'Moonlight' Leads Gay and Lesbian Entertainment Critics' Dorian Award Nominations

12:16 PM 1/12/2017

by Gregg Kilday

The group is also honoring John Waters with its "timeless star" award.

Moonlight Still - Publicity - H 2016
David Bornfriend

Barry Jenkins’ Moonlight leads the list of nominees for The Gay and Lesbian Entertainment Critics Associations’ annual Dorian Awards, announced today.

The group, which represents more than 170 film and TV critics and entertainment journalists across the U.S., Canada and the United Kingdom, nominated Moonlight for both film of the year and LGBTQ film of the year. It also earned screenplay and directing nominations for Jenkins, male performance of the year noms for Mahershala Ali and Trevante Rhodes, and a nomination for visually striking film of the year.

Along with Moonlight, the best film nominees are Jackie, La La Land, Manchester by the Sea and 20th Century Women.  And in the best LGBTQ film category, Moonlight will compete with Being 17, Closet Monster, Other People and The Handmaiden.

In the TV categories, the nominees for TV drama of the year are Black Mirror, Game of Thrones, Stranger Things, The Crown, The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story and Westworld, and the nominees for TV comedy of the year are Atlanta, Crazy Ex-Girlfriend, Insecure, Transparent and Veep.

GALECA also announced that it would give its "timeless star" career achievement award to writer, director and raconteur John Waters.

Carrie Fisher was nominated posthumously in the group’s Wilde Wit of the Year category, along with Samantha Bee, Bill Maher, Kate McKinnon and John Oliver.

And in the category of campy film of the year the nominees are Absolutely Fabulous: The Movie, King Cobra, Nocturnal Animals, The Dressmaker and The Neon Demon.

The Dorian winners will be announced Jan. 26. The group’s annual Winners Toast, honoring a select group of 2016-17 winners, will be held Feb. 18, in Los Angeles.

  • Film of the Year

    Jackie (Fox Searchlight)

    La La Land (Summit/Lionsgate)

    Manchester by the Sea (Roadside/Amazon Studios)

    Moonlight (A24)

    20th Century Women (A24)

  • Director of the Year

    Barry Jenkins, Moonlight (A24)

    Pablo Larraín, Jackie (Fox Searchlight)

    Kenneth Lonergan, Manchester By the Sea (Roadside/Amazon Studios)

    Park Chan-wook, The Handmaiden (Amazon Studios)

    Damien Chazelle, La La Land (Summit/Lionsgate)

  • Film Performance of the Year — Actress

    Annette Bening, 20th Century Women (A24)

    Viola Davis, Fences (Paramount)

    Isabelle Huppert, Elle (Sony Classics)

    Emma Stone, La La Land (Summit/Lionsgate)

    Natalie Portman, Jackie (Fox Searchlight)

  • Film Performance of the Year — Actor

    Casey Affleck, Manchester by the Sea (Roadside/Amazon Studios)

    Mahershala Ali, Moonlight (A24)

    Ryan Gosling, La La Land (Summit/Lionsgate)

    Trevante Rhodes, Moonlight (A24)

    Denzel Washington, Fences (Paramount)

  • LGBTQ Film of the Year

    Being 17 (Strand)

    Closet Monster (Strand)

    Moonlight (A24)

    Other People (Vertical)

    The Handmaiden (Amazon Studios)

  • Foreign Language Film of the Year

    Elle (Sony Classics)

    Neruda (The Orchard)

    The Handmaiden (Amazon Studios)

    Things to Come (Sundance Selects)

    Toni Erdmann (Sony Pictures Classics)

  • Screenplay of the Year

    Barry Jenkins, Moonlight (A24)

    Efthymis Filippou, Yorgos Lanthimos, The Lobster (A24)

    Damien Chazelle, La La Land (Summit/Lionsgate)

    Kenneth Lonergan, Manchester by the Sea (Roadside/Amazon Studios)

    Mike Mills, 20th Century Women (A24)

