2017 Costume Designers Guild Award Winners: The Complete List

9:58 PM 2/21/2017

by Carolyn Giardina

'La La Land,' 'American Horror Story' and 'Hidden Figures' took home honors Tuesday night.

Best Picture
Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation

Hidden Figures (20th Century Fox) is nominated for best picture. Donna Gigliotti, Peter Chernin, Jenno Topping, Pharrell Williams and Theodore Melfi are producers of the film. This is the fourth nomination in this category for Donna Gigliotti, who won for Shakespeare in Love (1998). Her other best picture nominations were for The Reader (2008) and Silver Linings Playbook (2012).

La La Land, Doctor Strange and Hidden Figures in film, as well as American Horror Story, Game of Thrones and The Crown in the TV categories took home honors at the Costume Designers Guild Awards, which were handed out Feb. 21 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in a ceremony hosted by Mandy Moore. 

As previously announced, Meryl Streep received the Distinguished Collaborator Award. Lily Collins was honored with the LACOSTE Spotlight Award, costume designer Jeffrey Kurland was honored with this year’s Career Achievement Award, illustrator Lois DeArmond was honored with the Distinguished Service Award and costume designer Ret Turner was posthumously inducted into the Guild’s Hall of Fame.

During the past 10 years, the winner of one of the CDG Awards categories went on to win the Oscar for costume design. Four times it went to the winner of the period film category, and twice the Oscar was awarded to the fantasy film winner.

The complete list of winners is below. 

  • Excellence in Contemporary Film

    La La Land – Mary Zophres (WINNER)

    Absolutely Fabulous: The Movie – Rebecca Hale

    Captain Fantastic – Courtney Hoffman

    LionCappi Ireland

    Nocturnal AnimalsArianne Phillips

  • Excellence in Period Film

    Hidden Figures – Renee Ehrlich Kalfus (WINNER)

    The Dressmaker – Marion Boyce, Margot Wilson

    Florence Foster JenkinsConsolata Boyle

    Hail, Caesar! – Mary Zophres

    Jackie – Madeline Fontaine

  • Excellence in Fantasy Film

    Doctor Strange – Alexandra Byrne (WINNER)

    Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – Colleen Atwood

    Kubo and the Two Strings – Deborah Cook

    Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – Colleen Atwood

    Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – David Crossman, Glyn Dillion

  • Outstanding Contemporary Television Series

    American Horror Story: Roanoke – Lou Eyrich, Helen Huang (WINNER)

    Empire – Paolo Nieddu

    Grace & Frankie – Allyson B. Fanger

    House of Cards – Johanna Argan, Kemal Harris

    Transparent – Marie Schley

  • Outstanding Period Television Series

    The Crown – Michele Clapton (WINNER)

    Penny Dreadful – Gabriella Pescucci

    Stranger Things, Series – Kimberly Adams, Malgosia Turzanska

    Westworld, Pilot – Trish Summerville

    Westworld, Series Ane Crabtree

  • Outstanding Fantasy Television Series

    Game of Thrones – Michele Clapton, April Ferry (WINNER)

    The Man in the High Castle – J.R. Hawbaker

    Once Upon a Time – Eduardo Castro

    Sleepy HollowMairi Chisholm

    The Walking Dead Eulyn C. Womble

  • Excellence in Short Form Design

    Pepsi: “Momotaro” Episode Four, featuring Jude Law — Ami Goodheart (WINNER)

    Beyonce: “Hold Up” – B. Akerlund

    Dos Equis: “The Most Interesting Man in the World - Mission to Mars” – Julie Vogel

    Dos Equis: “The New Most Interesting Man in the World Traverses the Sand and the Serengeti” – Liz Botes

    H&M: “Come Together” featuring Adrien Brody, directed by Wes Anderson – Milena Canonero