CFDA Fashion Awards 2017: Winners Include Calvin Klein's Raf Simons, Coach's Stuart Vevers, Gloria Steinem

7:16 PM 6/5/2017

by THR staff

The awards ceremony also honored Kenneth Cole, Rick Owens, Pat McGrath and more.

CFDA Fashion Awards Stage - Getty - H 2017
Getty Images

The Council of Fashion Designers of America held its annual CFDA Awards on Monday evening, celebrating the fashion industry's top designers. 

Hosted by Seth Meyers, the event was held at Manhattan Center's Hammerstein Ballroom in New York City. Nicole Kidman, Kerry Washington, Armie Hammer, Jon Bon Jovi, Karen Elson, Amber Valletta and Alek Wek were among the event's presenters.

Kenneth Cole was honored with the Swarovski Award for Positive Change for using his runways and advertisements as platforms to address social issues like homelessness and AIDS. "Thank you for choosing to recognize a socially-responsible business model," he told the crowd after being introduced by Jon Bon Jovi.

L.A.-to-Paris transplant Rick Owens received the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, introduced by his striking wife Michele Lamy who said he "designs what he believes in elegance and absolute sincerity." "Thank you for allowing me to feel heard," Owens said accepting his award.

Makeup artist Pat McGrath, who has worked with everyone from John Galliano to Marc Jacobs, was given the Founder's Award. Demna Gvasalia for Vetements and Balenciaga was honored with the International Award. "He's fun, respectful and present," said model Alek Wek, introducing Gvasalia, who thanked his grandmother, "This is for you, Nora."

The Fashion Icon Award (previous recipients have included Lady Gaga and Rihanna) was given posthumously to legendary Vogue Italia editor Franca Sozzani, who died in December. Keeping it in the family, the award was accepted by Sozzani's son, Francesco Sozzani, who is due to marry Wintour's daughter Bea Shaffer this summer.  

The Board of Directors' Tribute recognized Planned Parenthood president Cecile Richards, feminist icon Gloria Steinem and actress/singer Janelle Monae ("These women are my heroes," Monae said on the red carpet). In introducing them, Diane Von Furstenberg praised the trio for crystallizing support for the historic Women's March, noted Steinem's "contagious beliefs and power to seduce," and named Monae a "super entertainer."

Steinem thanked Michael Kors for designing her sequin flared pants before calling on the audience to look back to ancient civilization before gender pronouns and hierarchies for guidance in the contentious times. "The big majority knows well the Trump-like walls can't control poison air, rising oceans or hungry and desperate refugees," she said. "Now there is more activism than I have ever seen in my lifetime, thanks to all of you, who are woke...maybe we're about to be free."

Richards said she was "happy to accept the award for the 1 in 5 women who have been to Planned Parenthood for health care," and singled out designer Tracy Reese and others in the fashion industry audience who have been part of the resistance proving that "looking good and doing good go hand-in-hand."

See the complete list of the 2017 CFDA Fashion Award winners below. The names of the winners are shown in red.

  • Womenswear Designer of the Year Award

    Joseph Altuzarra for Altuzarra

    Marc Jacobs

    Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough for Proenza Schouler

    Raf Simons for Calvin Klein

    "To all the students I want to say something," Simons said onstage. "It’s our task to inspire and be an example for all the people and I think if we as creatives can be an inspiration for how the world should look, we should take it as an important task of our existence." 

    Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row


  • Menswear Designer of the Year Award

    Raf Simons for Calvin Klein

    "I came to America because America is inspiring to me," the Belgian designer said when accepting his award. He is the second designer to win both the Womenswear and Menswear Designer awards in the same year, after Calvin Klein himself in 1993. Simons has been with the brand less than a year and already has dressed Millie Bobby Brown, Nicole Kidman, Julianne Moore and the cast of 'Moonlight,' among others, for the red carpet.

    Robert Geller

    Thom Browne

    Tim Coppens

    Todd Snyder

  • Accessory Designer of the Year

    Stuart Vevers for Coach

    The Brit has been designing for the iconic American fashion house for 4 years.

    Irene Neuwirth

    Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel for Mansur Gavriel

    Paul Andrew

    Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row

  • Swarovski's Emerging Talent Award

    Laura Kim and Fernando Garcia for Monse

    Garcia, who with his partner Kim has dressed half of Hollywood, including Kerry Washington, Diane Kruger, Blake Lively and Ruth Negga, thanked Hollywood stylist Micaela Erlanger, among others. 

    Virgil Abloh of Off-White

    Laura Vassar Brock and Kristopher Brock for Brock Collection

    Sander Lak of Sies Marjan

    Gabriela Hearst