'Bob's Burgers' Producers Sign Overall Deal at Disney's 20th TV

Lizzie Molyneux and Wendy Molyneux -Getty-H 2019
Michael Tullberg/Getty Images

The studio behind Fox's Bob's Burgers has locked in two key members of the show's creative team.

Disney's 20th Century Fox TV has signed Lizzie and Wendy Molyneux to an overall deal. The three-year pact for the sisters is the 11th such deal the studio has delivered since coming under the Disney umbrella as part of the latter's $71.3 billion acquisition of 21st Century Fox's entertainment assets.

Under the deal, the Molyneuxs will continue working on Bob's Burgers, where they are currently co-executive producers, and on The Great North, another animated series in development for Fox. The Alaska-set project received a presentation order last fall and features a voice cast that includes Jenny Slate, Nick Offerman, Megan Mullally, Aparna Nancherla and Will Forte. They duo will also work on new projects for the studio.

"Wendy and Lizzie are hilarious writers who have had a long history with this studio and we are so glad this will now formally become their exclusive home," Jonnie Davis, president creative affairs at 20th TV, said Tuesday in a statement. "They've been incredible contributors to our gem, Bob’s Burgers, [creator] Loren [Bouchard] loves them and our head of animation Marci Proietto has been their champion, for good reason. It's no accident that their new animated series in the works for Fox attracted an all-star voice cast; it’s just that special, as are they."

Said Lizzie and Wendy Molyneux, "We're really grateful and excited to remain here at our creative home and to keep working with Jonnie, Dana [Walden], Peter [Rice] and Howard [Kurtzman]. They've always been incredibly supportive even though we've been perfectly open about the fact that every single one of our scripts is actually written by our mom, Sue."

The pact for the Molyneuxs comes after Bob's Burgers co-showrunner Nora Smith signed an overall deal with 20th TV in March. Since joining the Disney empire, the studio has signed a massive pact with This Is Us creator Dan Fogelman and deals with Crazy Rich Asians director Jon M. Chu; Drew Goddard; Octavia Spencer; Liz Meriwether; I. Marlene King; Amy Holden Jones; Jake Kasdan and Melvin Mar; and Jason Winer. Earlier this year, 20th TV also re-upped with Empire co-creator Lee Daniels and signed new agreements with Sanaa Hamri (Empire) and Liz Heldens (The Passage).