Eddie Awards: 'Dunkirk,' 'I, Tonya' Top American Cinema Editors' Honors

11:43 PM 1/26/2018

by Carolyn Giardina

'Coco,' 'Jane' are also among the honorees.

Dunkirk_I, Tonya_Split - Publicity - H 2018
Courtesy of Warner Bros.; Courtesy of NEON

Lee Smith's editing of Dunkirk and Tatiana S. Riegel's cut of I, Tonya topped the feature competition at the 68th annual American Cinema Editors' Eddie Awards, winning trophies in the categories of best edited dramatic feature and best edited comedy feature, respectively.

Both editors are also nominated for the Academy Award in film editing, along with editor Sidney Wolinsky for The Shape of Water, who was also nominated for an Eddie in the dramatic feature category; and editors Jonathan Amos and Paul Machliss for Baby Driver and John Gregory for Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, who were nominated for the Eddie in the comedy feature competition.

In 10 of the last 15 years, the winner of the best edited dramatic feature category went on to win the Oscar for film editing. In 2003, Chicago, the winner of the Eddie for best edited musical or comedy, won the Academy Award in the category.

Friday night at the Beverly Hilton, another big winner was Will Znidaric, who won two trophies during the ceremony. He, along with Joe Beshenkovsky and director Brett Morgen, won the feature documentary category for Jane; and he additionally won the best edited small screen documentary trophy for Five Came Back: The Price of Victory.

The Eddie for best edited animated feature was awarded to Steve Bloom for Disney/Pixar's Coco. This category was introduced in 2010, and since then, the film that won the Eddie has mirrored the recipient of the Oscar for best-animated feature all but once (in 2015, when The Lego Movie won the Eddie and Big Hero Six grabbed the Oscar).

During the evening, Vince Gilligan received ACE's Golden Eddie. Additionally, Career Achievement Awards were presented to Oscar-nominated editor and an ACE past president Mark Goldblatt, whose credits including The Terminator, Terminator 2 and Starship Troopers; and Leon Ortiz-Gil, whose TV credits include Law & Order, 24 and Battlestar Galactica.

Goldblatt stole the show with his acceptance speech, during which he talked about working in “the greatest art form” and how “at their best, movies are the result of a massive collaboration.” His voice got stronger—and the cheers from the sold-out crowd got louder—as he urged his fellow editors to “be bold in your editing. Be aggressive. Be fierce and powerful. Never be afraid to take directors where they never thought to go. You never know, it might be exactly they need to go.”

And you could feel the love in the room as Ortiz-Gil, so moved that he had to pause during his speech, was urged on by his friends and colleagues with cheers.

Gillian paid tribute to his collaborators in the editing room, saying “I have sat on various comfy sofas behind a whole lot of brilliant editors who did their damnedest to make made me look like some kind of genius. I honestly believe that I would have a better chance at landing a Space Shuttle than operating an Avid.”

Additional winners included editors on Fargo, The Handmaid's Tale, Black-ish, Curb Your EnthusiasmGenius and Vice News Tonight.

A student award was presented to Mariah Zenk of Missouri State University.

The complete list of winners is below. 

  • Best Edited Feature Film (Dramatic)

    Blade Runner 2049
    Joe Walker, ACE

    Dunkirk (WINNER)
    Lee Smith, ACE

    Molly’s Game
    Alan Baumgarten, ACE, Josh Schaeffer & Elliot Graham, ACE

    The Post
    Michael Kahn, ACE & Sarah Broshar

    The Shape of Water
    Sidney Wolinsky, ACE

  • Best Edited Feature Film (Comedy)

    Baby Driver
    Jonathan Amos, ACE & Paul Machliss, ACE

    Get Out 
    Gregory Plotkin

    I, Tonya (WINNER)
    Tatiana S. Riegel, ACE

    Lady Bird
    Nick Houy

    Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
    John Gregory, ACE

  • Best Edited Animated Feature Film

    Coco (WINNER)
    Steve Bloom

    Despicable Me 3
    Claire Dodgson

    The Lego Batman Movie
    David Burrows, ACE, Matt Villa & John Venzon, ACE

  • Best Edited Documentary (Feature)

    Cries From Syria
    Aaron I. Butler

    Jane (WINNER)
    Joe Beshenkovsky, ACE, Will Znidaric, Brett Morgen

    Joan Didion: The Center Will Not Hold
    Ann Collins

    LA 92
    TJ Martin, Scott Stevenson, Dan Lindsay

  • Best Edited Documentary (Small Screen)

    The Defiant Ones – Part 1
    Lasse Jarvi, Doug Pray

    Five Came Back: The Price of Victory (WINNER)
    Will Znidaric

    The Nineties - Can We All Get Along?
    Inbal B. Lessner, ACE, Jason Hardwick

    Rolling Stone: Stories from the Edge - 01
    Ben Sozanski, ACE, Geeta Gandbhir, Andy Grieve, ACE

  • Best Edited Comedy Series for Commercial Television

    Black-ish: "Lemons" (WINNER)
    John Peter Bernardo, Jamie Pedroza

    Crazy Ex-Girlfriend: "Josh’s Ex-Girlfriend Wants Revenge"
    Kabir Akhtar, ACE & Kyla Plewes

    Portlandia: "Amore"
    Heather Capps, Ali Greer, Jordan Kim

    Will & Grace: "Grandpa Jack"
    Peter Beyt

  • Best Edited Comedy Series for Non-Commercial Television

    Curb Your Enthusiasm: "Fatwa!"
    Steven Rasch, ACE

    Curb Your Enthusiasm: "The Shucker" (WINNER)
    Jonathan Corn, ACE

    Glow: "Pilot"
    William Turro, ACE

    Veep: "Chicklet"
    Roger Nygard, ACE and Gennady Fridman

  • Best Edited Drama Series for Commercial Television

    Better Call Saul: "Chicanery"
    Skip Macdonald, ACE

    Better Call Saul: "Witness"
    Kelley Dixon, ACE & Skip Macdonald, ACE

    Fargo: "Aporia"
    Henk Van Eeghen, ACE

    Fargo: "Who Rules the Land of Denial" (WINNER)
    Andrew Seklir, ACE

  • Best Edited Drama Series for Non-Commercial Television

    Big Little Lies: "You Get What You Need"
    Veronique Barbe,  David Berman, Justin LaChance, Sylvain Lebel, Maxime Lahaie & Jim Vega

    Game of Thrones: "Beyond the Wall"
    Tim Porter, ACE

    Handmaid’s Tale: "Offred" (WINNER)
    Julian Clarke, ACE & Wendy Hallam Martin

    Stranger Things: "Chapter 9: The Gate"
    Kevin D. Ross, ACE

  • Best Edited Mini-Series or Motion Picture for Television

    Feud: "Pilot"
    Adam Penn, ACE & Ken Ramos

    Genius: Einstein "Chapter One" (WINNER)
    James D. Wilcox

    The Wizard of Lies
    Ron Patane

  • Best Edited Non-Scripted Series

    Deadliest Catch: "Lost at Sea"
    Rob Butler, ACE & Ben Bulatao, ACE

    Leah Remini: Scientology and the Aftermath: "The Perfect Scientology Family"
    Reggie Spangler, Ben Simoff, Kevin Hibbard & Vincent Oresman

    VICE News Tonight: "Charlottesville: Race & Terror" (WINNER)
    Tim Clancy, Cameron Dennis, John Chimples & Denny Thomas