'Dunkirk,' 'Shape of Water,' 'Baby Driver' Among ACE Eddie Awards Nominees

6:00 AM 1/3/2018

by Carolyn Giardina

The American Cinema Editors prizes for film editing will be handed out on Jan. 26 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

Melinda Sue Gordon/Warner Bros. Pictures

The editors of Christopher Nolan’s WWII drama Dunkirk, Guillermo del Toro’s cold war fairy tale The Shape of Water, Edgar Wright’s high-octane Baby Driver are among the feature nominees for the 68th annual American Cinema Editors Eddie Awards, which will be handed out Jan. 26 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

In the category for the best edited dramatic feature, Dunkirk and The Shape of Water are nominated alongside the work on Blade Runner 2049, Molly’s Game and The Post. For the best edited feature film, comedy, Baby Driver is nominated with Get Out, I, Tonya, Lady Bird and Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri.

Among the nominees are Nolan’s longtime editor, two-time Oscar nominee Lee Smith, for Dunkirk; and Steven Spielberg’s longtime editor and three-time Oscar winner Michael Kahn, alongside his assistant turned co-editor Sarah Broshar.

In 10 of the last 15 years, the winner of the best edited dramatic feature category went on to win the Oscar for film editing. In 2003, Chicago, the winner of the Eddie for best edited musical or comedy, won the Academy Award in the category.

This year’s Eddies nominees for the best edited animated feature are Coco, Despicable Me 3 and The Lego Batman Movie.

The animated feature category was introduced in 2010. Since then the film that won the Eddie has mirrored the recipient of the Oscar for best-animated feature all but once (in 2015, when The Lego Movie won the Eddie and Big Hero Six grabbed the Oscar).

This year in feature documentaries, ACE members nominated Cries of Syria, Jane, Joan Didion: The Center Will Not Hold and LA 92.

Among the nominees in the TV categories, Curb Your Enthusiasm, Better Call Saul and Fargo earned two apiece. That included a pair of nominations for Better Call Saul editor Skip Macdonald, who is nominated for the episodes "Witness," shared with Kelley Dixon; and "Chicanery."

A complete list of nominees is below. 

  • Best Edited Feature Film (Dramatic)

    Courtesy of Fox Searchlight

    Blade Runner 2049
    Joe Walker, ACE

    Lee Smith, ACE

    Molly’s Game
    Alan Baumgarten, ACE, Josh Schaeffer & Elliot Graham, ACE

    The Post
    Michael Kahn, ACE & Sarah Broshar

    The Shape of Water
    Sidney Wolinsky, ACE

  • Best Edited Feature Film (Comedy)

    Courtesy of TriStar Pictures

    Baby Driver
    Jonathan Amos, ACE & Paul Machliss, ACE

    Get Out 
    Gregory Plotkin

    I, Tonya
    Tatiana S. Riegel, ACE

    Lady Bird
    Nick Houy

    Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
    Jon Gregory, ACE

  • Best Edited Animated Feature Film

    Courtesy of Warner Bros. Pictures

    Steve Bloom

    Despicable Me 3
    Claire Dodgson

    The Lego Batman Movie
    David Burrows, ACE, Matt Villa & John Venzon, ACE

  • Best Edited Documentary (Feature)

    Hugo van Lawick/National Geographic Creative

    Cries From Syria
    Aaron I. Butler

    Joe Beshenkovsky, ACE, Will Znidaric, Brett Morgen

    Joan Didion: The Center Will Not Hold
    Ann Collins

    LA 92
    TJ Martin, Scott Stevenson, Dan Lindsay

  • Best Edited Documentary (Small Screen)

    Courtesy of Netflix

    The Defiant Ones – Part 1
    Lasse Jarvi, Doug Pray

    Five Came Back: The Price of Victory
    Will Znidaric

    The Nineties - Can We All Get Along?
    Inbal B. Lessner, ACE, Jason Hardwick

    Rolling Stone: Stories from the Edge - 01
    Ben Sozanski, ACE, Geeta Gandbhir, Andy Grieve, ACE

  • Best Edited Comedy Series for Commercial Television

    Eddy Chen/The CW

    Black-ish: "Lemons"
    John Peter Bernardo, Jamie Pedroza

    Crazy Ex-Girlfriend: "Josh’s Ex-Girlfriend Wants Revenge"
    Kabir Akhtar, ACE & Kyla Plewes

    Portlandia: "Amore"
    Heather Capps, Ali Greer, Jordan Kim

    Will & Grace: "Grandpa Jack"
    Peter Beyt

  • Best Edited Comedy Series for Non-Commercial Television

    Courtesy of HBO

    Curb Your Enthusiasm: "Fatwa!"
    Steven Rasch, ACE

    Curb Your Enthusiasm: "The Shucker"
    Jonathan Corn, ACE

    Glow: "Pilot"
    William Turro, ACE

    Veep: "Chicklet"
    Roger Nygard, ACE and Gennady Fridman

  • Best Edited Drama Series for Commercial Television

    Courtesy of AMC

    Better Call Saul: "Chicanery"
    Skip Macdonald, ACE

    Better Call Saul: "Witness"
    Kelley Dixon, ACE & Skip Macdonald, ACE

    Fargo: "Aporia"
    Henk Van Eeghen, ACE

    Fargo: "Who Rules the Land of Denial"
    Andrew Seklir, ACE

  • Best Edited Drama Series for Non-Commercial Television

    Courtesy of Netflix

    Big Little Lies: "You Get What You Need"
    Veronique Barbe,  David Berman, Justin LaChance, Sylvain Lebel, Maxime Lahaie & Jim Vega

    Game of Thrones: "Beyond the Wall"
    Tim Porter, ACE

    Handmaid’s Tale: "Offred"
    Julian Clarke, ACE & Wendy Hallam Martin

    Stranger Things: "Chapter 9: The Gate"
    Kevin D. Ross, ACE

  • Best Edited Mini-Series or Motion Picture for Television

    Courtesy of National Geographic/Dusan Martincek

    Feud: "Pilot"
    Adam Penn, ACE & Ken Ramos

    Genius: Einstein "Chapter One"
    James D. Wilcox

    The Wizard of Lies
    Ron Patane

  • Best Edited Non-Scripted Series

    Courtesy of A&E

    Deadliest Catch: "Lost at Sea"
    Rob Butler, ACE & Ben Bulatao, ACE

    Leah Remini: Scientology and the Aftermath: "The Perfect Scientology Family"
    Reggie Spangler, Ben Simoff, Kevin Hibbard & Vincent Oresman

    VICE News Tonight: "Charlottesville: Race & Terror"
    Tim Clancy, Cameron Dennis, John Chimples & Denny Thomas