Emmy Awards: The Complete Winners List

2:10 PM 9/20/2020

by THR Staff

'Schitt's Creek' picked up 7 wins while 'Succession' and 'Watchmen' nabbed four honors.


At the 72nd Primetime Emmy Awards, Pop TV's Schitt's Creek swept the comedy series categories, with 7 wins, including best series. Catherine O'Hara won for actress in a comedy series, Eugene Levy claimed the actor win in the same category, Annie Murphy won for supporting actress, while Daniel Levy took home honors for supporting actor in a comedy series as well as honors for writing and directing in a comedy series, with Andrew Cividino.

Meanwhile, HBO's Succession picked up four wins, including best drama series. Jeremy Strong won in the actor category, Jesse Armstrong won for writing and Andrij Parekh won for directing the drama. HBO's Watchmen also picked up four honors, including best limited series. Regina King won for actress in a limited series, Yahya Abdul-Mateen II won supporting actor, while Damon Lindelof and Cord Jefferson won for writing for a limited series.

Jimmy Kimmel emceed the Emmys from the Staples Center, which were produced remotely due to the coronavirus pandemic. During the 2020 Emmy Awards, Tyler Perry and the Perry Foundation received the 2020 Governors Award "in recognition of their unparalleled contributions to shaping the television medium."

The Creative Arts Emmys were handed out over five nights last week. Click here for a full list of those winners. The full list of winners at the Primetime Emmy Awards is below. Keep up with all the latest Emmys news here.

HBO Stuns Record-Setter Netflix to Lead WinnersEmmys Set a Record for Most Wins by Black Actors I What Schitt's Creek, Succession and Zendaya Wins Say About Emmy Voters

  • Best Drama Series

    Succession (HBO) (WINNER)
    Better Call Saul 
    (AMC) The Crown (Netflix)
    The Handmaid's Tale (Hulu)
    Killing Eve (BBC America)
    The Mandalorian (Disney+)
    Ozark (Netflix)
    Stranger Things (Netflix)

  • Best Supporting Actress in a Drama Series

    Julia Garner (Ozark) (WINNER)
    Laura Dern (Big Little Lies)
    Meryl Streep (Big Little Lies)
    Helena Bonham Carter (The Crown)
    Samira Wiley (The Handmaid's Tale)
    Fiona Shaw (Killing Eve)
    Sarah Snook (Succession)
    Thandie Newton (Westworld)

  • Best Actress in a Drama Series

    Zendaya (Euphoria) (WINNER)
    Jennifer Aniston (The Morning Show)
    Olivia Colman (The Crown)
    Jodie Comer (Killing Eve)
    Laura Linney (Ozark)
    Sandra Oh (Killing Eve)

  • Best Actor in a Drama Series

    Jeremy Strong (Succession) (WINNER)
    Jason Bateman (Ozark)
    Sterling K. Brown (This Is Us)
    Steve Carell (The Morning Show)
    Brian Cox (Succession)
    Billy Porter (Pose)

  • Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series

    Annie Murphy (Schitt's Creek) (WINNER)
    Betty Gilpin (GLOW)
    D'Arcy Carden (The Good Place)
    Yvonne Orji (Insecure)
    Alex Borstein (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel)
    Marin Hinkle (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel)
    Kate McKinnon (Saturday Night Live)
    Cecily Strong (Saturday Night Live)

  • Best Supporting Actor in a Drama Series

    Billy Crudup (The Morning Show) (WINNER)
    Giancarlo Esposito (Better Call Saul)
    Bradley Whitford (The Handmaid's Tale)
    Mark Duplass (The Morning Show)
    Nicholas Braun (Succession)
    Kieran Culkin (Succession)
    Matthew Macfadyen (Succession)
    Jeffrey Wright (Westworld)

  • Best Writing for a Drama Series

    Jesse Armstrong (Succession) (WINNER)
    Thomas Schnauz (Better Call Saul)
    Gordon Smith (Better Call Saul)
    Peter Morgan (The Crown)
    Chris Mundy (Ozark)
    John Shiban (Ozark)
    Miki Johnson (Ozark)

  • Best Directing for a Drama Series

    Andrij Parekh (Succession) (WINNER)
    Benjamin Caron (The Crown
    Jessica Hobbs (The Crown)
    Lesli Linka Glatter (Homeland
    Mimi Leder (The Morning Show)
    Alik Sakharov (Ozark)
    Ben Semanoff (Ozark
    Mark Mylod (Succession)

