Amy Sherman-Palladino to Receive Producers Guild Norman Lear Award

Amy Sherman-Palladino  attends the 29th Annual Producers Guild Awards - Getty-H 2018
Frazer Harrison/Getty Images

The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel and Gilmore Girls creator Amy Sherman-Palladino will receive the Producers Guild of America's 2019 Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television.

The award, named for the legendary All in the Family and One Day at a Time producer, will honor Sherman-Palladino's 20-plus years as a producer, creator, writer and director. She'll accept the honor at the PGA's 30th annual awards ceremony Jan. 19.

The announcement of the award coincides with the release of season two of The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel on Amazon.

"Amy Sherman-Palladino is everything you want a TV producer to be. She's smart, she's tenacious, she knows the story she wants to tell and how to put together the right team to tell it," said PGA presidents Gail Berman and Lucy Fisher. "Her characters and stories may span different eras, but her sensibility is unique and unmistakable. Watch any episode from one of her series for just five minutes, and you'll instantly understand why she's built such a wide and passionate following."

The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel won eight Emmys in 2018, including the honor for outstanding comedy series. Sherman-Palladino also won individual honors for writing and directing a comedy series, becoming the first woman in Emmy history to win both awards in one year.

She also earned the PGA's Danny Thomas Award for outstanding producer of episodic television in 2018.

Sherman-Palladino's other series include Roseanne, Bunheads and Gilmore Girls revival A Year in the Life.

Ryan Murphy received the Norman Lear Award in 2018. Other past honorees include James L. Brooks, Shonda Rhimes, Mark Gordon, Chuck Lorre, J.J. Abrams and Dick Wolf.