Cartoon Network's 'Adventure Time' to End After Ninth Season in 2018

The series, currently in production, will continue airing new episodes through 2018.
Courtesy of Cartoon Network

Adventure Time is coming to an end — but it will still roll out new episodes for the next two years.

Cartoon Network said Thursday that the animated series will bow out after its ninth season, which is currently in production. New half-hour episodes, specials and more will continue to debut through 2018.

The cult hit, which has won six Emmys, centers on unlikely heroes Finn and Jake, buddies who traverse the mystical Land of Ooo and encounter its colorful inhabitants as they find themselves in the middle of heart-pounding escapades.

In total, the show — created by Pendleton Ward, executive produced by Adam Muto and produced by Cartoon Network Studios — will conclude with 142 half-hours of content.

"Adventure Time changed the definition of what a kids’ TV series could be, and it’s had a resounding impact upon popular culture around the world," said Rob Sorcher, chief content officer for Cartoon Network. "Cartoon Network Studios is proud to have brought together this group of brilliant artists and animators who helped make Adventure Time one of the most critically acclaimed TV series of a generation."

Added Ward: "Adventure Time was a passion project for the people on the crew, who poured their heart into the art and stories. We tried to put into every episode something genuine and telling from our lives and make a show that was personal to us and that had jokes, too! I'm really happy that it connected with an audience for so long. It’s a special thing, I think."

The show drew 2.6 million total viewers when it premiered in 2010 and has spurred an apparel and accessories line, toys, games, comic books and more. Finn and Jake also have appeared in the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade.

In addition to its Emmys, the show has received BAFTA and Annie Awards, and an episode was accepted into the 2013 Sundance Film Festival Short Film Program.

Guest-stars have included Andy Samberg, Matthew Broderick, Laura Silverman, George Takei, Rainn Wilson and Neil Patrick Harris.