'The Crown' Reigns Over BAFTA TV Nominations

2:54 PM 5/5/2017

by Alex Ritman

But AMC/BBC's big-budget spy thriller 'The Night Manager,' a winner at the Golden Globes and Emmys, came away with just one nomination.

The Crown Claire Foy - Photofest - H 2017

The Crown Claire Foy - Photofest - H 2017

The nominations for the BAFTA TV awards, the U.K.'s equivalent of the Emmys, were unveiled bright and early London time Tuesday morning. 

There was broad spread of love shared across numerous shows, but it was Netflix's lavish royal drama The Crown that emerged in the lead, with five nominations, including for Claire Foy, Jared Harris, John Lithgow and Vanessa Kirby. Elsewhere, comedy sleeper hit Fleabag and gritty drama Happy Valley earned places on multiple shortlists.

Perhaps surprisingly, The Night Manager, the BBC/AMC's hit spy thriller came away with just one, for Tom Hollander's portrayal of colorful henchman Corky. The show — estimated to have cost some $30 million — was a ratings hit last year, and seemed a shoo-in for major BAFTA TV awards success after it aired, backed up by Golden Globe and Emmy wins. 

The awards ceremony is set to take place May 14 at London's Royal Festival Hall

See the list of scripted nominations below. 

  • Drama Series

    Happy Valley - WINNER
    The Crown
    The Durrells
    War & Peace

  • Leading Actress

    Claire Foy, The Crown 
    Jodie Comer, Thirteen 
    Nikki Amuka-Bird, NW
    Sarah Lancashire, Happy Valley - WINNER


  • Leading Actor

    Adeel Akhtar, Murdered by My Father - WINNER
    Babou CeesayDamilola, Our Loved Boy
    Benedict Cumberbatch, The Hollow Crown: The Wars of the Roses 
    Robbie ColtraneNational Treasure

  • Supporting Actress

    Nicola Walker, Last Tango in Halifax 
    Siobhan FinneranHappy Valley
    Vanessa Kirby, The Crown
    Wunmi Mosaku, Damilola, Our Loved Boy - WINNER

  • Supporting Actor

    Daniel Mays, Line of Duty
    Jared Harris, The Crown
    John Lithgow, The Crown
    Tom Hollander, The Night Manager - WINNER


  • International

    The People V OJ Simpson: American Crime Story WINNER
    The Night Of
    Stranger Things

  • Scripted Comedy

    People Just do Nothing -

  • Female Performance in a Comedy Program

    Phoebe Waller-Bridge, Fleabag - WINNER
    Diane Morgan, Cunk on Shakespeare
    Lesley Manville, Mum
    Olivia Colman, Fleabag

  • Male Performance in a Comedy Program

    Asim Chaudhry, People Just do Nothing
    David Mitchell, Upstart Crow
    Harry Enfield, The Windsors
    Steve Coogan, Alan Partridge's Scissored Isle - WINNER

  • Mini-Series

    The Hollow Crown, The Wars of the Roses
    National Treasure - WINNER
    The Secret
    The Witness for the Prosecution