ESPY Awards: The Complete Winners List

5:05 PM 7/13/2016

by Kimberly Nordyke

The fan-voted awards show was hosted by WWE star and actor John Cena.

John Cena ESPYs Onstage 2 - Getty - H 2016
Getty Images

John Cena ESPYs Onstage 2 - Getty - H 2016

LeBron James and Stephen Curry faced off once again this summer.

The pro-basketball stars — James' Cleveland Cavaliers beat Curry's Golden State Warriors in the NBA Finals last month to take the team's first-ever championship — were both vying at the ESPY Awards on Wednesday night in two of the same categories: best male athlete and best NBA player. (James won both.)

The 2016 ESPYs, voted on by fans, were hosted by WWE star and actor John Cena and aired live on ABC at 8 p.m. ET (delayed PT) from Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles. 

Also honored at the ceremony were Zaevion Dobson, a 15-year-old Tennessee high school football star who was shot to death while shielding three girls from bullets in December 2015, with the Arthur Ashe Courage Award, and TNT's NBA sideline reporter Craig Sager, who has been battling cancer for two years and was honored with the Jimmy V Perseverance Award.

The Pat Tillman Award for Service went to Sgt. Elizabeth Marks, who suffered a debilitating injury to both of her hips while deployed as a U.S. Army combat medic in Iraq. After undergoing several surgeries, she is now the No. 1-ranked Paraswimmer in the world in the 100-meter breaststroke and won four gold medals at this year’s Invictus Games.

Retired athletes Kobe Bryant, Peyton Manning and Abby Wambach took home the Icon Award, while the show also featured a tribute to the late Muhammad Ali.

  • Best Male Athlete

    LeBron James (WINNER)
    Stephen Curry
    Cam Newton
    Bryce Harper

  • Best Female Athlete

    Breanna Stewart (WINNER)
    Elena Delle Donne
    Katie Ledecky
    Simone Biles

  • Best Championship Performance

    LeBron James, NBA Finals (WINNER)
    Von Miller, Super Bowl
    Carli Lloyd, World Cup Final
    Sidney Crosby, Stanley Cup Playoffs

  • Best Breakthrough Athlete

    Jake Arrieta (WINNER) 
    Conor McGregor
    Chloe Kim
    Karl-Anthony Towns

  • Best Record-Breaking Performance

    Stephen Curry - single season three-pointers made (WINNER)
    Geno Auriemma - most NCAA basketball titles in D1 history (11)
    Christian McCaffery - single season NCAAF all-purpose yards

  • Best Upset

    Holly Holm knocks out Ronda Rousey, UFC (WINNER)
    Middle Tennessee over Michigan State, Men’s NCAA Basketball Tournament
    Roberta Vinci over Serena Williams, US Open

  • Best Game

    Golden State Warriors vs. Cleveland Cavaliers, NBA Finals Game 7 (WINNER)
    Villanova vs. North Carolina, Men’s NCAA Basketball Final
    Arizona Cardinals vs. Green Bay Packers, NFL Divisional Round

  • Best Moment (Not to Be Voted On)

    Cleveland wins first title in over 50 years (WINNER)

  • Best Comeback Athlete (Not to Be Voted On)

    Eric Berry (WINNER)

  • Best Play (16 Nominees Voted Bracket-Style)

    1. Aaron Rodgers Hail Mary vs. 16. Crazy 66-yard Ole Miss’ TD (WINNER)
    2. Kris Jenkins buzzer beater vs. 15. Connor McDavid goal
    3. Michigan St punt block TD vs. 14. Stanford trick play w/ circus catch
    4. LeBron Game 7 block vs. 13. Louis Oosthuizen hole-in-one off of ball
    5. Steph Curry 38-foot game-winner vs. 12. Army softball player leaps over tag
    6. Holly Holm knockout of Ronda Rousey vs. 11. Bartolo Colon first home run
    7. Tiffany Howard HR robbery WCWS vs. 10. Josh Donaldson diving into stands
    8. Jairo Samerio scores on scissor-kick ground vs. 9. Dele Alli juggling goal for Tottenham

