'BPM (Beats Per Minute),' 'Barbara' Top France's Lumiere Award Nominations

5:00 AM 12/11/2017

by Rhonda Richford

Oscar winners Michel Hazanavicius and Juliette Binoche also scored nominations.

'BPM (Beats Per Minute)'
'BPM (Beats Per Minute)'
Courtesy of The Orchard

Robin Campillo’s AIDS activist drama BPM (Beats Per Minute) leads the pack with six nominations for this year’s Lumiere Awards, with nods in the best film, best director and best acting categories, among others.

The film is France’s entry in the Oscar best foreign-language film category and took home the Grand Prize in Cannes earlier this year.

Mathieu Almaric’s Barbara, which was given a special award for artistry in the Un Certain Regard section in Cannes, and the comedy C’est la Vie, from Intouchables directors Olivier Nakache and Eric Toledano, each scored four nominations.

The three will compete in the best film category, alongside Albert Dupontel’s See You Up There, Alain Gomis’ Felicite, which won the Silver Bear in Berlin, and Arnaud des Pallieres’ drama Orphan.

Amalric, Campillo and Gomis will compete for best director, with Laurent Cantet for his Un Certain Regard entry The Workshop, Philippe Garrel for his Directors’ Fortnight entry Lover for a Day, and Oscar-winner Michel Hazanavicius for his Cannes entry, Jean-Luc Goddard biopic Redoubtable.

In the acting categories, French legends Juliette Binoche (Bright Sunshine In) and Charlotte Gainsbourg compete against Emmanuelle Devos (Number One) and Karin Viard (Jealous) as well as newcomer Hiam Abbass for In Syria.

Daniel Auteuil (Le Brio), Louis Garrel (Redoubtable) and Reda Kateb (Django) are in the running against Swann Arlaud for the Critics’ Week entry Bloody Milk, Jean-Pierre Bacri for C’est la Vie and Nahuel Perez Biscayart for BPM (Beats Per Minute).

In the documentary category, Cannes head Theirry Fremaux’s Lumiere! is up against Agnes Varda’s Cannes Golden Eye winner Faces Places and Critics’ Week Grand Prize winner Makala.

The Academy also unveiled a new trophy designed by French currency designer Joaquin Jiminez, featuring a film reel shaped as a flame to add prestige to the growing awards event.

The ceremony will be held in January, 2018.

A full list of nominees follows.