'The Rider' Tops Gotham Awards; Full Winners List

5:31 PM 11/26/2018

by Hilary Lewis and Allison Crist

'First Reformed' and 'Eighth Grade' each won two prizes at Monday night's ceremony.

THE RIDER  -Still 1 - Publicity - H 2017
Courtesy of Telluride Film Festival

The 2018 Gotham Independent Film Awards were handed out Monday night at Cipriani Wall Street in New York. Chloe Zhao's second feature The Rider, which chronicles a young cowboy’s struggle after a head injury leaves him unable to compete on the rodeo circuit, took home the top prize of best feature.

First Reformed, Paul Schrader's latest work about a troubled pastor drawn toward violence, also had a big night, with wins for best screenplay and actor for leading man Ethan Hawke.

Eighth Grade won in two categories as well: Elsie Fisher received the breakthrough actor award, and the film’s director, Bo Burnham, won the Bingham Ray Breakthrough director award.

Despite topping the nominations alongside First Reformed, The Favourite, Yorgos Lanthimos' period film about two women in Queen Anne's court competing for her attention and affection, didn’t win in any of its nominated categories. However, the film’s three main actresses — Olivia Colman, Emma Stone and Rachel Weisz — were honored with a special jury prize.

In addition to The Favourite, First Reformed, Barry Jenkins' Moonlight follow-up If Beale Street Could Talk and Josephine Decker's Madeline's Madeline were also nominated in the best feature category.

Heading into the night, numerous films were nominated in multiple categories, including the following with two mentions each: Hereditary, If Beale Street Could Talk, Leave No Trace, Madeline's Madeline, Private Life, Sorry to Bother You and Support the Girls.

Those totals don't include the audience award — which went to Won’t You Be My Neighbor? — voted on by IFP members from the films nominated for best feature, best documentary and breakthrough director.

The Gotham Awards began recognizing small-screen fare three years ago. This year, 195 Lewis and Killing Eve were presented with breakthrough series awards in the shortform and longform categories, respectively.

In addition to the competitive awards, previously announced tributes were given to Willem Dafoe, Paul Greengrass, Jon Kamen and Rachel Weisz. Sandra Lee received the "Made in NY" award.

Previous Gotham Award winners have included Oscar nominees and winners Call Me by Your Name, Moonlight, Spotlight, Birdman, Boyhood, Citizenfour, Inside Llewyn Davis, The Act of Killing, Moonrise Kingdom, Beasts of the Southern Wild, Beginners, The Tree of Life, Winter’s Bone and The Hurt Locker.

  • Best Feature

    The Rider
    Chloe Zhao, director; Bert Hamelinck, Sacha Ben Harroche, Mollye Asher, Chloé Zhao, producers (Sony Pictures Classics) (WINNER)

    The Favourite
    Yorgos Lanthimos, director; Ceci Dempsey, Ed Guiney, Lee Magiday, Yorgos Lanthimos, producers (Fox Searchlight Pictures)

    First Reformed
    Paul Schrader, director; Jack Binder, Greg Clark, Victoria Hill, Gary Hamilton, Deepak Sikka, Christine Vachon, David Hinojosa, Frank Murray, producers (A24)

    If Beale Street Could Talk
    Barry Jenkins, director; Adele Romanski, Sara Murphy, Barry Jenkins, Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Megan Ellison, producers (Annapurna Pictures)

    Madeline’s Madeline
    Josephine Decker, director; Krista Parris, Elizabeth Rao, producers (Oscilloscope Laboratories)

  • Best Documentary

    Hale County This Morning, This Evening 
    RaMell Ross, director; RaMell Ross, Joslyn Barnes, Su Kim, producers (The Cinema Guild) 

    Bisbee '17
    Robert Greene, producer; Douglas Tirola, Susan Bedusa, Bennett Elliott, producers (4th Row Films)

    Minding the Gap
    Bing Liu, director; Diane Quon, Bing Liu, producers (Hulu & Magnolia Pictures)

    Sandi Tan, director; Sandi Tan, Jessica Levin, Maya Rudolph, producers (Netflix)

