HPA Awards: 'Avengers: Infinity War,' 'Alpha' Among Winners

10:15 PM 11/15/2018

by Carolyn Giardina

TV winners included 'Game of Thrones' and 'The Crown.'

AVENGERS: INFINITY WAR Still Scarlett Johansson - Publicity - H 2018
Courtesy of Marvel Studios

Scarlett Johansson in Avengers: Infinity War

On the strength of her work on Alpha, Maxine Gervais became the first woman colorist to win the feature color grading category at the Hollywood Professional Association (formerly Hollywood Post Alliance) Awards on Thursday night at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles.

Also in the feature film categories, a team from Avengers: Infinity War topped the VFX category, a team from The Shape of Water claimed the sound trophy and A Quiet Place editor Christopher Tellefsen won the editing prize.

Games of Thrones and The Crown were among the TV category honorees.

During the ceremony, Victoria Alonso, producer and executive vp production at Marvel Studios, received HPA's Charles S. Swartz Award for her industry contributions. Engineering excellence awards were presented to Blackmagic Design for DaVinci Resolve 15, Canon for visual and technical monitoring of HDR images, Cinnafilm for PixelStrings, and IBM Aspera and Telestream for Telestream Vantage with Lightspeed Live Capture. An honorable mention was awarded to Samsung for its Samsung Onyx LED cinema screen.

A list of winners follows.

  • Outstanding Color Grading – Feature Film

    “Alpha” (WINNER)
    Maxine Gervais // Technicolor – Hollywood

    “Avengers: Infinity War”
    Steven J. Scott, Charles Bunnag // graded at Technicolor – Hollywood

    “Red Sparrow”
    Dave Hussey // Company 3

    “The Shape of Water”
    Chris Wallace // Deluxe – Toronto

    “The Greatest Showman”
    Tim Stipan // Company 3

  • Outstanding Color Grading – Television

    “The Crown – Paterfamilias" (WINNER)
    Asa Shoul // Molinare

    “Damnation – Sam Riley’s Body”
    Paul Allia // Picture Shop

    “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel – Pilot”
    Steven Bodner // Light Iron

    “Game of Thrones – Beyond the Wall”
    Joe Finley // Sim

    “The Crossing – Pilot”
    Tony Smith // Picture Shop                 

  • Outstanding Color Grading – Commercial

    Volkswagen – "Kids’ Dreams" (WINNER — TIE)
    Adam Scott // The Mill

    Zara – "Spring/Summer 2018 Main" (WINNER — TIE)
    Tim Masick // Company 3

    Bottega Veneta – "Spring/Summer 2018 Trailer"
    Tim Masick // Company 3

    Tile – "Lost Panda"
    Tom Poole // Company 3

    Audi – "Final Breath"
    Sofie Borup // Company 3

  • Outstanding Editing – Feature Film

    “A Quiet Place” (WINNER)
    Christopher Tellefsen, ACE

    Steve Bloom

    “You Were Never Really Here”
    Joe Bini

    “Mission: Impossible – Fallout”
    Eddie Hamilton, ACE

    Demian Fenton

  • Outstanding Editing – Television (30 Minutes and Under)

    “VICE – After the Fall” (WINNER)
    Kelly Kendrick // Vice

    “The End of the F***ing World –  Episode One”
    Mike Jones

    “Vida – Episode 6”
    JoAnne Yarrow           

    “Barry – Chapter Eight: Know Your Truth"
    Kyle Reiter

    “Vice Principals –The Union of the Wizard and The Warrior"
    Justin Bourret

  • Outstanding Editing – Television (Over 30 Minutes)

    “The Defiant Ones – Part 2” (WINNER)
    Doug Pray, Lasse Järvi

    “Stranger Things – Chapter Nine: The Gate”
    Kevin D. Ross, ACE

    “Game of Thrones – The Dragon and the Wolf”
    Crispin Green

    “Westworld – The Passenger”
    Anna Hauger, Mako Kamitsuna, MPEG, Andrew Seklir, ACE

    “Counterpart – The Crossing"
    Dana E. Glauberman, ACE

  • Outstanding Sound – Feature Film

    “The Shape of Water” (WINNER)
    Christian Cooke, Brad Zoern, Nelson Ferreira, Nathan Robitaille // Deluxe - Toronto

    “Ant-Man and The Wasp”
    Katy Wood, Addison Teague, Juan Peralta, Tom Johnson // Skywalker Sound

    “Avengers: Infinity War”
    Shannon Mills, Tom Johnson, Juan Peralta, Dan Laurie // Skywalker Sound

    “Blade Runner 2049”
    Mark Mangini, Ron Bartlett, Theo Green, Doug Hemphill, Mac Ruth // Formosa Group

    “Black Panther”
    Benjamin A. Burtt, Steve Boeddeker, Brandon Proctor // Skywalker Sound

  • Outstanding Sound – Television

    “Altered Carbon – Out of The Past” (WINNER)
    Brett Hinton, Mark Allen, Owen Granich-Young, Andy King, Keith Rogers // Atomic Sound

    “Yellowstone – Daybreak”
    Alan Robert Murray, Tim LeBlanc, Dean Zupancic // Warner Bros.