  • Best Comedy Series

    Schitt's Creek (Pop) (WINNER)
    Curb Your Enthusiasm
     (HBO) Dead to Me (Netflix)
    The Good Place (NBC)
    Insecure (HBO)
    The Kominsky Method (Netflix)
    The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel (Amazon)
    What We Do in the Shadows (FX)

  • Best Actress in a Comedy Series

    Catherine O'Hara (Schitt's Creek) (WINNER)
    Christina Applegate (Dead to Me)
    Rachel Brosnahan (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel)
    Linda Cardellini (Dead to Me)
    Issa Rae (Insecure)
    Tracee Ellis Ross (Black-ish)

  • Best Actor in a Comedy Series

    Eugene Levy (Schitt's Creek) (WINNER)
    Anthony Anderson (Black-ish)
    Don Cheadle (Black Monday)
    Ted Danson (The Good Place)
    Michael Douglas (The Kominsky Method)
    Ramy Youssef (Ramy)

  • Best Directing for a Comedy Series

    Andrew Cividino and Daniel Levy (Schitt's Creek) (WINNER)
    Matt Shakman (The Great)
    Amy Sherman-Palladino (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel)
    Daniel Palladino (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel)
    Gail Mancuso (Modern Family
    Ramy Youssef (Ramy)
    James Burrows (Will & Grace)

  • Best Writing for a Comedy Series

    Daniel Levy (Schitt's Creek) (WINNER)
    Michael Schur (The Good Place)
    Tony McNamara (The Great)
    David West Read (Schitt's Creek)
    Sam Johnson and Chris Marcil (What We Do in the Shadows)
    Paul Simms (What We Do in the Shadows
    Stefani Robinson (What We Do in the Shadows)

  • Best Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series

    Daniel Levy (Schitt's Creek) (WINNER)
    Andre Braugher (Brooklyn Nine-Nine)
    William Jackson Harper (The Good Place)
    Alan Arkin (The Kominsky Method)
    Sterling K. Brown (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel)
    Tony Shalhoub (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel)
    Mahershala Ali (Ramy)
    Kenan Thompson (Saturday Night Live)

  • Best Limited Series

    Watchmen (HBO) (WINNER)
    Little Fires Everywhere (
    Mrs. America (FX on Hulu)
    Unbelievable (Netflix)
    Unorthodox (Netflix)

  • Best Actress in a Limited Series Or Movie

    Regina King (Watchmen) (WINNER)
    Cate Blanchett (Mrs. America)
    Shira Haas (Unorthodox)
    Octavia Spencer (Self Made)
    Kerry Washington (Little Fires Everywhere)

  • Best Actor in a Limited Series Or Movie

    Mark Ruffalo (I Know This Much Is True) (WINNER)
    Jeremy Irons (Watchmen)
    Hugh Jackman (Bad Education)
    Paul Mescal (Normal People)
    Jeremy Pope (Hollywood)

  • Best Supporting Actor in a Limited Series or Movie

    Yahya Abdul-Mateen II (Watchmen) (WINNER)
    Dylan McDermott (Hollywood)
    Jim Parsons (Hollywood)
    Tituss Burgess (Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt: Kimmy vs. The Reverend)
    Jovan Adepo (Watchmen)
    Louis Gossett Jr. (Watchmen)

  • Best Supporting Actress in a Limited Series or Movie

    Uzo Aduba (Mrs. America) (WINNER)
    Holland Taylor (Hollywood)
    Margo Martindale (Mrs. America)
    Tracey Ullman (Mrs. America)
    Toni Collette (Unbelievable)
    Jean Smart (Watchmen)

  • Best Directing for a Limited Series, Movie or Dramatic Special

    Maria Schrader (Unorthodox) (WINNER)
    Lynn Shelton (Little Fires Everywhere)
    Lenny Abrahamson (Normal People)
    Nicole Kassell (Watchmen)
    Steph Green (Watchmen)
    Stephen Williams (Watchmen)

  • Best Writing for a Limited Series Movie or Dramatic Special

    Damon Lindelof and Cord Jefferson (Watchmen) (WINNER)
    Tanya Barfield (Mrs. America)
    Sally Rooney and Alice Birch (Normal People)
    Susannah Grant, Michael Chabon and Ayelet Waldman (Unbelievable)
    Anna Winger (Unorthodox)

  • Best Variety Talk Series

    Last Week Tonight With John Oliver (HBO) (WINNER)
    The Daily Show With Trevor Noah
     (Comedy Central)
    Full Frontal With Samantha Bee (TBS)
    Jimmy Kimmel Live! (ABC)
    The Late Show With Stephen Colbert (CBS)

  • Best Competition Program

    RuPaul's Drag Race (WINNER)
    The Masked Singer
    Nailed It
    Top Chef
    The Voice