Gotham Awards: The Complete Winners List

5:27 PM 11/28/2016

by THR staff

'Moonlight' won big at the awards show on Monday night.

Moonlight still -Screen shot-H 2016
Courtesy of A24

Moonlight topped the 2016 Gotham Independent Film Awards, which were handed out Monday night in Manhattan.

Keegan-Michael Key hosted the ceremony that's seen as the start of Oscar season.

Moonlight, directed by Barry Jenkins, about a young black boy coming to terms with his sexuality, won four awards, including the audience prize and a special jury award for its ensemble cast. Other noteworthy winners included O.J.: Made in America (best documentary), Elle's Isabelle Huppert (best actress) and Manchester by the Sea's Casey Affleck (best actor).

Manchester by the Sea went into the night with a leading leading four nominations (excluding the audience award nomination), including one for best feature, where it faced off against Certain Women, Everybody Wants Some, Moonlight and Paterson.

For the second year in a row the Gotham Awards also handed out two awards for breakthrough TV and web series, with The CW's Crazy Ex-Girlfriend winning the TV award.

In addition to the competitive awards, previously announced tributes also were given to actors Amy Adams and Ethan Hawke, director Oliver Stone and industry tribute recipient, producer and New Regency founder and chairman Arnon Milchan. The New York City Mayor's Office of Media and Entertainment also received a special appreciation award, celebrating the 50th anniversary of New York City's Office of Film, Theatre and Broadcasting. NYC film commissioner Julie Menin and deputy mayor Alicia Glen accepted the honor and then presented two "Made in NY" awards to Aziz Ansari (Master of None) and Judith Light (Transparent).

  • Best Feature

    Moonlight ***WINNER
    Barry Jenkins, director; Adele RomanskiDede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, producers (A24)

    Certain Women
    Kelly Reichardt, director; Neil Kopp, Vincent Savino, Anish Savjani, producers (IFC Films)

    Everybody Wants Some
    Richard Linklater, director; Megan Ellison, Ginger Sledge, Richard Linklater, producers (Paramount Pictures)

    Manchester by the Sea
    Kenneth Lonergan, director; Kimberly Steward, Matt Damon, Chris Moore, Lauren Beck, Kevin J. Walsh, producers (Amazon Studios)

    Jim Jarmusch, director; Joshua Astrachan, Carter Logan, producers (Amazon Studios)

  • Best Actor*

    Casey Affleck in Manchester by the Sea (Amazon Studios) ***WINNER

    Jeff Bridges in Hell or High Water (CBS Films)

    Adam Driver in Paterson (Amazon Studios)

    Joel Edgerton in Loving (Focus Features)

    Craig Robinson in Morris From America (A24)

  • Best Actress*

    Isabelle Huppert in Elle (Sony Pictures Classics) ***WINNER

    Kate Beckinsale in Love & Friendship (Amazon Studios)

    Annette Bening in 20th Century Women (A24)

    Ruth Negga in Loving (Focus Features)

    Natalie Portman in Jackie (Fox Searchlight Pictures)

  • Audience Award

    Best Feature

    Moonlight ***WINNER
    Everybody Wants Some
    Manchester by the Sea

    Best Documentary

    I Am Not Your Negro
    O.J.: Made in America

    Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award

    The Fits
    Southside With You
    Swiss Army Man
    The Witch

  • Best Documentary

    O.J.: Made in America ***WINNER
    Ezra Edelman, director; Caroline Waterlow, Ezra Edelman, Tamara Rosenberg, Nina Krstic, Deirdre Fenton, Erin Leyden, producers (ESPN Films)

    Kirsten Johnson, director; Marilyn Ness, producer (Janus Films)

    I Am Not Your Negro
    Raoul Peck, director; Rémi Grellety, Raoul Peck, Hébert Peck, producers (Magnolia Pictures)

    Keith Maitland, director; Keith Maitland, Megan Gilbride, Susan Thomson, producers (Kino Lorber, Independent Lens)

    Josh Kriegman, Elyse Steinberg, directors and producers (Sundance Selects and Showtime Documentary Films)

  • Best Screenplay

    Moonlight, Story by Tarell Alvin McCraney; Screenplay by Barry Jenkins (A24) ***WINNER

    Hell or High Water, Taylor Sheridan (CBS Films)

    Love & Friendship, Whit Stillman (Amazon Studios)

    Manchester by the Sea, Kenneth Lonergan (Amazon Studios)

    Paterson, Jim Jarmusch (Amazon Studios)

  • Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award

    Trey Edward Shults for Krisha (A24) ***WINNER

    Robert Eggers for The Witch (A24)

    Anna Rose Holmer for The Fits (Oscilloscope Laboratories)

    Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert for Swiss Army Man (A24)

    Richard Tanne for Southside With You (Roadside Attractions and Miramax)

  • Breakthrough Actor*

    Anya Taylor-Joy in The Witch (A24) ***WINNER 

    Lily Gladstone in Certain Women (IFC Films)

    Lucas Hedges in Manchester by the Sea (Amazon Studios)

    Royalty Hightower in The Fits (Oscilloscope Laboratories)

    Sasha Lane in American Honey (A24)

    * The 2016 Best Actor/Best Actress and Breakthrough Actor nominating panels also voted to award a special Gotham Jury Award for ensemble performance to Moonlight, “in which actors at all levels of experience give outstanding performances that speak eloquently to one another both within and across each chapter of the story.” The awards will go to actors Mahershala Ali, Naomie Harris, Alex Hibbert, André Holland, Jharrel Jerome, Janelle Monáe, Jaden Piner, Trevante Rhodes, and Ashton Sanders.

  • Breakthrough Series -- Longform

    Crazy Ex-Girlfriend, Rachel Bloom & Aline Brosh McKenna, creators; Marc Webb, Rachel Bloom, Aline Brosh McKenna, Erin Ehrlich, executive producers (The CW) ***WINNER

    The Girlfriend Experience, Lodge Kerrigan, Amy Seimetz, creators; Steven Soderbergh, Philip Fleischman, Amy Seimetz, Lodge Kerrigan, Jeff Cuban, Gary Marcus, executive producers (Starz)

    Horace and Pete, Louis C.K., creator; M. Blair Breard, Dave Becky, Vernon Chatman, Dino Stamatopoulos, executive producers (

    Marvel’s Jessica Jones, Melissa Rosenberg, creator; Melissa Rosenberg, Liz Friedman, Alan Fine, Stan Lee, Joe Quesada, Dan Buckley, Jim Chory, Jeph Loeb, Howard Klein, executive producers (Netflix)

    Master of None, Aziz Ansari and Alan Yang, creators; Michael Schur, David Miner, Dave Becky, executive producers (Netflix)

  • Breakthrough Series -- Shortform

    Her Story, Jen Richards and Laura Zak, creators ( ***WINNER
    The Gay and Wondrous Life of Caleb Gallo, Brian Jordan Alvarez, creator (YouTube)
    The Movement, Darnell Moore, Host (
    Sitting in Bathrooms With Trans People, Dylan Marron, creator (Seriously.TV)
    Surviving, Reagan Gomez, creator (YouTube)