BAFTA Awards: 'Shape of Water,' 'Three Billboards,' 'Darkest Hour' Lead Pack of Nominations

11:43 PM 1/8/2018

by Alex Ritman

The biggest film awards outside the U.S. has unveiled its full list of nominees for 2018.

THE SHAPE OF WATER Still_ - Publicity - H 2018
Courtesy of Fox Searchlight Pictures

Just two days after Hollywood's foreign press helped Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri become the big winner at the Golden Globes, BAFTA voters saw Martin McDonagh's film earn a bumper crop of nominations in London. 

The BAFTA Award nominations were announced early Tuesday morning in the U.K. (late Monday LA), with Natalie Dormer and Letitia Wright reading out the shortlisted names from the British Academy's London HQ. 

Three Billboards came away with nine nominations, with many across many of the major categories (including film, actor, director and both supporting shortlists), matched by Joe Wright's Darkest Hour (including best film, actor and supporting actress). But, thanks to the technical categories, it was The Shape of Water that emerged in the lead with 12 nods (including film, director, actress and supporting actress).

The awards ceremony itself will take place on Feb. 18 at the Royal Albert Hall.

  • Film

    Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri - WINNER
    Call Me By Your Name

    Darkest Hour
    The Shape of Water

  • Director

    The Shape of Water, Guillermo del Toro - WINNER
     Christopher Nolan
    Blade Runner 2049
    , Denis Villeneuve
    Call Me By Your Name, Luca Guadagnino
    Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, Martin McDonagh

  • Best Actress

    Frances McDormand, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri - WINNER
    Margot Robbie, I, Tonya
    Sally Hawkins, The Shape of Water
    Saoirse Ronan, Lady Bird
    Annette Bening, Film Stars Don’t Die in Liverpool

  • Best Actor

    Gary Oldman, Darkest Hour - WINNER
    Daniel Day-Lewis, Phantom Thread
    Daniel Kaluuya, Get Out
    Jamie Bell, Film Stars Don’t Die in Liverpool
    Timothee Chalamet, Call Me by Your Name

  • Supporting Actress

    Allison Janney, I, Tonya - WINNER
    Kristen Scott Thomas, Darkest Hour
    Laurie Metcalf, Lady Bird
    Lesley Manville, Phantom Thread
    Octavia Spencer, The Shape of Water

  • Supporting Actor

    Sam Rockwell, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri - WINNER
    Hugh Grant, Paddington 2 
    Christopher Plummer, All the Money in the World
    Woody HarrelsonThree Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
    Willem DafoeThe Florida Project

  • Original Screenplay

    Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, Martin McDonagh - WINNER
    Get Out
    , Jordan Peele
    I, Tonya, Steven Rogers
    Lady Bird, Greta Gerwig
    The Shape of Water, Guillermo del Toro, Vanessa Taylor

  • Adapted Screenplay

    Call Me By Your Name, James Ivory - WINNER
    The Death of Stalin, Armando Iannucci, Ian Martin, David Schneider
    Film Stars Don't Die in Liverpool, Matt Greenhalgh
    Molly's Game, Aaron Sorkin
    Paddington 2, Simon Farnaby, Paul King

  • Outstanding British Film in 2018

    Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, Martin McDonagh, Graham Broadbent, Pete Czernin - WINNER
    Darkest Hour, Joe Wright, Tim Bevan, Lisa Bruce, Eric Fellner, Anthony McCarten, Douglas Urbanski
    The Death of Stalin, Armando Iannucci, Kevin Loader, Laurent Zeitoun, Yann Zenou, Ian Martin, David Schneider
    God's Own Country, Francis Lee, Manon Ardisson, Jack Tarling
    Lady Macbeth, William Oldroyd, Fodhla Cronin O’Reilly, Alice Birch
    Paddington 2, Paul King, David Heyman, Simon Farnaby

  • Outstanding Debut By A British Writer, Director or Producer in 2018

    I am Not a Witch, Rungano Nyoni (Writer/Director), Emily Morgan (Producer) - WINNER
    The Ghoul
    , Gareth Tunley (Writer/Director/Producer), Jack Healy Guttman & Tom Meeten (Producers)
    Jawbone, Johnny Harris (Writer/Producer), Thomas Napper (Director)
    Kingdom of Us, Lucy Cohen (Director)
    Lady Macbeth, Alice Birch (Writer), William Oldroyd (Director), Fodhla Cronin O’Reilly (Producer)

  • Cinematography

    Blade Runner 2049, Roger Deakins - WINNER
    Darkest Hour, Bruno Delbonnel
    Dunkirk, Hoyte van Hoytema
    The Shape of Water, Dan Laustsen
    Three Billbooards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, Ben Davis

  • Editing

    Baby Driver, Jonathan Amos, Paul Machliss - WINNER
    Blade Runner 2049, Joe Walker
    Dunkirk, Lee Smith
    The Shape of Water, Sidney Wolinsky
    Three Billbooards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, Jon Gregory

  • Costume Design

    Phantom Thread, Mark Bridges - WINNER
    Beauty and the Beast
    , Jacqueline Durran
    Darkest Hour, Jacqueline Durran
    I, Tonya, Jennifer Johnson
    The Shape of Water, Luis Sequeira

  • Make-Up and Hair

    Darkest Hour, David Malinowski, Ivana Primorac, Lucy Sibbick, Kazuhiro Tsuji - WINNER
    , Naomi Bakstad, Robert A. Pandini, Arjen Tuiten
    Blade Runner 2049
    , Donald Mowat, Kerry Warn
    I, Tonya, Deborah La Mia Denaver, Adruitha Lee
    Victoria & Abdul, Daniel Phillips

  • Original Music

    The Shape of WaterAlexandre Desplat – WINNER
    Blade Runner 2049
    Benjamin Wallfisch, Hans Zimmer
    Darkest Hour, Dario Marianelli
    Dunkirk, Hans Zimmer
    Phantom Thread, Jonny Greenwood

  • Production Design

    The Shape of Water, Paul Austerberry, Jeff Melvin, Shane Vieau - WINNER
    Beauty and the Beast
    , Sarah Greenwood, Katie Spencer - 
    Blade Runner 2049, Dennis Gassner, Alessandra Querzola
    Darkest Hour, Sarah Greenwood, Katie Spencer
    Dunkirk, Nathan Crowley, Gary Fettis

  • Special Visual Effects

    Blade Runner 2049, Gerd Nefzer, John Nelson - WINNER
    Dunkirk, Scott Fisher, Andrew Jackson
    The Shape of Water, Dennis Berardi, Trey Harrell, Kevin Scott
    Star Wars: The Last Jedi, Nominees tbc
    War For the Planet of the Apes, Nominees tbc

  • Sound

    Dunkirk, Richard King, Gregg Landaker, Gary A. Rizzo, Mark Weingarten - WINNER
    Baby Driver
    , Tim Cavagin, Mary H. Ellis, Julian Slater
    Blade Runner 2049, Theo Green, Ron Bartlett, Doug Hemphill, Mark Mangini, Mac Ruth
    The Shape of Water, Christian Cooke, Glen Gauthier, Nathan Robitaille, Brad Zoern
    Star Wars: The Last Jedi, Ren Klyce, David Parker, Michael Semanick, Stuart Wilson, Matthew Wood