Kids' Choice Sports Awards 2017: Russell Wilson Back as Host; Katie Ledecky, Serena Williams Top Noms

8:00 AM 5/31/2017

by Lexy Perez

The awards show will air live Sunday, July 16, from UCLA's Pauley Pavilion.

Russell Wilson - H Getty 2016
Getty Images

It will be all about the slime and sports once again at this year's Nickelodeon Kids’ Choice Sports, which are set to air live from the UCLA Pauley Pavilion in Los Angeles on July 16.

Russell Wilson, Super Bowl Champion and renowned Seattle Seahawks’ franchise quarterback, is stepping into the hosting role for a third time.

"Super excited and honored to three-peat and host Nickelodeon’s Kids’ Choice Sports 2017. Kids get ready… three times the slime coming your way," Russell Wilson of his return to the Nickelodeon stage.

Nickelodeon's Kids’ Choice Sports celebrates the best in sports and trivial moments in the sports league through 12 categories. Olympic swimmer Katie Ledecky and tennis star Serena Williams lead with three nominations, both competing for favorite female athlete. Ledecky is also nominated for clutch player of the year and need for speed. Meanwhile, Williams is nominated in some of the night's quirkily named categories, such as queen of swag and biggest cannon.

Other athletes competing for the mohawked blimp include Cristiano Ronaldo, Danica Patrick, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Lizzie Armanto, Stephen Curry, Von Miller and Tom Brady, each of whom earned two nominations. More than 28 athletes are first-time nominees to this year’s show, including DeAndre Jordan, Sergio Garcia, Laurie Hernandez, Le’Veon Bell, Dak Prescott and DeMarcus Cousins.

Beginning on May 31, kids can cast their votes for their favorite sports stars online on Nickelodeon's site and on the network’s app.

A full list of nominees follows.

  • Favorite Male Athlete

    Stephen Curry (NBA, Golden State Warriors) (WINNER)
    Cristiano Ronaldo (Soccer, Real Madrid C.F. La Liga)
    Dale Earnhardt Jr. (NASCAR)
    Kris Bryant (MLB, Chicago Cubs)
    LeBron James (NBA, Cleveland Cavaliers)
    Tom Brady (NFL, New England Patriots)

  • Favorite Female Athlete

    Simone Biles (Professional Artistic Gymnast) (WINNER)
    Alex Morgan (NWSL, Olympique Lyonnais)
    Katie Ledecky (Competitive Swimmer)
    Mikaela Shiffrin (Skiing, US Ski Team)
    Nneka Ogwumike (WNBA, Los Angeles Sparks)
    Serena Williams (WTA)

  • King of Swag

    Russell Wilson (NFL, Seattle Seahawks) (WINNER)
    Cam Newton (NFL, Carolina Panthers)
    Cristiano Ronaldo (Soccer, Real Madrid C.F.)
    DeAndre Jordan (NBA, Los Angeles Clippers)
    Rickie Fowler (Professional Golfer)
    Von Miller (NFL, Denver Broncos)

  • Queen of Swag

    Serena Williams (WTA) (WINNER)
    Caroline Wozniacki (WTA)
    Danica Patrick (NASCAR)
    Lizzie Armanto (Professional Skateboarder)
    Skylar Diggins (WNBA, Dallas Wings)
    Torah Bright (Professional Snowboarder)

  • Best Cannon

    Serena Williams (WTA) (WINNER)
    Aaron Rodgers (NFL, Green Bay Packers)
    Andy Murray (Professional Tennis Player)
    Justin Verlander (MLB, Detroit Tigers)
    Matt Ryan (NFL, Atlanta Falcons)
    Max Scherzer (MLB, Washington Nationals)

  • Biggest Powerhouse

    Claressa Shields (Professional Boxer) (WINNER)
    David Ortiz (MLB, Boston Red Sox)
    DeMarcus Cousins (NBA, New Orleans Pelicans)
    Mike Trout (MLB, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim)
    Von Miller (NFL, Denver Broncos)
  • Clutch Player of the Year

    Russell Westbrook (NBA, Oklahoma City Thunder) (WINNER)
    Alex Morgan (NWSL, Olympique Lyonnais)
    Katie Ledecky (Competitive Swimmer)
    Mike Trout (MLB, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim)
    Sergio Garcia (Professional Golfer)
    Sidney Crosby (NHL, Pittsburgh Penguins)
    Stephen Curry (NBA, Golden State Warriors)
    Tom Brady (NFL, New England Patriots)

  • Don't Try This At Home

    Chloe Kim (Professional Snowboarder, US Team)

    Colton Walker (BMX)

    Ibtihaj Muhammad (Fencing, US Team)

    Lakey Peterson (World Surf League)

    Mirai Nagasu (Professional Figure Skaters, US Team)

    Nyjah Huston (Professional Skateboarder)

    Shaun White (Professional Snowboarder, US Team)

  • Favorite Newcomer

    Laurie Hernandez (Professional Artistic Gymnast) (WINNER)
    Breanna Stewart (WNBA, Seattle Storm)
    Corey Seager (MLB, Los Angeles Dodgers)
    Dak Prescott (NFL, Dallas Cowboys)
    Dario Šari? (NBA, Philadelphia 76ers)
    Simone Manuel (Competitive Swimmer)

  • Hands of Gold

    Odell Beckham Jr. (NFL, New York Giants) (WINNER)
    Adrián Beltré (MLB, Texas Rangers)
    Antonio Brown (NFL, Pittsburgh Steelers)
    Braden Holtby (NHL, Washington Capitals)
    Ian Kinsler (MLB, Detroit Tigers)
    Julian Edelman (NFL, New England Patriots)

  • Need for Speed

    Usain Bolt (Professional Track & Field Athlete) (WINNER)
    Allyson Felix (Professional Track & Field Athlete)
    Dale Earnhardt Jr. (NASCAR)
    Danica Patrick (NASCAR)
    Jimmie Johnson (NASCAR)
    Katie Ledecky (Competitive Swimmer)
    Lewis Hamilton (Formula 1 Racing)

  • Sickest Moves

    Kevin Durant (NBA, Golden State Warriors) (WINNER)
    Carli Lloyd (NWSL, Manchester City)
    James Harden (NBA, Houston Rockets)
    Kyrie Irving (NBA, Cleveland Cavaliers)
    Le’Veon Bell (NFL, Pittsburgh Steelers)
    Patrick Kane (NHL, Chicago Blackhawks)