BAFTA Awards: 'Carol' and 'Bridge of Spies' Lead Nominations

12:23 PM 1/8/2016

by Alex Ritman

Alicia Vikander gets nominated in both the best actress and best supporting actress lists.

AP Images/Invision

The nominations for the 68th edition of the BAFTA Awards, the biggest and most prestigious film awards outside the U.S., were unveiled in London on Friday morning, local time.

As had largely been expected, Eddie Redmayne, Cate Blanchett, Rooney Mara, Brie Larson, Michael Fassbender and Idris Elba were shortlisted in the acting categories, while Carol, Bridge of Spies and The Martian earned multiple nominations across categories.

Alicia Vikander raised eyebrows by getting nominated in both the BAFTA best actress and best supporting actress categories, a rare feat.

Stephen Fry and Gugu Mbatha-Raw, who was nominated for the BAFTA Rising Star award in 2015, announced the nominees in a live video stream from BAFTA’s London headquarters on Friday morning. The awards ceremony itself will take place on Feb. 14, with Stephen Fry hosting.

Since moving to its slot just weeks before the Oscars, the BAFTAs have become far closer aligned with the Academy Awards and have become an indicator of who may be getting the big U.S. awards.

In 2015, BAFTA main category winners mirrored the Oscars in all but the best film and best director sections (the Brits went for Boyhood over Birdman in both), with Redmayne, Julianne Moore, J.K. Simmons and Patricia Arquette bagging both.

Here are the nominees for the 2016 BAFTA awards:

  • Film

  • Best Actress


    Brie Larson – Room (WINNER) `

    Saoirse Ronan – Brooklyn

    Cate Blanchett – Carol

    Alicia Vikander – The Danish Girl

    Maggie Smith – Lady in the Van

  • Best Actor

    'The Revenant,' Courtesy of Twentieth Century Fox

    Leonardo DiCaprio – The Revenant (WINNER)

    Eddie Redmayne – The Danish Girl

    Michael Fassbender – Steve Jobs

    Matt Damon  – The Martian

    Bryan Cranston – Trumbo


  • Supporting Actress

    Courtesy of Universal Pictures

    Kate Winslet – Steve Jobs (WINNER)

    Alicia Vikander – Ex Machina

    Rooney Mara – Carol

    Jennifer Jason Leigh – The Hateful Eight

    Julie Walters – Brooklyn


  • Supporting Actor

    Courtesy of DreamWorks and Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation

    Mark Rylance – Bridge of Spies (WINNER)

    Benicio Del Toro – Sicario

    Christian Bale – The Big Short

    Idris Elba – Beasts of No Nation

    Mark Ruffalo – Spotlight



  • Outstanding British Film in 2016

    Fox Searchlight Pictures

    Brooklyn – John Crowley, Finola Dwyer, Amanda Posey, Nick Hornby (WINNER)

    45 Years
     – Andrew Haigh, Tristan Goligher

    Amy – Asif Kapadia, James Gay-Rees

    The Danish Girl – Tom Hooper, Tim Bevan, Eric Fellner, Anne Harrison, Gail Mutrux, Lucinda Coxon

    Ex Machina – Alex Garland, Andrew Macdonald, Allon Reich

    The Lobster – Yorgos Lanthimos, Ceci Dempsey, Ed Guiney, Lee Magiday, Efthimis Filippou

  • Film Not in the English Language

    Wild Tales – Damian Szifron (WINNER)

    Force Majeure – Ruben Ostlund

    The Assassin – Hou Hsiao-Hsien

    Theeb – Naji Abu Nowar, Rupert Lloyd

    Timbuktu – Abderrahmane Sissako


  • Documentary

    AP Images

    Amy – Asif Kapadia, James Gay-Rees (WINNER)

    Cartel Land – Matthew Heineman, Tom Yellin

    He Named Me Malala – Davis Guggenheim, Walter Parkes, Laurie MacDonald

    Listen to Me Marlon – Stevan Riley, John Battsek, George Chignell, R.J. Cutler

    Sherpa – Jennifer Peedom, Bridget Ikin, John Smithson


  • Animated Film

    Courtesy of Disney

    Inside Out – Pete Docter - WINNER

    Minions – Pierre Coffin, Kyle Balda

    Shaun the Sheep Movie – Mark Burton, Richard Starzak

  • Director

    'Revenant,' Courtesy of Twentieth Century Fox

    The Revenant – Alejandro G. Inarritu (WINNER)

