the group’s career achievement award.