    Won’t You Be My Neighbor?
    Morgan Neville, director; Morgan Neville, Caryn Capotosto, Nicholas Ma, producers (Focus Features)

  • Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award

    Bo Burnham for Eighth Grade (A24) (WINNER)

    Ari Aster for Hereditary (A24)

    Jennifer Fox for The Tale (HBO)

    Crystal Moselle for Skate Kitchen (Magnolia Pictures)

    Boots Riley for Sorry to Bother You (Annapurna Pictures)

  • Best Screenplay

    First Reformed, Paul Schrader (A24) (WINNER)

    The Favourite, Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara (Fox Searchlight Pictures)

    Private Life, Tamara Jenkins (Netflix)

    Support the Girls, Andrew Bujalski (Magnolia Pictures)

    Thoroughbreds, Cory Finley (Focus Features)

  • Best Actor

    Ethan Hawke in First Reformed (A24) (WINNER)

    Adam Driver in BlacKkKlansman (Focus Features)

    Ben Foster in Leave No Trace (Bleecker Street)

    Richard E. Grant in Can You Ever Forgive Me? (Fox Searchlight Pictures)

    Lakeith Stanfield in Sorry to Bother You (Annapurna Pictures)

  • Best Actress

    Toni Collette in Hereditary (A24) (WINNER)

    Glenn Close in The Wife (Sony Pictures Classics)

    Kathryn Hahn in Private Life (Netflix)

    Regina Hall in Support the Girls (Magnolia Pictures)

    Michelle Pfeiffer in Where is Kyra? (Paladin and Great Point Media)

    *The 2018 Best Actress nominating committee also voted to award a special Gotham Jury Award to Olivia Colman, Emma Stone, and Rachel Weisz for their ensemble performance in The Favourite. (Fox Searchlight Pictures)

  • Breakthrough Actor

    Elsie Fisher in Eighth Grade (A24) (WINNER)

    Yalitza Aparicio in Roma (Netflix)

    Helena Howard in Madeline’s Madeline (Oscilloscope Laboratories)

    KiKi Layne in If Beale Street Could Talk (Annapurna Pictures)

    Thomasin Harcourt McKenzie in Leave No Trace (Bleecker Street)

  • Breakthrough Series - Long Form

    Killing Eve, Sally Woodward Gentle, Lee Morris, Phoebe Waller-Bridge, executive producers (BBC America) (WINNER)

    Alias Grace, Sarah Polley, Mary Harron, Noreen Halpern, executive producers (Netflix)

    Big Mouth, Nick Kroll, Andrew Goldberg, Jennifer Flackett, Mark Levin, creators; Nick Kroll, Andrew Goldberg, Mark Levin & Jennifer Flackett, executive producers (Netflix)

    The End of the F***ing World, Andy Baker, Murray Ferguson, Petra Fried, Ed MacDonald, Dominic Buchanan, Jonathan Entwistle, executive producers (Netflix)

    Pose, Ryan Murphy, Brad Falchuk, Steven Canals, creators; Ryan Murphy, Brad Falchuk, Nina Jacobson, Brad Simpson, Alexis Martin Woodall, Sherry Marsh, executive producers (FX Networks)

    Sharp Objects, Marti Noxon, creator; Marti Noxon, Jason Blum, Gillian Flynn, Amy Adams, Jean-Marc Vallée, Nathan Ross, Gregg Fienberg, Charles Layton, Marci Wiseman, Jessica Rhoades, executive producers (HBO)

  • Breakthrough Series - Short Form

    195 Lewis, Chanelle Aponte Pearson and Rae Leone Allen, creators (WINNER)

    Cleaner Daze, Tess Sweet and Daniel Gambelin, creators

    Distance, Alex Dobrenko, creator

    The F Word, Nicole Opper, creator

    She's the Ticket, Nadia Hallgren, creator

  • Audience Award

    Won't You Be My Neighbor? (WINNER)
    Bisbee '17
    Eighth Grade
    The Favourite
    First Reformed
    Hale County This Morning, This Evening
    If Beale Street Could Talk
    Madeline's Madeline
    Minding the Gap
    The Rider
    Skate Kitchen
    Sorry to Bother You
    The Tale