American Music Awards: Drake Sets Record With 13 Nominations

6:30 AM 10/10/2016

by Gil Kaufman, Billboard

The show will be broadcast live from the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles on Nov. 20 at 8 p.m. ET on ABC.

Drake - Getty - H 2016
Getty Images

Drake - Getty - H 2016

Drake broke a 32-year record for the most American Music Awards nominations with 13 nods, beating Michael Jackson's previous high mark of 11 from 1984. The "Hotline Bling" rapper leads all 2016 American Music Awards nominees with nods in categories including Artist of the Year, Favorite Male Artist, Favorite Album, Favorite Rap Artist, Favorite Rap Song and Favorite R&B song, among others. If he wins in any of the categories it will make his first AMA win.

Rihanna was just behind Drizzy with seven nominations for the show that will be broadcast live from the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles on Nov. 20 at 8 p.m. ET on ABC. Adele and Justin Bieber picked up five nominations each, followed by four nods each for Beyoncé and The Chainsmokers and three for Bryson Tiller, Twenty One Pilots, Carrie Underwood, Fetty Wap and The Weeknd

Drake will go up against Adele, Beyoncé, Bieber, Selena Gomez, Ariana Grande, Rihanna, Twenty One Pilots, Underwood and The Weeknd for Artist of the Year; the 10 nominees will be narrowed to five based on the votes received through Monday, November 14 at 8:59 a.m. PT. Voting for Artist of the Year will close on Thursday, November 17 at 8:59 p.m. PT. The winner will be determined by the total votes received throughout the entire voting period. If Bieber wins the award he will tie current record hold Taylor Swift for the most wins (three). With eight past wins and this year's five nominations, Bieber needs just one win to become one of the top 10 AMA winners of all time.

The Chainsmokers will face a formidable group of acts for the coveted New Artist of the Year crown, including DNCE, Alessia Cara, Shawn Mendes and Zayn Malik. American Music Awards nominees are based on key fan interactions as reflected in Billboard Magazine and on, including album and digital song sales, radio airplay, streaming, social activity and touring. These measurements are tracked by Billboard and its data partners, including Nielsen Music and Next Big Sound. Winners are voted entirely by fans, with voting opening today (Oct. 10) in all categories except New Artist of the Year Un-leashed by T-Mobile, which will open on November 2nd.

Fans can vote for all category once per day, per platform in one or both of the below ways. For New Artist of the Year Un-leashed by T-Mobile, fans can vote 100 times per day, per platform at or by posting a tweet that includes the nominee's Twitter handle, the category name and #AMAs within the post(s). The 2016 American Music Awards is produced by dick clark productions. Allen Shapiro and Mike Mahan are executive producers. Larry Klein, Barry Adelman and Mark Bracco are producers.

See the full list of nominees below:

  • Artist of the Year

    Ariana Grande (WINNER)



    Justin Bieber


    Selena Gomez


    Twenty One Pilots

    Carrie Underwood

    The Weeknd

  • New Artist of the Year Un-leashed by T-Mobile

    Zayn (WINNER)

    Alessia Cara

    The Chainsmokers


    Shawn Mendes

  • Collaboration of the Year

    Fifth Harmony Featuring Ty Dolla $ign, “Work From Home” (WINNER)

    The Chainsmokers Featuring Daya, “Don’t Let Me Down”

    Drake Featuring Wizkid & Kyla, “One Dance”

    Rihanna Featuring Drake, “Work”

    Meghan Trainor Featuring John Legend, “Like I’m Gonna Lose You”

  • Tour of the Year

    Beyoncé (WINNER)


    Bruce Springsteen & the E Street Band

  • Video of the Year

    Justin Bieber, “Sorry” (WINNER)

    Desiigner, “Panda”

    Rihanna Featuring Drake, “Work”

  • Favorite Male Artist — Pop/Rock

    Justin Bieber (WINNER)


    The Weeknd

  • Favorite Female Artist — Pop/Rock

    Selena Gomez (WINNER)



  • Favorite Duo or Group — Pop/Rock

    Twenty One Pilots (WINNER)

    The Chainsmokers



  • Favorite Album — Pop/Rock

    Justin Bieber, Purpose (WINNER)

    Adele, 25

    Drake, Views

  • Favorite Song — Pop/Rock

    Justin Bieber, “Love Yourself” (WINNER)

    Adele, “Hello”

    Drake Featuring Wizkid & Kyla, “One Dance”

  • Favorite Male Artist — Country

    Blake Shelton (WINNER)

    Luke Bryan

    Thomas Rhett

  • Favorite Female Artist — Country

    Carrie Underwood (WINNER)

    Kelsea Ballerini



  • Favorite Duo or Group — Country

    Florida Georgia Line (WINNER)

    Old Dominion

    Zac Brown Band

  • Favorite Album — Country

    Carrie Underwood, Storyteller (WINNER)

    Luke Bryan, Kill the Lights

    Chris Stapleton, Traveller


  • Favorite Song — Country

    Tim McGraw, “Humble and Kind” (WINNER)

    Florida Georgia Line, “H.O.L.Y.”

    Thomas Rhett, “Die a Happy Man”

  • Favorite Artist — Rap/Hip-Hop

    Drake (WINNER)

    Fetty Wap


  • Favorite Album — Rap/Hip-Hop

    Drake, Views (WINNER)

    Drake & Future, What A Time To Be Alive

    Fetty Wap, Fetty Wap

  • Favorite Song — Rap/Hip-Hop

    Drake, “Hotline Bling” (WINNER)

    Desiigner, “Panda”

    Fetty Wap, “679”

  • Favorite Male Artist — Soul/R&B

    Chris Brown (WINNER)

    Bryson Tiller

    The Weeknd

  • Favorite Female Artist — Soul/R&B

    Rihanna (WINNER)


    Janet Jackson

  • Favorite Album — Soul/R&B

    Rihanna, Anti (WINNER)

    Beyoncé, Lemonade

    Bryson Tiller, T R A P S O U L

  • Favorite Song — Soul/R&B

    Rihanna Featuring Drake, “Work” (WINNER)

    Drake Featuring Wizkid & Kyla, “One Dance”

    Bryson Tiller, “Don’t”

  • Favorite Artist — Alternative Rock

    Twenty One Pilots (WINNER)


    X Ambassadors

  • Favorite Artist — Adult Contemporary

    Adele (WINNER)

    Rachel Platten

    Meghan Trainor

  • Favorite Artist — Latin

    Enrique Iglesias (WINNER)

    J Balvin

    Nicky Jam

  • Favorite Artist — Contemporary Inspirational

    Hillsong UNITED (WINNER)

    Lauren Daigle

    Chris Tomlin

  • Favorite Artist — Electronic Dance Music

    The Chainsmokers (WINNER)

    Calvin Harris

    Major Lazer

  • Top Soundtrack

    Purple Rain (WINNER)

    Star Wars: The Force Awakens

    Suicide Squad: The Album