    The Big Short
    Adam McKay

    Bridge of Spies – Steven Spielberg

    Carol – Todd Haynes

    The Martian – Ridley Scott


  • Cinematography

    Courtesy of 20th Century Fox

    The Revenant – Emmanuel Lubezki  (WINNER)

    Bridge of Spies
     – Janusz Kaminski

    Carol – Ed Lachman

    Mad Max: Fury Road – John Seale

    Sicario – Roger Deakins

  • Outstanding Debut By A British Writer, Director or Producer in 2016

    Naji Abu Nowar (Writer/Director) Rupert Lloyd (Producer) – Theeb (WINNER)

    Alex Garland (Director) – Ex Machina

    Debbie Tucker Green (Writer/Director) – Second Coming

    Sean McAllister (Director/Producer), Elhum Shakerifar (Producer) – A Syrian Love Story

    Stephen Fingleton (Writer/Director) – The Survivalist

  • Original Screenplay

    Courtesy of Open Road Films

    Spotlight – Tom McCarthy, Josh Singer (WINNER)

    Bridge of Spies – Matthew Charman, Ethan Coen, Joel Coen

    Ex Machina – Alex Garland

    The Hateful Eight – Quentin Tarantino

    Inside Out – Josh Cooley, Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve


  • Adapted Screenplay

    Courtesy of Paramount Pictures

    The Big Short – Adam McKay, Charles Randolph (WINNER)

    Brooklyn – Nick Hornby

    Carol – Phyllis Nagy

    Room – Emma Donoghue

    Steve Jobs – Aaron Sorkin

  • Editing

    Courtesy of Warner Bros.

    Mad Max: Fury Road – Margaret Sixel (WINNER)

    The Big Short – Hank Corwin

    Bridge of Spies – Michael Kahn

    The Martian – Pietro Scalia

    The Revenant – Stephen Mirrione

  • Production Design

    Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc.

    Mad Max: Fury Road – Colin Gibson, Lisa Thompson (WINNER)

    Star Wars: The Force Awakens
    Rick Carter, Darren Gilford, Lee Sandales

    Bridge of Spies – Adam Stockhausen, Rena DeAngelo

    Carol – Judy Becker, Heather Loeffler

    The Martian – Arthur Max, Celia Bobak

  • Costume Design

    Mad Max: Fury Road – Jenny Beavan - (WINNER)

    Brooklyn – Odile Dicks-Mireaux

    Carol – Sandy Powell

    Cinderella – Sandy Powell

    The Danish Girl – Paco Delgado


  • Make-Up and Hair

    'Mad Max: Fury Road,' Courtesy of Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc.

    Mad Max: Fury Road – Lesley Vanderwalt, Damian Martin (WINNER)

    Morna Ferguson, Lorraine Glynn

    Carol – Jerry DeCarlo, Patricia Regan

    The Danish Girl – Jan Sewell

    The Revenant – Sian Grigg, Duncan Jarman, Robert Pandini

  • Sound

    Courtesy of Twentieth Century Fox

    The Revenant – Lon Bender, Chris Duesterdiek, Martin Hernandez, Frank A. Montaño, Jon Taylor, Randy Thom (WINNER)

    Bridge of Spies – Drew Kunin, Richard Hymns, Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom

    Mad Max: Fury Road – Scott Hecker, Chris Jenkins, Mark Mangini, Ben Osmo, Gregg Rudloff, David White

    The Martian – Paul Massey, Mac Ruth, Oliver Tarney, Mark Taylor

    Star Wars: The Force Awakens – David Acord, Andy Nelson, Christopher Scarabosio, Matthew Wood, Stuart Wilson

  • Special Visual Effects

    Courtesy of Lucasfilms 2015/Walt Disney Studios

    Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Chris Corbould, Roger Guyett, Paul Kavanagh, Neal Scanlan (WINNER)

    Jake Morrison, Greg Steele, Dan Sudick, Alex Wuttke

    Ex Machina – Mark Ardington, Sara Bennett, Paul Norris, Andrew Whitehurst

    Mad Max: Fury Road – Andrew Jackson, Dan Oliver, Tom Wood, Andy Williams

    The Martian – Chris Lawrence, Tim Ledbury, Richard Stammers, Steven Warner