Costume Designers Guild Awards: 'Blade Runner 2049,' 'Handmaid's Tale' Among Nominees

7:04 AM 1/10/2018

by Sam Reed

The awards will take place on Feb. 20 in Los Angeles.

Blade Runner Ryan - Photofest - H 2017
Warner Bros./Photofest

The nominees for the 2018 Costume Designers Guild Awards are here. 

Among the nominees are Arianne Phillips — who was asked by Reese Witherspoon to design the ubiquitous Time's Up pin spotted all over last weekend's Golden Globes red carpet —  and Ane Crabtree, whose red cloaks and white bonnets from Hulu's The Handmaid's Tale inspired uniforms for women protesting on behalf of women's rights across the country last year.

Other nominees include Renée April, costume designer for the visual feast that is Blade Runner 2049, and Lou Eyrich, who recreated the fabulous '50s wardrobes for Susan Sarandon and Jessica Lange on Feud: Bette and Joan

The costume designers behind some of awards season's buzziest flicks, including Lady Bird (April Napier), Three Billboards Outside of Ebbing, Missouri (Melissa Toth) and The Shape of Water (Luis Sequeira) were also recognized.

“I would like to congratulate all of the nominees of the 2018 Costume Designers Guild Awards," said CDG president (and The Mindy Project costume designer) Salvador Perez. "As we commemorate the 20th year of the CDGA, we are so proud of the legacy Costume Designers have created for the Film and Television industry."

The ceremony will take place on Feb. 20 a the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles. Honorees receiving recognition for Career Achievement, Distinguished Collaborator, Distinguished Service, and Spotlight will be unveiled in the weeks leading up to the awards. 

See all the nominees below:

  • Excellence in Contemporary Film

    I, Tonya – Jennifer Johnson (WINNER)

    Get Out – Nadine Haders

    Kingsman: The Golden Circle – Arianne Phillips

    Lady Bird – April Napier

    Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri – Melissa Toth

  • Excellence in Period Film

    The Shape of Water – Luis Sequeira  (WINNER)

    Phantom Thread – Mark Bridges

    Dunkirk – Jeffrey Kurland

    Murder on the Orient Express – Alexandra Byrne

    The Greatest Showman – Ellen Mirojnic

  • Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Film

    Wonder Woman – Lindy Hemming (WINNER)

    Beauty and the Beast – Jacqueline Durran

    Blade Runner 2049 – Renee April

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi – Michael Kaplan

    Thor: Ragnarok – Mayes C. Rubeo

  • Excellence in Contemporary Television

    The Handmaid's Tale – Ane Crabtree (WINNER)

    American Horror Story: Cult – Sarah Evelyn Bram

    Big Little Lies – Alix Friedberg

    Grace and Frankie – Allyson B. Fanger

    The Young Pope – Luca Canfora, Carlo Poggioli

  • Excellence in Period Television

    The Crown – Jane Petrie (WINNER)

    Feud: Bette and Joan – Lou Eyrich

    Glow – Beth Morgan

    The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel – Donna Zakowska

    Stranger Things – Kim Wilcox 

  • Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Television

    Game of Thrones – Michele Clapton (WINNER)

    Black Mirror: "USS Callister" – Maja Meschede

    Once Upon a Time – Eduardo Castro, Dan Lester

    Sleepy Hollow – Mairi Chisholm

    Star Trek: Discovery – Gersha Phillips 

  • Excellence in Short Form Design

    P!NK: "Beautiful Trauma," Music Video – Kim Bowen (WINNER)

    Assassin’s Creed: "I Am," Commercial – Patrik Milani

    Elton John, featuring Marilyn Manson: "Tiny Dancer," Music Video – Sara Sensoy, Dawn Ritz

    Katy Perry: "Chained to the Rhythm," Music Video – B. Akerlund

    Miu Miu Women’s Tales #14: The End of History Illusion, Short Film – Mindy Le Brock