Chris Stapleton, Keith Urban, Miranda Lambert Lead CMA Nominations

10:00 AM 9/3/2018

by Annie Howard

Chris Stapleton leads this year's awards with five nominations.

Chris Stapleton
Chris Stapleton
AP Images

Chris Stapleton is the artist to beat for the 2018 Country Music Association Awards, leading the nomination field with five in the best single, best album, best song and best male vocalist categories. He also earned a nom in the awards' top category, entertainer of the year, along with country greats Jason Aldean, Luke Bryan, Kenny Chesney and Keith Urban.

Urban and Aldean scored three noms each along with Miranda Lambert and country duo Dan + Shay. Taylor Swift, who left the country world in recent years to focus on pop music, earned herself a mention in the best music video category for being featured on Sugarland's song "Babe."

Stapleton has previously won seven CMA Awards and seven ACM Awards, in addition to five Grammy Awards.

The 52nd Annual CMA Awards will air Wednesday, Nov. 14, at 8 p.m. ET from the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville on ABC. Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood (a double nominee this year) will host for the 11th straight year.

The full list of nominees follows.

  • Entertainer of the Year

    Keith Urban
    Keith Urban
    John Shearer/Getty Images

    Keith Urban (WINNER)

    Jason Aldean

    Luke Bryan

    Kenny Chesney

    Chris Stapleton

  • Single of the Year

    Award goes to Artist, Producer(s), and Mix Engineer(s)

    Chris Stapleton
    Chris Stapleton
    Kevin Winter/Getty Images

    "Broken Halos" – Chris Stapleton (WINNER)
    Producers: Dave Cobb, Chris Stapleton
Mix Engineer: Vance Powell

    "Drinkin' Problem" – Midland
    Producers: Dann Huff, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne
Mix Engineer: Justin Niebank

    "Drowns the Whiskey" – Jason Aldean (Feat. Miranda Lambert)
    Producer: Michael Knox

    Mix Engineer: Jeff Braun

    "Meant to Be" – Bebe Rexha & Florida Georgia Line
    Producer: Willshire

    Mix Engineer: Serban Ghenea

    "Tequila" – Dan + Shay
    Producers: Scott Hendricks, Dan Smyers
Mix Engineer: Jeff Juliano

  • Album of the Year

    Award goes to Artist and Producer(s)

    Kacey Musgraves
    Kacey Musgraves
    John Shearer/WireImage

    "Golden Hour" – Kacey Musgraves (WINNER)
    Producers: Ian Fitchuk, Daniel Tashian, Kacey Musgraves

    "From A Room: Volume 2" – Chris Stapleton
    Producers: Dave Cobb, Chris Stapleton

    "Graffiti U" – Keith Urban
    Producers: Keith Urban, Dan McCarroll, J.R. Rotem, Josh Kerr, Jason Evigan, Greg Wells, Benny Blanco, Ed Sheeran, Johnny McDaid, Jesse Shatkin, Jimmy Robbins, Oscar Holter, Matt Rad, Eric Valentine, Ian Kirkpatrick, Mike Elizondo, Captain Cuts, Ross Copperman, Dann Huff, Peter Karlsson

    "Life Changes" – Thomas Rhett
    Producers: Julian Bunetta, Jesse Frasure, Dann Huff, Joe London, Thomas Rhett

    "The Mountain" – Dierks Bentley
    Producers: Ross Copperman, Jon Randall Stewart, Arturo Buenahora Jr.

  • Song of the Year

    Award goes to Songwriter(s)

    Chris Stapleton
    Chris Stapleton
    Jason Kempin/WireImage

    "Broken Halos" (WINNER)
    Songwriters: Mike Henderson, Chris Stapleton

    "Body Like A Back Road"
    Songwriters: Zach Crowell, Sam Hunt, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne

    "Drowns the Whiskey"
    Songwriter: Brandon Kinney, Jeff Middleton, Josh Thompson

    "Drunk Girl"
    Songwriter: Scooter Carusoe, Tom Douglas, Chris Janson

    Songwriter: Nicolle Galyon, Jordan Reynolds, Dan Smyers

  • Female Vocalist of the Year

    Frederick M. Brown/Getty Images

    Carrie Underwood (WINNER)

    Kelsea Ballerini

    Miranda Lambert

    Maren Morris

    Kacey Musgraves

  • Male Vocalist of the Year

    Chris Stapleton
    Chris Stapleton
    AP Images

    Chris Stapleton (WINNER)

    Dierks Bentley

    Luke Combs

    Thomas Rhett

    Keith Urban

  • Vocal Group of the Year

    Old Dominion
    Old Dominion
    Getty Images

    Old Dominion (WINNER)

    Lady Antebellum


    Little Big Town


  • Vocal Duo of the Year

    Brothers Osborne
    Brothers Osborne
    Getty Images

    Brothers Osborne (WINNER)

    Dan + Shay

    Florida Georgia Line

    Maddie & Tae


  • Musical Event of the Year

    Award goes to each artist

    David Lee Murphy
    David Lee Murphy
    Jason Kempin/Getty Images

    "Everything’s Gonna Be Alright" – David Lee Murphy (with Kenny Chesney) (WINNER)

    "Burning Man" – Dierks Bentley Feat. Brothers Osborne

    "Dear Hate" – Maren Morris (Feat. Vince Gill)

    "Drowns the Whiskey" – Jason Aldean (Feat. Miranda Lambert)

    "Meant to Be" – Bebe Rexha & Florida Georgia Line

  • Musician of the Year

    Mac McAnally
    Mac McAnally
    Getty Images

    Mac McAnally, Guitar (WINNER)

    Jerry Douglas, Dobro

    Paul Franklin, Steel Guitar

    Dann Huff, Guitar

    Derek Wells, Guitar

  • Music Video of the Year

    Thomas Rhett
    Thomas Rhett
    David Becker/Getty Images

    "Marry Me" – Thomas Rhett (WINNER)
    Director: TK McKamy

    "Babe" – Sugarland (Featuring Taylor Swift)
    Director: Anthony Mandler

    "Cry Pretty" – Carrie Underwood
    Director: Randee St. Nicholas

    "Drunk Girl" – Chris Janson
    Director: Jeff Venable

    "Tequila" – Dan + Shay
    Director: Patrick Tracy

  • New Artist of the Year

    Luke Combs
    Luke Combs
    Terry Wyatt/FilmMagic

    Luke Combs (WINNER)

    Lauren Alaina

    Chris Janson


    Brett Young