Costume Designers Guild Awards: 'Mary Poppins Returns,' 'The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel' Among Nominees

6:00 AM 1/10/2019

by Ingrid Schmidt

The 21st annual CDGA ceremony is set to take place Feb. 19 in Los Angeles.

Mary Poppins Returns-Publicity Still 3-H 2018
Courtesy of Disney

Nominations for the 21st annual Costume Designers Guild Awards (CDGA) have been announced.

Among the nominees are Ruth E. Carter, who designed the Afrofuturistic costumes for the fictional world of Wakanda in Ryan Coogler’s blockbuster film Black Panther; the Oscar- and Emmy-nominated costume designer will additionally be honored with a career achievement award at next month’s event.

Costume designer Sandy Powell is a double nominee for The Favourite, set in the 18th-century court of Queen Anne, and the vibrant live-action musical Mary Poppin Returns. Powell created 448 original costumes for the latter film, set in 1930s-era London, including hand-painted trompe l’oeil looks for the partially animated scenes.

The costume designers behind several 2019 Golden Globes winners — the films A Star Is Born (Erin Benach) and Bohemian Rhapsody (Julian Day), the FX television series The Assassination of Gianni Versace: American Crime Story (Lou Eyrich and Allison Leach) and Amazon's fun 1950s comedy The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel (Donna Zakowska) — were also recognized.

"I would like to congratulate all of the nominees of the 2019 Costume Designers Guild Awards," CDG president (and The Mindy Project costume designer) Salvador Perez said Thursday in a statement. “This year, we are especially thrilled to include the nominees for our brand-new Variety, Reality-Competition, Live Television category.“

Nominees in that new eighth category include Jesus Christ Superstar Live in Concert (Paul Tazewell) — in which Jesus (John Legend) dons Balmain jeans — and The Late Late Show With James Corden (Lauren Shapiro).

The awards ceremony is set to take place Tuesday, Feb. 19, at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles. It was previously announced that screenwriter, director and producer Ryan Murphy will be honored with the Distinguished Collaborator Award. The evening’s host and honorees receiving recognition for Distinguished Service and Spotlight will be unveiled in coming weeks.

See a list of all the nominees, below.

  • Excellence in Contemporary Film

    A Star Is Born – Erin Benach
    Crazy Rich Asians – Mary E. Vogt (WINNER)
    Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again – Michele Clapton
    Ocean's 8 – Sarah Edwards
    Widows – Jenny Eagan

  • Excellence in Period Film

    BlacKkKlansman – Marci Rodgers
    Bohemian Rhapsody – Julian Day
    The Favourite – Sandy Powell (WINNER)
    Mary Poppins Returns – Sandy Powell
    Mary Queen of Scots – Alexandra Byrne

  • Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Film

    A Wrinkle in Time – Paco Delgado
    Aquaman – Kym Barrett
    The Avengers: Infinity War – Judianna Makovsky
    Black Panther – Ruth E. Carter (WINNER)
    The Nutcracker and the Four Realms Jenny Beavan

  • Excellence in Contemporary Television

    The Assassination of Gianni Versace: American Crime Story – Lou Eyrich & Allison Leach (WINNER)
    Grace and Frankie – Allyson B. Fanger
    The Romanoffs – Janie Bryant & Wendy Chuck
    Sharp Objects – Alix Friedberg
    This Is Us – Hala Bahmet

  • Excellence in Period Television

    The Alienist – Michael Kaplan
    GLOW – Beth Morgan
    The Man in the High Castle – Catherine Adair
    The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel – Donna Zakowska (WINNER)
    Outlander – Nina Ayres & Terry Dresbach

  • Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Television

    American Horror Story: Apocalypse – Paula Bradley & Lou Eyrich
    The Handmaid's Tale – Ane Crabtree
    Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events – Cynthia Summers
    Star Trek: Discovery – Gersha Phillips
    Westworld – Sharen Davis (WINNER)

  • Excellence in Short Form Design

    Adidas: "See My Creativity," commercial – Bonnie Stauch
    Childish Gambino: "This Is America," music video – Natasha Newman-Thomas (WINNER)
    Elton John: "Farewell Yellow Brick Road: The Legacy," short film – Charlie Altuna
    Justin Timberlake: "Supplies," Directed by Dave Myers, music video – Ami Goodheart
    Nespresso: "The Quest," commercial – Jenny Eagan

  • Excellence in Variety, Reality-Competition, Live Television

    Jesus Christ Superstar Live in Concert – Paul Tazewell
    The Late Late Show with James Corden – Lauren Shapiro
    RuPaul’s Drag Race – Zaldy Goco (WINNER)
    Saturday Night Live – Tom Broecker & Eric Justian
    So You Think You Can Dance – Marina Toybina