  • Documentary of the Year

    I Am Not Your Negro (Magnolia)

    O.J.: Made in America (ESPN Films)

    13th (Netflix)

    Tickled (Magnolia)

    Weiner (Sundance Selects/Showtime)

  • Visually Striking Film of the Year

    Arrival (Paramount)

    Jackie (Fox Searchlight)

    La La Land (Lionsgate)

    Moonlight (A24)

    The Handmaiden (Amazon Studios)

  • Unsung Film of the Year

    American Honey (A24)

    Captain Fantastic (Bleecker Street)

    Christine (The Orchard)

    Other People (Vertical)

    Sing Street (The Weinstein Company)

  • Campy Film of the Year

    Absolutely Fabulous: The Movie (Fox Searchlight)

    King Cobra (IFC Midnight)

    Nocturnal Animals (Focus Features)

    The Dressmaker (Broadgreen/Amazon Studios)

    The Neon Demon (Broadgreen/Amazon Studios)

  • TV Drama of the Year

    Black Mirror (Netflix)

    Game of Thrones (HBO)

    Stranger Things (Netflix)

    The Crown (Netflix)

    The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story (FX)

    Westworld (HBO)

  • TV Comedy of the Year

    Atlanta (FX)

    Crazy Ex-Girlfriend (CW)

    Insecure (HBO)

    Transparent (Amazon)

    Veep (FX)

  • TV Performance of the Year — Actor

    Riz Ahmed, The Night Of (HBO)

    Sterling K. Brown, The People v. O.J. Simpson (FX)

    Donald Glover, Atlanta (FX)

    Jeffrey Tambor, Transparent (Amazon)

    Courtney B. Vance, The People v. O.J. Simpson (FX)

  • TV Performance of the Year — Actress

    Claire Foy, The Crown (Netflix)

    Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Veep (HBO)

    Thandie Newton, Westworld (HBO)

    Sarah Paulson, The People V. O.J. Simpson (FX)

    Winona Ryder, Stranger Things (Netflix)

  • TV Current Affairs Show of the Year

    Anderson Cooper 360 (CNN)

    Full Frontal with Samantha Bee (TBS)

    Last Week Tonight with John Oliver (HBO)

    The Rachel Maddow Show (MSNBC)

    Real Time with Bill Maher (HBO)

  • TV Musical Performance of the Year

    Beyonce, "Lemonade," MTV Video Music Awards (MTV)

    Kelly Clarkson, "Piece by Piece," American Idol (Fox)

    Lady Gaga - "Til It Happens to You," The 88th Academy Awards (ABC)

    Jennifer Hudson, "I Know Where I've Been," Hairspray Live! (NBC)

    Kate McKinnon "Hallelujah," Saturday Night Live (NBC)

  • LGBTQ TV Show of the Year

    Looking: The Movie (HBO)

    Orange Is the New Black (Netflix)

    RuPaul’s Drag Race All-Stars (Logo)

    The Real O'Neals (ABC)

    Transparent (Amazon)

  • Unsung TV Show of the Year

    Fleabag (Amazon)

    Lady Dynamite (Netflix)

    London Spy (BBC America)

    Please Like Me (Pivot)

    The Real O'Neals (ABC)

  • Campy TV Show of the Year

    Finding Prince Charming (Logo)

    Fuller House (Netflix)

    Hairspray Live! (NBC)

    RuPaul’s Drag Race All-Stars (Logo)

    Scream Queens (Fox)

    The Rocky Horror Picture Show (Fox)

  • We're Wilde About You! Rising Star of the Year

    Millie Bobby Brown

    Lucas Hedges

    Connor Jessup

    Ruth Negga

    Trevante Rhodes

  • Wilde Wit of the Year

    Samantha Bee

    Carrie Fisher

    Bill Maher

    Kate McKinnon

    John Oliver

  • Wilde Artist of the Year


    Viola Davis

    Barry Jenkins

    Kate McKinnon

    Lin-Manuel Miranda

  • Timeless Star

    John Waters