BAFTA TV Awards: The Winners List

1:31 PM 5/8/2016

by Alex Ritman

Mark Rylance and 'Wolf Hall' were among the high profile winners.

BAFTA Awards - H 2015
AP Images/Invision

BAFTA Awards - H 2015

U.K. television's most prestigious event took place Sunday night in the British capital, with some of the biggest names from both small and silver screen in attendance for the annual BAFTA TV Awards.

The BBC's historical series Wolf Hall – which aired on PBS in the U.S. – entered the night ahead of the pack, with four nominations, including one for its recently-minted Oscar winner Mark Rylance. The actor, whose turn as calculating statesmen Thomas Cromwell in the adaptation of Hilary Mantel's books was a hugely critically acclaimed, went up against Luther's Idris Elba in the leading actor category, as they had done in the BAFTA film awards supporting category just three months earlier (Rylance won that round).

Wolf Hall ended up winning the best drama award, and Rylance beating Elba again to walk away with the best actor honor. The series director Peter Kosminsky used his opportunity on stage to take aim at the government attacks on the BBC, saying that it was attempting to "eviscerate" something that was the envy of the world.

"We should stand up and fight for it, not let it go by default. And if we don't, blink and it will be gone," he said, adding that there would be "no more Wolf Hall."

Amazon beat out Netflix as Transparent earned the award for best international series, with Jeffrey Tambor accepting the honor. Netflix's Narcos had been among the other nominees.

In supporting categories, this time it was the turn of the elder statesmen, with Tom Courtenay (Unforgotten) shortlisted alongside Ian McKellen, incredibly earning his first ever BAFTA TV short nomination, for The Dresser. Courtenay won the BAFTA to much applause.

Other guests on the night included Hugh Bonneville, Maisie Williams, Justin Timberlake, Martin Freeman, Mark Gatiss, Sharon Horgan and Tom Hiddleston.


  • Leading actor

    Mark RylanceWolf Hall (BBC2) - (WINNER)

    Ben WhishawLondon Spy (BBC2)

    Idris Elba – Luther (BBC1)

    Stephen Graham – This is England ’90 (Channel 4)

  • Leading actress

    Suranne Jones – Doctor Foster (BBC1) - (WINNER)

    Claire FoyWolf Hall (BBC2)

    Ruth MadeleyDon’t Take My Baby (BBC3)

    Sheridan Smith – The C-Word (BBC1)


  • Supporting actor

    Tom CourtenayUnforgotten (ITV) - (WINNER)

    Anton Lesser – Wolf Hall (BBC2)

    Cyril Nri – Cucumber (Channel 4)

    Ian McKellen – The Dresser (BBC2)


  • Supporting actress

    Chanel CresswellThis is England ‘90 (Channel 4) - (WINNER)

    Eleanor Worthington-Cox – The Enfield Haunting (Sky Living)

    Lesley Manville – River (BBC1)

    Michelle Gomez – Doctor Who (BBC1)

  • Female performance in a comedy program

    Michaela CoelChewing Gum (Channel 4) - (WINNER)

    Miranda Hart – Miranda (BBC1)

    Sian Gibson – Peter Kay’s Car Share (BBC iPlayer)

    Sharon HorganCatastrophe (Channel 4)

  • Male performance in a comedy program

    Peter Kay – Peter Kay’s Car Share (BBC iPlayer) - (WINNER)

    Hugh BonnevilleW1A (BBC2)

    Javone Prince – The Javone Prince Show (BBC2)

    Toby Jones – Detectorists (BBC 4)

  • Miniseries

    This is England ‘90 (Channel 4) - (WINNER)

    Doctor Foster (BBC1)

    The Enfield Haunting (Sky Living)

    London Spy (BBC2)


  • Drama series

    Wolf Hall (BBC2) - (WINNER)

    Humans (Channel 4)

    The Last Panthers (Sky Atlantic)

    No Offence (Channel 4)


  • International

    Transparent (Amazon Prime) - (WINNER)

    The Good Wife (More4)

    Narcos (Netflix)

    Spiral (BBC4)


  • Audience award

    Poldark - (WINNER)

    Doctor Foster

    The Great British Bake Off


    Making a Murderer

    Peter Kay’s Car Share