ICG Publicists Awards: 'Irishman,' 'Joker' Among Film Nominees

7:25 AM 1/8/2020

by Kimberly Nordyke

On the TV side, nominees include 'Catch-22,' 'Fosse/Verdon,' 'The Mandalorian,' 'Pose,' 'Stranger Things' and 'When They See Us.'

The Irishman Production Still Cast - Publicity - H 2020
Courtesy of Netflix

Publicists who worked on campaigns for The Irishman, Joker and Once Upon a Time in Hollywood are among the nominees for the 57th annual ICG Publicists Awards.

They'll compete with the teams who worked on campaigns for Avengers: Endgame, Rocketman and Us for the  Maxwell Weinberg Award for Motion Picture Publicity Campaign.

On the TV side, nominees for the Maxwell Weinberg Award for Television Publicity Campaign include publicists who worked on Catch-22, Fosse/Verdon, The Mandalorian, Pose, Stranger Things and When They See Us.

The final group of publicist, media and still photographer nominees were unveiled on Jan. 14.

Winners will be announced at the ICG Publicists Awards luncheon ceremony on Feb. 7 at the Beverly Hilton.

Also at the ceremony, Avengers: Endgame directors Anthony and Joe Russo will receive the Motion Picture Showman of the Year Award, while Ava DuVernay will be honored with the Television Showman of the Year Award for her visionary impact on television. Don Mischer will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award.

A list of nominees announced so far follows.

Jan. 14, 11:07 a.m. This story has been updated with the publicist, media and still photographer nominees

  • Maxwell Weinberg Publicist Showmanship Motion Picture Award

    Avengers: Endgame - Marvel Studios
    The Irishman - Netflix
    Joker - Warner Bros. Pictures
    Once Upon a Time in Hollywood - Columbia Pictures
    Rocketman - Paramount Pictures
    Us - Universal Pictures

  • Maxwell Weinberg Publicist Showmanship Television Award

    Catch-22 - Casey Spiegel, Paramount Television (streams on Hulu)
    Fosse/Verdon - Nicole Crawford, Fox 21 Television (airs on FX)
    The Mandalorian: Season 1 - the Local 600 union publicists of Disney + (streams on Disney +)
    Pose: Season 2 - Yong Kim, Fox 21 Television (airs on FX)
    Stranger Things: Season 3 - Denise Godoy Gregarek, Unit Publicist (streams on Netflix)
    When They See Us - Jackie Bazan, Unit Publicist (streams on Netflix)

  • Les Mason Award for Career Achievement in Publicity

    Gabriela Gutentag - Unit Publicist
    Stephen Huvane - Slate PR
    Maureen O'Malley - Warner Bros.
    Peter J. Silbermann - Unit Publicist
    David Waldman - Paramount Pictures


  • Publicist of the Year Award

    Rachel Aberly - 42 West
    Michelle Alt - Paramount Pictures
    Kira Feola - Walt Disney Studios
    Alex Kang - Walt Disney Studios
    Carol McConnaughey - Unit Publicist

  • Press Award

    Clark Collis - Entertainment Weekly
    Tom O’Neil - Gold Derby
    Andy Reyes - Entertainment Tonight
    Amanda Salas - Fox 11
    Adam Weissler - Extra TV

  • International Media Award

    Vera Anderson - Cine Premiere/HFPA (Mexico)
    Nelson Aspen - Sunrise (Australia)
    Janet Nepales - Manila Bulletin/HFPA (Philippines)
    Gill Pringle - FilmInk.com (UK)
    Adam Tanswell - Freelance/HFPA (UK)

  • Excellence in Unit Still Photography Award for Motion Pictures

    Matt Kennedy
    Justin Lubin
    Daniel McFadden
    Hopper Stone
    Niko Tavernise


  • Excellence in Unit Still Photography Award for Television

    Beth Dubber
    Justin Lubin
    Nicole Rivelli
    JoJo Whilden
    Nicole Wilder