IDA Documentary Awards: Complete Winners List

9:31 PM 12/9/2016

by Gregg Kilday

'O.J.: Made in America' won the night's biggest honor at the Dec. 9 ceremony, which took place at Paramount Studios in Los Angeles.

OJ Made in America Still 10 H 2016
Courtesy of ESPN

Ezra Edelman's O.J.: Made In America won top honors at the International Documentary Association's (IDA) gala reception Friday night. 

The 32nd Annual IDA Documentary Awards were handed out by host Vivica A. Fox. Winners included O.J.: Made In AmericaAva DuVernay's 13th, Netflix doc Making a Murderer and The White Helmets, a short directed by Orlando von Einsiedel.

Lyn and Norman Lear were also awarded the Amicus Award for their years of supporting documentary filmmaking. Stanley Nelson received IDA's Career Achievement Award, Ally Derks received the Pioneer Award and director Nanfu Wang received the Emerging Documentary Filmmaker Award.

The ceremony also announced a four-year, $5 million grant from The John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation to establish the IDA Documentary/Journalism Project, which will enable documentarians to tell their stories in a safe and effective way. 

"Independent documentary makers play an essential role in contemporary journalism - uncovering, investigating and investing the time to follow a story. But too often they work with few resources and little support,” said Simon Kilmurry, executive director of the IDA. “With the support of the MacArthur Foundation, the IDA Documentary/Journalism Project will provide critical support to projects and a wealth of resources to the broader documentary field."

See the complete list of winners below.

  • Best Feature Award

    O.J.: Made in America (WINNER)
    Director: Ezra Edelman
    Producers: Deirdre Fenton, Libby Geist, Nina Krstic, Erin Leyden, Tamara Rosenberg, Connor Schell and Caroline Waterlow

    Director and Producer: Ava DuVernay
    Producers: Spencer Averick and Howard Barish

    Director and Producer: Kirsten Johnson
    Producer: Marilyn Ness
    Janus Films

    Fire at Sea
    Director and Producer: Gianfranco Rosi
    Producers: Paolo Del Brocco, Roberto Ciccutto, Camille Laemle, Serge Lalou, Donatella Palermo, Olivier Pere and Martine Saada
    Kino Lorber

    I Am Not Your Negro
    Director and Producer: Raoul Peck
    Producers: Remi Grellety and Hébert Peck
    Magnolia Pictures

    Directors and Producers: Josh Kriegman and Elyse Steinberg
    Sundance Selects, Showtime Documentary Film

  • Best Short Award

    The White Helmets (WINNER)
    Director: Orlando von Einsiedel
    Producer: Joanna Natasegara

    The Above
    Director: Kirsten Johnson
    Producer: Marilyn Ness
    Field of Vision

    Clinica De Migrantes : Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Happiness
    Director: Maxim Pozdorovkin
    Producer: Jenny Lim

    Director and Producer: Dan Krauss
    f/8 Filmworks Ltd, Netflix

    Director and Producer: Amy Nicholson
    Myrtle & Olive, Oscilloscope

    Red Lake
    Director and Producer: Billy Luther
    Producers: Fenton Bailey and Randy Barbato
    World of Wonder Productions

  • ABC News VideoSource Award

    13th (WINNER)
    Director: Ava DuVernay

    I Am Not Your Negro
    Director: Raoul Peck
    Magnolia Pictures

    The Lovers and the Despot
    Director: Ross Adam and Robert Cannan
    Magnolia Pictures

    Maya Angelou: And Still I Rise
    Directors: Bob Hercules and Rita Coburn Whack
    PBS, American Masters

    Norman Lear: Just Another Version of You
    Directors: Heidi Ewing and Rachel Grady
    Loki Films, Thirteen/WNET, Music Box Films, PBS, American Masters

  • Best Limited Series Award

    Making a Murderer (WINNER)
    Executive Producers: Moira Demos and Laura Ricciardi

    Executive Producers: Sheri Salata, David Shadrack Smith, Jonathan Sinclair and Oprah Winfrey
    OWN: Oprah Winfrey Network

    Executive Producers: Alex Gibney, Caroline Suh, Michael Pollan and Stacey Offman

    The Circus: Inside the Greatest Political Show on Earth
    Executive Producers: Scott Boggins, Ken Druckerman, Mark Halperin, John Heilemann, Mark McKinnon and Banks Tarver
    Co-Executive Producers: Ted Bourne and Mary Robertson

    Streets of Compton
    Executive Producers: Brad Abramson, Elaine Frontain Bryant, Mark Ford, The Game, Alan Grunblatt, Cash "Wack 100" Jones, Tara Long, Kevin Lopez, John Morayniss and Shelly Tatro
    Entertainment One Reality Productions, Creature Films for A&E

  • Best Episodic Series Award

    Last Chance U (WINNER)
    Executive Producers: Joe LaBracion and Greg Whiteley

    Chef’s Table
    Executive Producers: David Gelb, Andrew Fried, Dane Lillegard, Brian McGinn and Matthew Weaver

    The First 48
    Executive Producers: Elaine Frontain Bryant, Laura Fleury, John X. Kim, Alexis Robie and Peter Tarshis
    Co-Executive Producers: Joey Grossfield and Maija Norris

    United Shades of America
    Executive Producers: W. Kamau Bell, Jimmy Fox, Eli Holzman, Stephen Lambert, Star Price and Layla Smith
    All3Media America, CNN Original Series, Objective Productions USA

    Woman With Gloria Steinem
    Executive Producers: Spike Jonze, Nomi Ernst Leidner, Eddy Moretti, Amy Richards, Shane Smith, Gloria Steinem and Ariel Wengroff
    VICE Media for Viceland

  • Best Shortform Series Award

    Field of Vision (WINNER)
    Executive Producers: Charlotte Cook, Laura Poitras and AJ Schnack
    Field of Vision

    30:30 Shorts
    Executive Producers: John Dahl, Libby Geist and Connor Schell

    Children Deported
    Executive Producer: Christer Fasmer

    Executive Producers: Lisa Leingang, Adam Pincus and AJ Schnack

    The New York Times Op-Docs
    Executive Producer: Kathleen Lingo
    The New York Times

  • Best Cinematography

    Fire at Sea (WINNER)
    Cinematography by: Gianfranco Rosi
    Kino Lorber

  • Best Editing

    Cameraperson (WINNER)
    Edited by: Nels Bangerter
    Janus Films

  • Best Writing

    I Am Not Your Negro (WINNER)
    Written by: James Baldwin and Raoul Peck
    Magnolia Pictures

  • Best Music

    The Bad Kids (WINNER)
    Original Score by: Jacaszek
    FilmRise, ITVS

  • Best Curated Series Award

    DR2 Dokumania (WINNER)
    Executive Producer: Mette Hoffmann Meyer
    DR TV

    BBC Storyville
    Executive Producer: Nick Fraser
    BBC TV

    Independent Lens
    Executive Producers: Sally Jo Fifer and Lois Vossen

    Pacific Heartbeat
    Executive Producers: Leanne Ferrer and Leslie Wilcox
    American Public Television, Pacific Islanders in Communications

    Executive Producers: Justine Nagan and Chris White
    POV, PBS

  • David L. Wolper Student Documentary Award

    4.1 Miles (WINNER)
    Director: Daphne Matziaraki
    UC Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism

    The Earth Did Not Speak
    Director and Producer: Javier Briones
    San Francisco State University

    How History May Come
    Director: Olesya Mazur
    Sydney Film School

    My Life as a Film – How My Father Tried to Capture Happiness
    Director: Eva Vitija
    Producers: Daniel Howald and Anita Wasser
    Zurich University of the Arts

    Transit Zone
    Director: Frederik Subei
    Edinburgh College of Art