'Roma,' 'Cold War' Among American Society of Cinematographers Awards Nominees

12:05 PM 1/7/2019

by Carolyn Giardina

'The Handmaid's Tale' and 'The Crown' are among the TV nominees.

Courtesy of Netflix

Two black & white dramas — Roma, lensed by writer-director Alfonso Cuaron, and Cold War, photographed by Lukasz Zal — are among the feature nominees of the 33rd American Society of Cinematographers Outstanding Achievement Awards, which will be held Feb. 9 at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland.

Rounding out the nominees in the feature competition of the awards are Matty Libatique for A Star Is Born, Robbie Ryan for The Favourite and Linus Sandgren for First Man.

Several of the nominees were also recognized by fellow lensers at the recent international cinematography festival Camerimage, where the Silver Frog went to Cold War; the Bronze Frog was presented to Roma; the Golden Frog was awarded to 2017's The Fortress; and The Favourite won Camerimage's Audience Award.

Zal previously won an ASC Award in the Spotlight Award category for Cold War director Pawel Pawlikowski's Ida; Libatique was previously nominated in the feature category for Black Swan; and Sandgren was previously nominated in the feature category for La La Land, for which he won an Oscar. Zal and Libatique were also Oscar-nominated in cinematography for Ida and Black Swan, respectively. It is the first ASC Award nomination for Cuaron and Ryan.

In six of the past 10 years, the winner of the ASC feature competition went on to win the Oscar in cinematography.

This year's nominees for the ASC Spotlight Award — described as recognizing features that are screened at festivals, internationally, or in limited theatrical release — include The Rider, Nemme and Girl.

In the TV categories, The Handmaid's Tale is a double nominee for episodes "The Word,' photographed by Colin Watkinson, and 'Holly,' lensed by Zoe White. TV nominees also include The Crown, Patrick Melrose and The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel.

This year's ASC Awards ceremony will commemorate the society's centennial.

A complete list of nominees is below.

  • Theatrical Release

    'Cold War'
    'Cold War'
    Courtesy of Protagonist Pictures

    Alfonso Cuaron

    Matthew Libatique, ASC
    A Star Is Born

    Robbie Ryan, BSC, ISC
    The Favourite

    Linus Sandgren, ASC, FSF
    First Man

    Lukasz Zal, PSC WINNER
    Cold War

  • Spotlight


    Joshua James Richards
    The Rider

    Giorgi Shvelidze WINNER

    Frank van den Eeden, NSC, SBC

  • Episode of a Series for Non-Commercial Television

    Gonzalo Amat
    The Man in the High Castle, "Jahr Null"

    Adriano Goldman, ASC, ABC WINNER
    The Crown, "Beryl"

    David Klein, ASC
    Homeland, "Paean to the People"

    Colin Watkinson, ASC
    The Handmaid's Tale, "The Word"

    Cathal Watters, ISC
    Peaky Blinders, "The Company"

    Zoe White, ACS
    The Handmaid's Tale, "Holly"

  • Episode of a Series for Commercial Television

    Nathaniel Goodman, ASC
    Timeless, "The King of the Delta Blues"

    Jon Joffin, ASC WINNER
    Beyond, "Two Zero One"

    Ben Richardson
    Yellowstone, "Daybreak”

    David Stockton, ASC
    Gotham, "A Dark Knight: Queen Takes Knight"

    Thomas Yatsko, ASC
    Damnation, "A Different Species"

  • Motion Picture, Miniseries, or Pilot Made for Television

    Justin Downing/SHOWTIME


    James Friend, BSC WINNER
    Patrick Melrose, "Bad News"

    Mathias Herndl, AAC
    Genius: Picasso, "Chapter 1"

    Florian Hoffmeister, BSC
    The Terror, "Go for Broke"

    M. David Mullen, ASC
    The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, "Pilot"

    Brendan Steacy, CSC
    Alias Grace, "Part 1"