'The Favourite' Dominates BAFTA Nominations

11:41 PM 1/8/2019

by Alex Ritman

The complete list of all of the 2019 BAFTA film awards nominations.

True to its name, The Favourite dominated the nominations for the 72nd BAFTA Awards, revealed early Wednesday morning in London (late Tuesday in L.A.).

Yorgos Lanthimos' dark comedy came away with 12 nominations, shortlisted in most of the main categories, significantly ahead of Bohemian Rhapsody, First Man, Roma and A Star Is Born, which each received seven nominations. Elsewhere, a broad spread of love was shown by BAFTA's 6,500 voting members across a range of titles, with most films considered to be part of the awards race getting at least one nomination. Vice landed six, BlacKkKlansman five, and Cold War and Green Book four. Can You Ever Forgive Me?, Mary Poppins Returns, Mary Queen of Scots and Stan & Ollie all received three each.

Hayley Squires (I, Daniel Blake) and Will Poulter (Black Mirror: Bandersnatch) read out the shortlisted names from the British academy's headquarters.

The awards ceremony itself will take place Feb. 10 at the Royal Albert Hall, with Joanna Lumley hosting for a second year running.

  • Best Film

    The Favourite 
    Green Book 
    Roma - WINNER
    A Star Is Born

  • Leading Actress

    Glenn Close – The Wife
    Lady Gaga – A Star Is Born
    Melissa McCarthy – Can You Ever Forgive Me?
    Olivia Colman – The Favourite - WINNER
    Viola Davis – Widows

  • Leading Actor

    Bradley Cooper – A Star Is Born
    Christian Bale – Vice
    Rami Malek – Bohemian Rhapsody - WINNER
    Steve Coogan – Stan & Ollie
    Viggo Mortensen – Green Book

  • Supporting Actress

    Amy Adams – Vice
    Claire Foy – First Man
    Emma Stone – The Favourite
    Margot Robbie – Mary Queen of Scots
    Rachel Weisz – The Favourite - WINNER

  • Supporting Actor

    Adam Driver – BlacKkKlansman
    Mahershala Ali – Green Book - WINNER
    Richard E. Grant – Can You Ever Forgive Me?
    Sam Rockwell – Vice
    Timothee Chalamet – Beautiful Boy

  • Director

    BlacKkKlansman – Spike Lee
    Cold War – Pawel Pawlikowski
    The Favourite – Yorgos Lanthimos
    Roma – Alfonso Cuaron - WINNER
    A Star Is Born – Bradley Cooper

  • Outstanding British Film

    Bohemian Rhapsody
    The Favourite - WINNER
    Stan & Ollie
    You Were Never Really Here

  • Cinematography

    Bohemian Rhapsody – Newton Thomas Sigel
    Cold War – Lukasz Zal
    The Favourite Robbie Ryan
    First Man Linus Sandgren
    Roma Alfonso Cuaron - WINNER

  • Film Not in the English Language

    Cold War
    Roma -

  • Original Screenplay

    Cold War – Janusz G?owacki, Pawel Pawlikowski
    The Favourite – Deborah Davis, Tony McNamara - WINNER
    Green Book – Brian Currie, Peter Farrelly, Nick Vallelonga
    Roma – Alfonso Cuaron
    Vice – Adam McKay

  • Adapted Screenplay

    BlacKkKlansman – Spike Lee, David Rabinowitz, Charlie Wachtel, Kevin Willmott - WINNER
    Can You Ever Forgive Me? – Nicole Holofcener, Jeff Whitty
    First Man – Josh Singer
    If Beale Street Could Talk – Barry Jenkins
    A Star Is Born – Bradley Cooper, Will Fetters, Eric Roth

  • Animated Film

    Incredibles 2 – Brad Bird, John Walker
    Isle of Dogs – Wes Anderson, Jeremy Dawson
    Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse – Bob Persichetti, Peter Ramsey, Rodney Rothman, Phil Lord - WINNER

  • Production Design

    Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald – Stuart Craig, Anna Pinnock
    The Favourite – Fiona Crombie, Alice Felton - WINNER
    First Man – Nathan Crowley, Kathy Lucas
    Mary Poppins Returns – John Myhre, Gordon Sim
    Roma – Eugenio Caballero, Barbara Enriquez

  • Editing

    Bohemian Rhapsody – John Ottman
    The Favourite – Yorgos Mavropsaridis
    First Man – Tom Cross
    Roma – Alfonso Cuaron, Adam Gough
    Vice – Hank Corwin - WINNER

  • Costume Design

    The Ballad of Buster Scruggs – Mary Zophres
    Bohemian Rhapsody – Julian Day
    The Favourite – Sandy Powell - WINNER
    Mary Poppins Returns – Sandy Powell
    Mary Queen of Scots – Alexandra Byrne

  • Makeup and Hair

    Bohemian Rhapsody – Mark Coulier, Jan Sewell
    The Favourite – Nadia Stacey - WINNER
    Mary Queen of Scots – Jenny Shircore
    Stan & Ollie – Mark Coulier, Jeremy Woodhead
    Vice – Kate Biscoe, Greg Cannom, Patricia DeHaney, Chris Gallaher

  • Original Music

    BlacKkKlansman – Terence Blanchard
    If Beale Street Could Talk – Nicholas Britell
    Isle of Dogs – Alexandre Desplat
    Mary Poppins Returns – Marc Shaiman
    A Star Is Born – Bradley Cooper, Lady Gaga, Lukas Nelson - WINNER

  • Sound

    Bohemian Rhapsody – John Casali, Tim Cavagin, Nina Hartstone, Paul Massey, John Warhurst - WINNER
    First Man – Mary H. Ellis, Mildred Iatrou Morgan, Ai-Ling Lee, Frank A. Montano, Jon Taylor
    Mission: Impossible - Fallout – T Gilbert Lake, James H. Mather, Christopher Munro, Mike Prestwood Smith
    A Quiet Place – Erik Aadahl, Michael Barosky, Brandon Procter, Ethan Van der Ryn
    A Star Is Born – Steve Morrow, Alan Robert Murray, Jason Ruder, Tom Ozanich, Dean Zupancic

  • Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer

    Apostasy Daniel Kokotajlo (Writer/Director)
    Beast Michael Pearce (Writer/Director), Lauren Dark (Producer) - WINNER
    A Cambodian Spring – Chris Kelly (Writer/Director/Producer)
    Pili – Leanne Welham (Writer/Director), Sophie Harman (Producer)
    Ray & Liz – Richard Billingham (Writer/Director), Jacqui Davies (Producer)

  • Special Visual Effects

    Avengers: Infinity War – Dan DeLeeuw, Russell Earl, Kelly Port, Dan Sudick
    Black Panther – Geoffrey Baumann, Jesse James Chisholm, Craig Hammack, Dan Sudick - WINNER
    Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald – Tim Burke, Andy Kind, Christian Manz, David Watkins
    First Man – Ian Hunter, Paul Lambert, Tristan Myles, J.D. Schwalm
    Ready Player One – Matthew E. Butler, Grady Cofer, Roger Guyett, David Shirk

  • Rising Star

    Jessie Buckley
    Cynthia Erivo
    Barry Keoghan
    Lakeith Stanfield
    Letitia Wright - WINNER

  • British Short Film

    73 Cows – Alex Lockwood - WINNER
    Bachelor, 38 – Angela Clarke
    The Blue Door – Ben Clark, Megan Pugh, Paul Taylor
    The Field – Sandhya Suri, Balthazar de Ganay
    Wale – Barnaby Blackburn, Sophie Alexander, Catherine Slater, Edward Speleers