BET Soul Train Awards: Bruno Mars Tops With 5 Wins

7:40 PM 11/26/2017

by Kimberly Nordyke

SZA followed with two wins, including best new artist.

Bruno Mars - 2017 BET Awards Performance - Getty - H 2017
Getty Images

Bruno Mars topped the BET Presents: 2017 Soul Train Awards, which were handed out in a telecast that aired Sunday night on BET and BET HER.

Mars won a total of five awards, for best R&B/soul male artist, video of the year, album/mixtape of the year, song of the year and best dance performance. SZA followed with two awards, for best new artist and best R&B/soul female artist.

Erykah Badu returned as host of the show, which was filmed Nov. 5 at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas, recognized the best in soul, R&B and hip-hop, both legends and modern-day artists.

Also during the show, Toni Braxton received the coveted Legend Award, while R&B trio SWV was honored with the third annual Lady of Soul Award. Braxton and SWV also separately performed a medley of their respective hits.

Additional performances included Tamar Braxton, 112, Tank, Kirk Franklin, Method Man, Keyshia Cole, Daniel Caesar, DVSN, Le’Andria Johnson, Demetria McKinney, Ledisi, Luke James, Major, Ro James and U-GOD.

A full list of winners follows.

  • Best New Artist







    Kevin Ross



  • Best R&B/Soul Male Artist

    Bruno Mars (WINNER)


    Bryson Tiller


    Chris Brown




    The Weeknd

  • Best R&B/Soul Female Artist





    Lalah Hathaway




    Mary J. Blige



  • Soul Train Certified Award

    Bell Biv DeVoe (WINNER)


    Ledisi (WINNER)


    Johnny Gill


    Lalah Hathaway


    Mack Wilds

  • Video of the Year

    Bruno Mars - "24K Magic" (WINNER)


    Beyoncé - "All Night"


    Chris Brown ft. Usher & Gucci Mane - "Party"


    DJ Khaled ft. Rihanna & Bryson Tiller - "Wild Thoughts"


    Solange - "Cranes in the Sky"

  • Best Gospel/Inspirational Award

    Lecrae (WINNER)


    Chance the Rapper


    Charlie Wilson


    Kirk Franklin


    Tamela Mann

  • Album/Mixtape of the Year

    Bruno Mars - 24K Magic (WINNER)


    Mary J. Blige - Strength Of A Woman


    Solange - A Seat at the Table


    SZA - Ctrl


    The Weeknd - Starboy

  • Rhythm & Bars Award

    Cardi B - "Bodak Yellow" (WINNER)

    DJ Khaled ft. Rihanna & Bryson Tiller - "Wild Thoughts"

    French Montana ft. Swae Lee - "Unforgettable"

    Kendrick Lamar - "HUMBLE."

    Yo Gotti ft. Nicki Minaj - "Rake It Up"

  • Song of the Year

    Bruno Mars - "That's What I Like" (WINNER)


    Childish Gambino - "Redbone"


    DJ Khaled ft. Rihanna & Bryson Tiller - "Wild Thoughts"


    Khalid - "Location"


    Solange - "Cranes in the Sky"

  • The Ashford & Simpson Songwriter's Award

    "Cranes in the Sky" - Written by: Troy L. John, Solange Knowles, Raphael Saadiq (Solange) (WINNER)

    "Location" - Written by: Alfredo Emmanuel Gonzalez, Olatunji Olutomiwa, Samuel David Jimenez, Khalid Robinson, Joshua Scruggs (Khalid)

    "Love Me Now" - Written by: Blake Matthew Simon Mills, John Henry Ryan, John Roger Stephens (John Legend)

    "Redbone" - Written by: George Clinton, William Earl Collins, Gary Lee Cooer, Donald McKinley Glover II, Ludwig Emil Tomas Goransson (Childish Gambino)

    "Versace on the Floor" - Written by: Christopher Steven Brown, James Edward Fauntleroy, Bruno Mars, Philip Martin Lawrence (Bruno Mars)

  • Best Dance Performance

    Bruno Mars - "24K Magic" (WINNER)


    Chris Brown ft. Gucci Mane & Usher - "Party"


    DJ Khaled ft. Rihanna & Bryson Tiller - "Wild Thoughts"


    Solange ft. Sampha - "Don't Touch My Hair"


    WizKid ft. Drake - "Come Closer"

  • Best Collaboration

    DJ Khaled ft. Rihanna & Bryson Tiller - "Wild Thoughts" (WINNER)

    Jazmine Sullivan & Bryson Tiller - "Insecure"

    Mary J. Blige ft. Kanye West -" Love Yourself"

    Solange ft. Sampha - "Don't Touch My Hair Lyrics"

    SZA ft. Travis Scott - "Love Galore"