Entire 'Saturday Night Live' Cast Set to Return for Season 46

Saturday Night Live

For the first time in more than a decade, Saturday Night Live will begin its season with its entire cast returning.

The long-running NBC sketch show will bring back its full ensemble for season 46. The show is slated to premiere Oct. 3, returning to its Rockefeller Center studio for the first time since the coronavirus pandemic shut down production in March.

There had been speculation that Kate McKinnon — who has two other series in the works, at Hulu and Peacock (the latter of which will also run on NBC and USA) — would leave the show between seasons, particularly as the final image of the May 9 season finale was her waving goodbye to the camera. She's returning, as is Kenan Thompson, the longest-serving castmember in SNL history. Thompson and fellow castmember Chris Redd will also star in a primetime comedy set to air on NBC in the 2020-21 season.

Also returning are regulars Beck Bennett, Aidy Bryant, Michael Che, Pete Davidson, Mikey Day, Heidi Gardner, Colin Jost, Alex Moffatt, Kyle Mooney, Redd, Cecily Strong and Melissa Villaseñor and featured players Chloe Fineman, Ego Nwodim and Bowen Yang.

The show also announced on Sept. 16 that it would add featured players Lauren Holt, Punkie Johnson and Andrew Dismukes to the cast.

The last time there was no cast turnover between seasons was in 2007, when SNL's 33rd season began with the ensemble intact. Maya Rudolph left the show four episodes into that season, and Casey Wilson joined the cast following the 2007-08 writers strike.

A host and musical guest for the season premiere will be announced closer to its airdate.

Sept. 16, 12:55 p.m. Updated with names of new featured players.