'Parasite,' 'Jojo Rabbit' Top American Cinema Editors' Eddie Awards

11:16 PM 1/17/2020

by Carolyn Giardina

'Toy Story 4' won the trophy in the animated feature competition.

Parasite and JoJo Rabbit - Publicity -SPLIT-H 2020
Courtesy of Neon; Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation

Jimno Yang's editing of Parasite and Tom Eagles' work on Jojo Rabbit topped the American Cinema Editors' 70th Eddie Awards, winning the categories for best edited dramatic feature and best edited comedic feature, respectively. Yang's win is believed to be the first time a film in a foreign language won the category.

Friday night at the Beverly Hilton Hotel, Yang's work bested a field of nominees that included the editors of Ford v Ferrari, The Irishman, Joker and Marriage Story. Jojo Rabbit was nominated alongside Dolemite is My Name, The Farewell, Knives Out and Once Upon a Time in Hollywood. 

Yang and Eagles, along with Eddie nominees Michael McCusker and Andrew Buckland for Ford v Ferrari, Thelma Schoonmaker for The Irishman and Jeff Groth for Joker are also nominated for the Oscar in film editing.

In 11 of the last 15 years, the winner of the best edited dramatic feature category went on to win the Oscar for film editing. That included last year, when John Ottman won both awards for his work on Bohemian Rhapsody.

Toy Story 4 editor Axel Geddes won the Eddie for best edited animated feature, besting the editors of Frozen 2 and I Lost My Body. The animated feature category was introduced in 2010. Since then the film that won the Eddie has mirrored the recipient of the Oscar for best-animated feature all but once (in 2015, when The Lego Movie won the Eddie and Big Hero Six grabbed the Oscar).

Also on Friday, Todd Douglas Miller won the documentary feature category for Apollo 11. Additional winners included the editors of Better Things, Fleabag, Killing Eve, Game of Thrones and Chernobyl, VICE Investigates: Amazon on Fire and What's My Name: Muhammad Ali.

Producer Lauren Shuler Donner received the organization’s Golden Eddie honor, presented to her by Marvel's Kevin Feige. Alan Heim and Tina Hirsch received Career Achievement awards presented by filmmakers Nick Cassavetes and Ron Underwood, respectively.

National executive director of the Motion Picture Editors Guild, Cathy Repola, was presented ACE's Heritage Award.

The Anne V. Coates Student Editing Award was presented to Chase Johnson of California State University, Fullerton.

  • Best Edited Feature Film (Dramatic)

    ParasiteJinmo Yang - WINNER
    Ford v FerrariMichael McCusker, ACE & Andrew Buckland
    The IrishmanThelma Schoonmaker, ACE
    JokerJeff Groth
    Marriage StoryJennifer Lame, ACE

  • Best Edited Feature Film (Comedy)

    Jojo Rabbit, Tom Eagles - WINNER
    Dolemite Is My Name, Billy Fox, ACE
    The Farewell, Michael Taylor & Matthew Friedman
    Knives Out, Bob Ducsay
    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, Fred Raskin, ACE

  • Best Edited Animated Feature Film

    Toy Story 4, Axel Geddes, ACE - WINNER
    Frozen 2, Jeff Draheim, ACE
    I Lost My Body, Benjamin Massoubre

  • Best Edited Documentary (Feature)

    Apollo 11, Todd Douglas Miller - WINNER
    American Factory, Lindsay Utz
    Linda Ronstadt: The Sound of My Voice, Jake Pushinsky, ACE & Heidi Scharfe, ACE
    Making Waves: The Art of Cinematic Sound, David J. Turner & Thomas G. Miller, ACE

  • Best Edited Documentary (Small Screen)

    What's My Name: Muhammad Ali, Jake Pushinsky, ACE - WINNER
    Abducted in Plain Sight, James Cude}
    Bathtubs Over Broadway, Dava Whisenant
    Leaving Neverland, Jules Cornell

  • Best Edited Comedy Series for Commercial Television

    Better Things: "Easter," Janet Weinberg, ACE - WINNER

    Crazy Ex-Girlfriend: "I Need To Find My Frenemy," Nena Erb, ACE
    The Good Place: "Pandemonium," Eric Kissack
    Schitt’s Creek: "Life is a Cabaret," Trevor Ambrose

  • Best Edited Comedy Series for Non-Commercial Television

    Fleabag: "Episode 2.1," Gary Dollner, ACE - WINNER
    Barry: "berkman > block," Kyle Reiter, ACE
    Dead to Me: "Pilot," Liza Cardinale
    Russian Doll: "The Way Out," Todd Downing

  • Best Edited Drama Series for Commercial Television

    Killing Eve: "Desperate Times," Dan Crinnion - WINNER
    Chicago Med: "Never Going Back To Normal," David J. Siegel, ACE
    Killing Eve: "Smell Ya Later," Al Morrow
    Mr. Robot: "401 Unauthorized," Rosanne Tan, ACE

  • Best Edited Drama Series for Non-Commercial Television

    Game of Thrones: "The Long Night," Tim Porter, ACE - WINNER
    Euphoria: "Pilot," Julio C. Perez IV
    Mindhunter: "Episode 2," Kirk Baxter, ACE
    Watchmen: "It's Summer and We're Running Out of Ice," David Eisenberg

  • Best Edited Miniseries or Motion Picture for Television

    Chernobyl: "Vichnaya Pamyat," Jinx Godfrey & Simon Smith - WINNER
    Fosse/Verdon: "Life is a Cabaret," Tim Streeto, ACE
    When They See Us: "Part 1," Terilyn A. Shropshire, ACE

  • Best Edited Non-Scripted Series

    VICE Investigates: "Amazon on Fire," Cameron Dennis, Kelly Kendrick, Joe Matoske, Ryo Ikegami - WINNER
    Deadliest Catch: "Triple Jeopardy," Ben Bulatao, ACE, Rob Butler, ACE, Isaiah Camp, Greg Cornejo, Joe Mikan, ACE
    Surviving R. Kelly: "All The Missing Girls," Stephanie Neroes, Sam Citron, LaRonda Morris, Rachel Cushing, Justin Goll, Masayoshi Matsuda, Kyle Schadt