'Arrival,' 'Lion' Among American Society of Cinematographers Nominees

12:38 PM 1/11/2017

by Carolyn Giardina

The ASC Awards will be handed out Feb. 4.

Lion Still 6 - Publicity - H 2016
Courtesy of The Weinstein Company

The cinematographers behind Arrival, Lion, La La Land, Moonlight and Silence are nominated in the feature film competition of the American Society of Cinematographers' 31st annual Outstanding Achievement Awards, which will be presented Feb. 4 at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland.

This is the first ASC nomination for Greig Fraser, for Garth Davis’ A Long Way Home adaptation Lion; James Laxton, for Barry Jenkins’ coming of age drama Moonlight; Linus Sandgren, for Damien Chazelle’s contemporary musical La La Land; and Bradford Young for Denis Villeneuve’s sci-fi film Arrival.

Rodrigo Prieto, who photographed Martin Scorsese’s 17th century Japan-set Silence, was previously nominated for the ASC Award for Brokeback Mountain (for which he also earned an Oscar nomination and one of his two BAFTA nominations) and Frida.

In six of the last 10 years, the winner of the ASC Award in the feature category went on to win the Oscar in cinematography.

On Tuesday, Fraser, Sandgren and Young were nominated for the BAFTA in cinematography, along with the Giles Nuttgens for Hell or High Water and Seamus McGarvey for Nocturnal Animals.

The ASC has also announced the nominees for its Spotlight Award, which recognizes outstanding cinematography in feature-length projects that are screened at festivals, internationally, or in limited theatrical release. This year’s nominees are Lol Crawley for Childhood of a LeaderGorka Gomez Andreu for House of Others, Ernesto Pardo for Tempestad and Juliette van Dormael for Mon Ange (My Angel).

The complete list of ASC nominees, including the previously announced TV categories, is below. 

  • Theatrical Release

    Greig Fraser, ASC, ACS Lion WINNER

    James LaxtonMoonlight

    Rodrigo Prieto, ASC, AMC Silence

    Linus Sandgren, FSF La La Land

    Bradford Young, ASC Arrival

  • Spotlight

    Gorka Gomez AndreuAEC for House of Others WINNER

    Lol Crawley, BSC for Childhood of a Leader

    Ernesto Pardo for Tempestad 

    Juliette van Dormael for Mon Ange (My Angel)

  • Regular Series for Non-Commercial Television

    Fabian Wagner, BSC, for Game of Thrones, “Battle of the Bastards” (HBO) WINNER

    John Conroy for Penny Dreadful, “The Day Tennyson Died” (Showtime)

    David Dunlap for House of Cards, “Chapter 45” (Netflix)

    Anette Haellmigk for Game of Thrones, “Book of the Stranger” (HBO)

    Neville Kidd for Outlander, “Prestonpans” (Starz)

  • Regular Series for Commercial Television

    Tod Campbell for Mr. Robot, “eps2.0_unm4sk-pt1.tc” (USA) WINNER

    John Grillo for Preacher, “Finish the Song” (AMC)

    Kevin McKnight for Underground, “The Macon 7” (WGN)

    Christopher Norr for Gotham, “Wrath of the Villains: Mr. Freeze” (Fox)

    Richard Rutkowski for Manhattan, “Jupiter” (WGN)

  • Television Movie, Miniseries or Pilot

    Igor Martinovic for The Night Of, “Subtle Beast” (HBO) WINNER

    Balazs Bolygo, HSC, BSC, for Harley and the Davidsons, “Amazing Machine” (Discovery)

    Paul Cameron, ASC, for Westworld, “The Original” (HBO)

    Jim Denault, ASC, for All The Way (HBO)

    Alex Disenhof for The Exorcist, “Chapter One: And Let My Cry Come Unto Thee” (Fox)

    Igor Martinovic for The Night Of, “Subtle Beast” (HBO)