  • Best Team

    Cleveland Cavaliers (WINNER)
    Pittsburgh Penguins
    Kansas City Royals
    Denver Broncos
    Alabama Crimson Tide
    UConn Huskies
    Villanova Wildcats

  • Best Coach/Manager

    Tyronn Lue, Cleveland Cavaliers (WINNER)
    Ned Yost, Kansas City Royals
    Geno Auriemma, UConn Huskies
    Jay Wright, Villanova Wildcats
    Nick Saban, Alabama Crimson Tide

  • Best International Athlete

    Cristiano Ronaldo (WINNER)
    Novak Djokovic
    Lydia Ko
    Luis Suarez
    Canelo Alvarez

  • Best NFL Player

    Cam Newton (WINNER)
    Tom Brady
    JJ Watt
    Antonio Brown
    Julio Jones

  • Best MLB Player

    Bryce Harper (WINNER)
    Josh Donaldson
    Jake Arrieta
    Mike Trout
    Clayton Kershaw

  • Best NHL Player

    Sidney Crosby (WINNER)
    Patrick Kane
    Alex Ovechkin
    Joe Pavelski
    Braden Holtby

  • Best Driver

    Kyle Busch (WINNER)
    Lewis Hamilton
    Erica Enders-Stevens
    Scott Dixon
    Alexander Rossi

  • Best NBA Player

    LeBron James (WINNER)
    Stephen Curry
    Kawhi Leonard
    Kevin Durant
    Russell Westbrook

  • Best WNBA Player

    Maya Moore (WINNER)
    Elena Delle Donne
    Angel McCoughtry
    Tina Charles
    DeWanna Bonner

  • Best Fighter

    Conor McGregor (WINNER)
    Gennady Golovkin
    Canelo Alvarez
    Robbie Lawler
    Roman Gonzalez

  • Best Male Golfer

    Jordan Spieth (WINNER)
    Jason Day
    Dustin Johnson
    Danny Willett

  • Best Female Golfer

    Lydia Ko (WINNER)
    Inbee Park
    Brooke Henderson
    Ariya Jutanugarn

  • Best Male Tennis Player

    Novak Djokovic (WINNER)
    Andy Murray
    Roger Federer

  • Best Female Tennis Player

    Serena Williams (WINNER)
    Angelique Kerber
    Flavia Pennetta
    Garbine Muguruza

  • Best Male College Athlete

    Buddy Hield (WINNER)
    Derrick Henry
    Jordan Morris
    Jarrion Lawson
    Alex Dieringer

  • Best Female College Athlete

    Breanna Stewart (WINNER)
    Raquel Rodriguez
    Samantha Bricio
    Taylor Cummings
    Sierra Romero

  • Best Male Action Sports Athlete

    Ryan Dungey (WINNER)
    Gus Kenworthy
    Nyjah Huston
    Pedro Barros
    Mark McMorris

  • Best Female Action Sports Athlete

    Jamie Anderson (WINNER)
    Chloe Kim
    Keala Kennelly
    Carissa Moore

  • Best Jockey

    Mario Gutierrez (WINNER)
    Kent Desormeaux
    Javier Castellano
    Irad Ortiz Jr.

  • Best Male Athlete With a Disability

    Richard Browne (WINNER)
    Joe Berenyi
    Aaron Fotheringham
    Nikko Landeros
    Brad Snyder

  • Best Female Athlete With a Disability

    Tatyana McFadden (WINNER)
    Heather Erickson
    Oksana Masters
    Bethany Hamilton
    Shawn Morelli

  • Best Bowler

    Jason Belmonte (WINNER)
    Jesper Svensson
    Ryan Ciminelli
    Anthony Simonsen

  • Best MLS Player

    Sebastian Giovinco (WINNER)
    Kei Kamara
    Laurent Ciman
    Luis Robles