BAFTA Awards: '1917' Dominates, Including Wins for Best Film, Director

11:00 AM 2/2/2020

by THR staff

Sam Mendes' WWI epic came away with seven awards, while 'Joker' collected three (including for best actor).

The 2020 BAFTA Awards belonged largely to one film: 1917.

Sam Mendes' WWI epic cleaned up on Sunday night at the Royal Albert Hall, adding to its growing haul of honors in the U.S. with seven awards on home soil, including for best film, director and cinematography.

Elsewhere, Joker came away with three wins, including a best actor nod for Joaquin Phoenix and the British Academy's inaugural casting award; Renée Zellweger earned best actress honors (with presenter Hugh Grant congratulating his former Bridget Jones's Diary co-star with "Well done, Jones"); Brad Pitt was tapped as best supporting actor for Once Upon a Time in Hollywood; and Laura Dern was named best supporting actress for Marriage Story.

Toward the end of the ceremony, hosted by Graham Norton, BAFTA president Prince William gave a speech in which he criticized the academy's recent diversity crisis, following a year in which no black talent was nominated in the main acting categories.

"We find ourselves talking about the need to do more to address diversity in this sector," said the royal. "This cannot be right in this day and age."

William was also witness to at least one Megxit joke when Margot Robbie read out Pitt's acceptance speech, saying that he planned to call his award "Harry" as he was excited to "bring it back to the U.S."

See the list of winners below.

  • Best Film

    1917 (WINNER)
    The Irishman
    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

  • Leading Actress

    Jessie Buckley, Wild Rose
    Scarlett Johansson, Marriage Story
    Saoirse Ronan, Little Women
    Charlize Theron, Bombshell
    Renée Zellweger, Judy (WINNER)

  • Leading Actor

    Leonardo DiCaprio, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
    Adam Driver, Marriage Story
    Taron Egerton, Rocketman
    Joaquin Phoenix, Joker (WINNER)
    Jonathan Pryce, The Two Popes

  • Director

    1917, Sam Mendes (WINNER)
    The Irishman, Martin Scorsese
    Joker, Todd Phillips
    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, Quentin Tarantino
    Parasite, Bong Joon-ho

  • Casting

    Joker, Shayna Markowitz (WINNER)
    Marriage Story, Douglas Aibel, Francine Maisler
    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, Victoria Thomas
    The Personal History of David Copperfield, Sarah Crowe
    The Two Popes, Nina Gold

  • Rising Star

    Jack Lowden
    Kaitlyn Dever
    Kelvin Harrison Jr.
    Micheal Ward (WINNER)

  • Film Not in the English Language

    The Farewell
    For Sama
    Pain and Glory
    Parasite (WINNER)
    Portrait of a Lady on Fire

  • Special Visual Effects

    1917, Greg Butler, Guillaume Rocheron, Dominic Tuohy (WINNER)
    Avengers: Endgame, Dan Deleeuw, Dan Sudick
    The Irishman, Leandro Estebecorena, Stephane Grabli, Pablo Helman
    The Lion King, Andrew R. Jones, Robert Legato, Elliot Newman, Adam Valdez
    Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker, Roger Guyett, Paul Kavanagh, Neal Scanlan, Dominic Tuohy

  • Supporting Actor

    Tom Hanks, A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood
    Anthony Hopkins, The Two Popes
    Al Pacino, The Irishman
    Joe Pesci, The Irishman
    Brad Pitt, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood (WINNER)

  • Original Screenplay

    Booksmart, Susanna Fogel, Emily Halpern, Sarah Haskins, Katie Silberman
    Knives Out, Rian Johnson
    Marriage Story, Noah Baumbach
    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, Quentin Tarantino
    Parasite, Han Jin-won, Bong Joon-ho (WINNER)

  • Documentary

    American Factory
    Apollo 11
    Diego Maradona
    For Sama (WINNER)
    The Great Hack

  • Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer

    Bait, Mark Jenkin (Writer/Director), Kate Byers, Linn Waite (Producers) (WINNER)
    For Sama, Waad Al-Kateab (Director/Producer), Edward Watts (Director)
    Maiden, Alex Holmes (Director)
    Only You, Harry Wootliff (Writer/Director)
    Retablo, Álvaro Delgado-Aparicio (Writer/Director)

  • Adapted Screenplay

    The Irishman, Steven Zaillian
    Jojo Rabbit, Taika Waititi (WINNER)
    Joker, Todd Phillips, Scott Silver
    Little Women, Greta Gerwig
    The Two Popes, Anthony Mccarten

  • Supporting Actress

    Laura Dern, Marriage Story (WINNER)
    Scarlett Johansson, Jojo Rabbit
    Florence Pugh, Little Women
    Margot Robbie, Bombshell
    Margot Robbie, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

  • Cinematography

    1917, Roger Deakins (WINNER)
    The Irishman, Rodrigo Prieto
    Joker, Lawrence Sher
    Le Mans ’66 (Ford v Ferrari), Phedon Papamichael
    The Lighthouse, Jarin Blaschke

  • Editing

    Le Mans ’66 (Ford v Ferrari), Andrew Buckland, Michael McCusker (WINNER)
    The Irishman
    , Thelma Schoonmaker
    Jojo Rabbit, Tom Eagles
    Joker, Jeff Groth
    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, Fred Raskin

  • Costume Design

    The Irishman, Christopher Peterson, Sandy Powell
    Jojo Rabbit, Mayes C. Rubeo
    Judy, Jany Temime
    Little Women, Jacqueline Durran (WINNER)
    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, Arianne Phillips

  • Production Design

    1917, Dennis Gassner, Lee Sandales (WINNER)
    The Irishman, Bob Shaw, Regina Graves
    Jojo Rabbit, Ra Vincent, Nora Sopková
    Joker, Mark Friedberg, Kris Moran
    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, Barbara Ling, Nancy Haigh

  • Sound

    1917, Scott Millan, Oliver Tarney, Rachael Tate, Mark Taylor, Stuart Wilson (WINNER)
    Joker, Tod Maitland, Alan Robert Murray, Tom Ozanich, Dean Zupancic
    Le Mans ’66 (Ford v Ferrari), David Giammarco, Paul Massey, Steven A. Morrow, Donald Sylvester
    Rocketman, Matthew Collinge, John Hayes, Mike Prestwood Smith, Danny Sheehan
    Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker, David Acord, Andy Nelson, Christopher
    Scarabosio, Stuart Wilson, Matthew Wood

  • Original Score

    1917, Thomas Newman
    Jojo Rabbit, Michael Giacchino
    Joker, Hildur Gudnadóttir (WINNER)
    Little Women, Alexandre Desplat
    Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker, John Williams

  • British Short Film

    Azaar, Myriam Raja, Nathanael Baring
    Goldfish, Hector Dockrill, Harri Kamalanathan, Benedict Turnbull, Laura Dockrill
    Kamali, Sasha Rainbow, Rosalind Croad
    Learning to Skateboard in a Warzone (If You’re a Girl), Carol Dysinger, Elena Andreicheva (WINNER)
    The Trap, Lena Headey, Anthony Fitzgerald

  • British Short Animation

    Grandad Was a Romantic, Maryam Mohajer (WINNER)
    In Her Boots, Kathrin Steinbacher
    The Magic Boat, Naaman Azhari, Lilia Laurel

  • Makeup and Hair

    1917, Naomi Donne
    Bombshell, Vivian Baker, Kazu Hiro, Anne Morgan (WINNER)
    Joker, Kay Georgiou, Nicki Ledermann
    Judy, Jeremy Woodhead
    Rocketman, Lizzie Yianni Georgiou

  • Animated Film

    Frozen 2
    Klaus (WINNER)
    A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon
    Toy Story 4

  • Outstanding British Film

    1917 (WINNER)
    For Sama
    Sorry We Missed You
    The Two Popes