Spirit Awards: Watch All the Winners' Acceptance Speeches

5:19 PM 2/8/2020

by Annie Howard

Adam Sandler, Renée Zellweger and Olivia Wilde were the big winners Saturday at the 2020 Film Independent Spirit Awards, hosted by Aubrey Plaza.

Adam Sandler
Adam Sandler
Tommaso Boddi/Getty Images

The 2020 Film Independent Spirit Awards were handed out Saturday, with The Farewell taking home the top prize. Directors Lulu Wang, Benny and Josh Safdie, Noah Baumbach and Olivia Wilde were recognized, along with actors Adam Sandler and Renée Zellweger. Baumbach received best screenplay honors for Marriage Story and also took home the annual Robert Altman Award.

Sandler was tapped as best male lead for Uncut Gems, with the Safdie brothers winning best director honors. The film also took home the award for best editing. Lulu Wang's film The Farewell won for best feature, along with a best supporting actress nod for Zhao Shuzhen, who was unable to attend due to the current coronavirus in China. The Lighthouse's Willem Dafoe was named best supporting male, while the pic's Jarin Blaschke nabbed the best cinematography prize.

Olivia Wilde won best first feature honors for her directorial debut Booksmart, and writers Fredrica Bailey and Stefon Bristol were recognized for best first screenplay for See You Yesterday. Renée Zellweger was tapped as best female lead for her portrayal of Judy Garland in Judy, while Bong Joon Ho’s thriller Parasite took home the best international feature prize.

Watch all the speeches from this year’s Film Independent Spirit Award winners below.

  • Best Feature

    'The Farewell'

    Lulu Wang won the evening's top prize for her film The Farewell.

  • Best Director

    Benny Safdie & Josh Safdie, 'Uncut Gems'

    Directing brothers Benny Safdie and Josh Safdie won for their film Uncut Gems.

  • Best Female Lead

    Renée Zellweger, 'Judy'

    Renée Zellweger won best female lead for her title role in Judy.

  • Best Male Lead

    Adam Sandler, 'Uncut Gems'

    Adam Sandler won best male lead for Uncut Gems.

  • Best Supporting Female

    Zhao Shuzhen, 'The Farewell'

    The Farewell director Lulu Wang accepted the Spirit Award on behalf of actress Zhao Shuzhen for her supporting work in the film.

  • Best Supporting Male

    Willem Dafoe, 'The Lighthouse'

    Willem Dafoe won best supporting male for his role in The Lighthouse.

  • Best First Feature

    Olivia Wilde, 'Booksmart'

    Olivia Wilde won best first feature for her film Booksmart.

  • Best Screenplay

    Noah Baumbach, 'Marriage Story'

    Noah Baumbach thanked his partner, director Greta Gerwig, during his acceptance speech for best screenplay for Marriage Story.

  • Best First Screenplay

    Fredrica Bailey & Stefon Bristol, 'See You Yesterday'

    Fredrica Bailey and Stefon Bristol thanked Spike Lee during their win for best first screenplay for See You Yesterday.

  • Best Documentary

    'American Factory'

    Director Steven Bognar and Julia Reichert won best documentary for American Factory.

  • Best International Film


    Director Bong Joon Ho won the 2020 Spirit Award for best international film for Parasite.

  • John Cassavetes Award

    'Give Me Liberty'

    Give Me Liberty won the John Cassavetes Award at the 2020 Film Independent Spirit Awards. The award went to writer, director and producer Kirill Mikhanovsky, writer and producer Alice Austen and producers Val Abel, Wally Hall, Michael Manasseri, George Rush and Sergey Shtern.

  • Robert Altman Award

    Noah Baumbach, 'Marriage Story'

    Noah Baumbach won the annual Robert Altman Award at the 2020 Film Independent Spirit Awards for his film Marriage Story.

  • Best Cinematography

    Jarin Blaschke, 'The Lighthouse'

    The Lighthouse cinematographer Jarin Blaschke won best cinematography at the 2020 Film Independent Spirit Awards.

  • Best Editing

    Ronald Bronstein & Benny Safdie, 'Uncut Gems'

    Ronald Bronstein and Benny Safdie won best editing for Uncut Gems.