Costume Designers Guild Awards: 'Blade Runner 2049,' 'Handmaid's Tale' Among Nominees

7:04 AM 1/10/2018

by Sam Reed

The awards will take place on Feb. 20 in Los Angeles.

Warner Bros./Photofest

The nominees for the 2018 Costume Designers Guild Awards are here. 

Among the nominees are Arianne Phillips — who was asked by Reese Witherspoon to design the ubiquitous Time's Up pin spotted all over last weekend's Golden Globes red carpet —  and Ane Crabtree, whose red cloaks and white bonnets from Hulu's The Handmaid's Tale inspired uniforms for women protesting on behalf of women's rights across the country last year.

Other nominees include Renée April, costume designer for the visual feast that is Blade Runner 2049, and Lou Eyrich, who recreated the fabulous '50s wardrobes for Susan Sarandon and Jessica Lange on Feud: Bette and Joan

The costume designers behind some of awards season's buzziest flicks, including Lady Bird (April Napier), Three Billboards Outside of Ebbing, Missouri (Melissa Toth) and The Shape of Water (Luis Sequeira) were also recognized.


“I would like to congratulate all of the nominees of the 2018 Costume Designers Guild Awards," said CDG president (and The Mindy Project costume designer) Salvador Perez. "As we commemorate the 20th year of the CDGA, we are so proud of the legacy Costume Designers have created for the Film and Television industry."

The ceremony will take place on Feb. 20 a the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles. Honorees receiving recognition for Career Achievement, Distinguished Collaborator, Distinguished Service, and Spotlight will be unveiled in the weeks leading up to the awards. 

See all the nominees below: