IDA Documentary Awards: 'Dina' Wins Best Feature

9:30 PM 12/9/2017

by THR Staff

'L.A. 92,' 'The Defiant Ones,' 'Planet Earth II,' 'City of Ghosts' and 'Strong Island' were among the winners at the 33rd annual ceremony, hosted by Maz Jobrani.

Courtesy of Sundance

The International Documentary Association on Saturday night presented its 33rd annual awards at a ceremony at Los Angeles' Paramount Theatre hosted by Iranian-American actor and comedian Maz Jobrani. Dan Sickles and Antonio Santini's Dina and Laura Checkoway's Edith+Eddie won the top honors of best feature and best short, respectively.

"The best feature and best short award winners both represent unlikely love stories, each one tender, tragic and ultimately life-affirming,” IDA executive director Simon Kilmurry said in a statement. “Dina and Edith+Eddie are both distinguished by their unforgettable lead characters and their sensitive elicitation of universal truths."

Other noteworthy winners include Dan Lindsay and TJ Martin’s L.A. 92, which received the ABC News VideoSource award; PBS’ Independent Lens, which earned best curated series honors; HBO’s The Defiant Ones, which was named best limited series; BBC’s Planet Earth II, which won for best episodic series; The New York Times' Op-Docs, which was chosen best short form series; and Joel Fendelman’s Man on Fire, which won the David L. Wolper student documentary award.

Strong Island director Yance Ford received the emerging filmmaker award, while Lourdes Portillo received the career achievement award in recognition of her 40-year body of work, including award-winning films about Latin-American, Mexican and Chicano experiences and social justice issues. Abigail Disney was recognized with the IDA's amicus award in recognition of her work in support of peace building and advancing women's roles.

Kathryn Bigelow presented the Courage Under Fire Award, given to a filmmaker who demonstrates extraordinary bravery in pursuit of truth, to a group of filmmaking teams and their subjects — a first for the award. The teams behind City of Ghosts, Cries From Syria, Hell on Earth: The Fall of Syria and the Rise of ISIS and Last Men in Aleppo were all honored.

IDA also announced a $600,000 investment from the Jonathan Logan Family Foundation, which includes four grants of $25,000 each to emerging female filmmakers of color.

A full list of winners follows.

  • Pare Lorentz Award

    'Watani: My Homeland'
    'Watani: My Homeland'

    Watani: My Homeland (Recipient)

    Director: Marcel Mettelsiefen

    Intent to Destroy (Special Mention)

    Director: Joe Berlinger

  • ABC News VideoSource Award

    'LA 92'
    'LA 92'
    Courtesy of National Geographic


Directors: Dan Lindsay & TJ Martin

National Geographic

    Blood On The Mountain
Directors: Mari-Lynn Evans and Jordan Freeman
Virgil Films/Netflix


Directors: Tim Golden and Ross McDonnell

Gravitas Ventures, CNN Films


Director: Bryan Fogel



Director: Vanessa Gould

Kino Lorber

  • Best Curated Series

    'Independent Lens'
    'Independent Lens'
    Courtesy of PBS

Independent Lens WINNER

Executive Producers: Lois Vossen and Sally Jo Fifer


    American Experience
Executive Producer: Mark Samels


Executive Producer: Anders Bruus



Executive Producers: Justine Nagan and Chris White



Executive Producers: Rachel Raney and Amy Shumaker

UNC-TV, South Carolina ETV, NETA and WORLD

  • Best Limited Series

    'The Defiant Ones'
    'The Defiant Ones'
    Courtesy of HBO

    The Defiant Ones WINNERS
Executive Producers: Allen Hughes, Doug Pray, Andrew Kosove, Broderick Johnson, Laura Lancaster, Michael Lombardo, Gene Kirkwood, and Jerry Longarzo


    Daughters of Destiny
Executive Producer: Vanessa Roth


    The Keepers
Executive Producers: Ryan White and Jessica Hargrave

    The Vietnam War
Executive Producer: Ken Burns


    TIME: The Kalief Browder Story
Executive Producers: Jenner Furst, Nick Sandow, Julia Willoughby Nason, Michael Gasparro, Shawn “JAY Z” Carter, Sharon Levy, Chachi Senior

  • Best Episodic Series

    'Planet Earth II'
    'Planet Earth II'
    Courtesy of BBC

    Planet Earth II
    Executive Producer: Michael Gunton

    Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown
Executive Producers: Anthony Bourdain, Christopher Collins, Lydia Tenaglia and Sandra Zweig


    Chef’s Table

    Executive Producers: David Gelb, Matthew Weaver, Brian McGinn, Andrew Fried, Dane Lillegard and Matthew Hilliard


    Leah Remini: Scientology and the Aftermath
Executive Producers: Leah Remini, Aaron Saidman, Alex Weresow, Devon-Graham-Hammonds, Elaine Frontain Bryant and Amy Savitsky

Executive Producers: Ron Howard, Brian Grazer, Michael Rosenberg, Dave O’Connor, Jon Kamen, Tommy Turtle, David Sirulnick, Jonathan Silberberg, Lorenzo Mieli, Everardo Gout, Justin Wilkes, Tim Pastore, Matt Renner, Robert Palumbo, and David Sirulneck
National Geographic

  • Best Short Form Series

    The New York Times Op-Docs
Executive Producer: Kathleen Lingo

    The New York Times

    Field of Vision

    Executive Producers: Laura Poitras, AJ Schnack and Charlotte Cook

Field of Vision

    Shorts on Time

Executive Producer: Julie Parker Benello


    The Guardian documentaries

Executive Producers: Charlie Phillips and Lindsay Poulton

    The Guardian

    The Secret Life of Muslims

    Executive Producers: Joshua Seftel and Reza Aslan


  • David L. Wolper Student Documentary Award

    Man on Fire
    Director: Joel Fendelman
University of Texas, Austin

    Director: Ray Whitehouse
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Director: Maayan Arad
 of National Film and Television School (United Kingdom)

    How To Make A Pearl

    Director: Jason Hanasik
 of UC Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism

    Room 140
    Director: Priscilla Gonzalez Sainz
 oof Stanford University

  • Best Feature

    Courtesy of Sundance

    Dina WINNER
    Directors/Producers: Antonio Santini and Dan Sickles
    The Orchard

    City of Ghosts
    Director/Producer: Matthew Heineman
    Amazon Studios

    Faces Places
    Directors: Agnès Varda and JR
    Cohen Media Group

    LA 92
    Directors: Dan Lindsay & TJ Martin
    Producers: Jonathan Chinn, Simon Chinn, Tim Pastore, Matt Renner and Sarah Gibson
    National Geographic

    Strong Island
    Director/Producer: Yance Ford
    Producer Joslyn Barnes

  • Best Short

    Courtesy of Laura Checkoway

    Edith+Eddie WINNER
    Director: Laura Checkoway
    Producer: Thomas Lee Wright
    Kartemquin Films

    The Fight
    Directors/Producers: Violeta Ayala and Dan Fallshaw
    The Guardian

    Heaven Is A Traffic Jam On The 405
    Director/Producer: Frank Stiefel

    Long Shot
    Director: Jacob LaMendola
    Producers: Jacob LaMendola, Mary Beth Minthorn, Milos S. Silber and Todd Wiseman Jr.

    Mr. Connolly Has ALS
    Director/Producer: Dan Habib
    Impact Media Partners

    The Rabbit Hunt Director: Patrick Bresnan
    Producer: Ivete Lucas
    Topic Studios

  • Creative Recognition Award Winners

    'Dawson City: Frozen Time'
    'Dawson City: Frozen Time'
    Courtesy of Kathy Jones Gates/Hypnotic Pictures/Picture Palace Pictures

    Best Cinematography: Machines
    Cinematography by: Rodrigo Trejo Villanueva
    Kino Lorber

    Best Editing: Dawson City: Frozen Time
    Edited by: Bill Morrison
    Kino Lorber

    Best Music: Brimstone & Glory
    Original Score by: Dan Romer and Benh Zeitlin
    Oscilloscope Laboratories

    Best Writing: Donkeyote
    Written by: Chico Pereira, Manuel Pereira and Gabriel Molera
    Scottish Documentary Institute