New Year's Eve: A Guide to the Live Countdown Specials

6:00 AM 12/31/2017

by Lauren Huff

THR takes a look at this year's televised countdowns to 2018.

Ryan Seacrest attends the Dick Clark's New Year's Rockin' Eve with Ryan Seacrest 2016  - Street View- Getty-H 2017
Jamie McCarthy/Getty Images

From Dick Clark's New Year's Rockin' Eve with Ryan Seacrest to CNN's global celebration, live NYE specials have become part and parcel with the holiday itself.  

Fireworks, the ball drop in New York City's Times Square, celebrity guests and musical performances are all synonymous with the specials themselves, but every year offers a few interesting surprises

Noticeably absent from the festivities this year is NBC's New Year's Eve with Carson Daly. Since the holiday falls on a Sunday, the network had intended to air NFL football scheduled for 8:30-11:30 p.m., followed by local news from 11:30 to midnight. These plans were later changed, with the network now set to air various news programs and more throughout the night.

Below, The Hollywood Reporter compiles a guide to the networks' New Year's Eve programs this year, and what viewers can expect from each.

  • Dick Clark's New Year's Rockin' Eve with Ryan Seacrest

    Ryan Seacrest will return once again as host of Dick Clark's New Year's Rockin' Eve, leading the traditional countdown to 2018, which is currently in its 46th year.

    Also returning is Jenny McCarthy, who will reprise her role as an on-site reporter providing commentary from the crowd throughout the night, which will include performances by Camila Cabello, Nick Jonas and Sugarland.

    The show will include five and a half hours of performances — including one by Britney Spears, who will perform from her residency stage in the Axis at Planet Hollywood — and reports on New Year’s celebrations from coast to coast and around the world.

    Mariah Carey, who had a problematic performance last year, will return to perform again this year. In announcing the news, Carey and Dick Clark Productions said in a joint statement, "We can all agree that last year didn't go exactly as planned and we are thrilled to move forward together to provide America with an incredible night of music and celebration on Dick Clark's New Year's Rockin' Eve With Ryan Seacrest 2018. See you in Times Square!"

    Joining the festivities for the first time is singer Ciara, who will host from the West Coast broadcast of the Hollywood Party, featuring performances by Kelly Clarkson, Kane Brown, BTS, Fitz and The Tantrums, Khalid with Marshmello, Shawn Mendes, Charlie Puth, Florida Georgia Line, Halsey, Portugal. The Man and Hailee Steinfeld.

    Additionally, the telecast will feature collaborations from Alessia Cara and Zedd, G-Eazy and Halsey, Bebe Rexha featuring Florida Georgia Line, and Steinfeld and Alesso featuring Florida Georgia Line and watt.

    Meanwhile, Lucy Hale will host the live celebration from New Orleans, where Imagine Dragons will perform from the Allstate Fan Fest in advance of the Allstate Sugar Bowl.

    Dick Clark's New Year's Rockin' Eve airs live Dec. 31 starting at 8 p.m. ET from New York's Times Square.



  • New Year’s Eve Live With Anderson Cooper and Andy Cohen

    Andy Cohen has been tapped to co-host CNN's New Year's Eve telecast alongside longtime friend Anderson Cooper after Kathy Griffin was fired by the news network earlier this year after appearing in a controversial photoshoot depicting her holding a fake Donald Trump severed head.

    Cohen is no stranger to hosting New Year's eve festivities — most recently hosting New Year's Eve Game Night With Andy Cohen for NBC last year. Griffin had co-hosted with Cooper since 2007.

    Cohen and Cooper will be co-hosting from Times Square in what the network is touting as a "global celebration," with the duo checking in with CNN correspondents across the U.S. and around the world.

    New Year’s Eve Live With Anderson Cooper and Andy Cohen will air starting at 8 p.m. ET on CNN.

  • New Year’s Eve With Steve Harvey: Live from Times Square

    Steve Harvey will headline Fox's New Year's Eve festivities, after it was announced in November that he would be picking up the mantle from Pitbull, who hosted for the past three years. It will be his first time hosting a New Year's special, despite his long career in television.

    Harvey will be hosting live from — you guessed it — Times Square, with surprise celebrity guests and some of music's biggest names performing throughout the night before the ball drops at midnight. Announced guests include Jamie Foxx and actor and comedian Rob RiggleAndra Day, Maroon 5, Celine Dion, Backstreet Boys, Macklemore featuring Skylar Grey, Flo Rida, Zac Brown Band and Neil Diamond are set to perform.

    New Year’s Eve With Steve Harvey: Live from Times Square will air starting from 8-10 p.m. ET and from 11 p.m.-12:30 a.m. ET.