    “Waco – Operation Showtime”
    Craig Mann, Kelly Oxford, Laura Wiest, Karen Vassar Triest, David Brownlow, Beau Borders //Technicolor – Hollywood

    “Dark – Secret”
    Alexander Würtz, Achim Hofmann, Jorg Elsner, Christian Bichoff // ARRI Media GmbH
    Ansgar Frerich // Basis Berlin

    “Yellowstone – Kill the Messenger”
    Alan Robert Murray, Tim LeBlanc, Dean Zupancic // Warner Bros.

  • Outstanding Sound – Commercial

    OXFAM – “The Heist No One is Talking About” (WINNER)
    Neil Johnson // Factory Studios

    KIA – “Fueled by Youth”
    Nathan Dubin // Margarita Mix

    SANE – “Let Me Talk”
    Anthony Moore, Jack Hallett // Factory Studios

    Monster – “Opportunity Roars”
    Tom Jucarone // Sound Lounge

    Anthony Moore // Factory Studios

  • Outstanding Visual Effects – Feature Film

    “Avengers: Infinity War” (WINNER)
    Matt Aitken, Charles Tait, Paul Story, 
    Sidney Kombo-Kintombo,Marvyn Young // Weta Digital

    “Maze Runner: The Death Cure”
    R. Christopher White, Daniel Macarin, Phillip Leonhardt, Paul Ramsden, Jeremy Fort // Weta Digital

    “Blade Runner 2049”
    Richard Clegg, Axel Akesson, Wesley Chandler, Stefano Carta, Ian Cooke-Grimes // MPC

    Erik Winquist, Benjamin Pickering, Stephen Unterfranz, Thrain Shadbolt, David Clayton // Weta Digital

    “Thor: Ragnarok”
    Kyle McCulloch, Alexis Wajsbrot, Ben Loch, Harry Bardak // Framestore

  • Outstanding Visual Effects – Television (Under 13 Episodes)

    “Game of Thrones – Beyond The Wall” (WINNER)
    Joe Bauer, Steve Kullback, Ted Rae // HBO
    Eric Carney // The Third Floor
    David Ramos // El Ranchito

    “Altered Carbon – Out of The Past”
    Everett Burrell, Tony Meagher, Steve Moncur, Christine Lemon, Paul Jones // DNEG

    “Outlander – Eye of The Storm”
    Richard Briscoe // Outlander Production
    Daniel Norlund, Filip Orrby // Goodbye Kansas
    Aladino Debert, Greg Teegarden // Digital Domain

    “Black Mirror – Metalhead"
    Russell McLean // House of Tomorrow
    Michael Bell, Pete Levy, Steven Godfrey, Stafford Lawrence // DNEG

    “Westworld – The Passenger”
    Jay Worth, Bruce Branit // Deep Water FX
    Bobo Skipper // Important Looking Pirates
    Kama Moiha // COSA VFX
    Mike Enriquez // DNEG

  • Outstanding Visual Effects – Television (Over 13 Episodes)

    “Agents of SHIELD – Orientation: Part 1” (WINNER)
    Mark Kolpack, Sabrina Arnold // Marvel
    Kevin Yuille, David Rey, Hnedel Maximore // FuseFX

    “Supergirl – For Good”
    Armen V. Kevorkian, Gevork Babityan, Kris Cabrera, Jerry Chalupnik, Jason Shulman // Encore VFX

    “Hawaii Five-O – A’ole e ‘olelo mai ana ke ahi ua ana ia”
    Adam Avitabile, Daniel Toomey, Michael Kirylo, Ryan Smolarek, Wayne Hollingsworth // Picture Shop

    “Legends of Tomorrow – The Good, The Bad and The Cuddly”
    Armen V. Kevorkian, Andranik Taranyan, Jason Shulman, Dan Aprea, Lycee Anaya // Encore VFX

    “NCIS: LA – A Line in the Sand/Ninguna Salida"
    Dylan Chudzynski, Michael Carter, Joe Suzuki, Jacob Kuhne // DigitalFilm Tree