ESPN Unveils ESPY 2012 Nominations as Fan Voting Begins

Lebron James playing NBA Finals - H 2012
Getty Images

Lebron James playing NBA Finals - H 2012

ESPN announced on Tuesday the atheletes who will go head to head for a coveted trophy at the 20th annual ESPY Awards, airing live on July 11. Among the honorees were Tom Coughlin, Anthony Davis, LeBron James, Jeremy Lin, the Los Angeles Kings, Aaron Rodgers, Maria Sharapova, Abby Wambach and Bubba Watson

This year's ESPY Nomination Special will be hosted by Colin Cowherd and Charissa Thompson, who, along with special guest Rob Riggle, will debate and discuss this year’s categories and nominees on June 27. Voting is already underway and, aside from Best Team, all categories will close when the live show begins. Former Daily Show correspondent Riggle will host the ceremony.

Fans can see a complete list of the nominees and vote online for their favorite athletes at

James, who has previously won three ESPYS, received three nominations this year: Best Male Athlete, Best Championship Performance and Best NBA Player. His team, the Miami Heat, is one of seven candidates in the Best Team category, after winning the NBA finals earlier this month.

On the college basketball front, the two teams that scored major upsets this season, Lehigh (over Duke) and Norfolk State (over Missouri) are among this year’s contenders for the Best Upset category.

Other notable nominees include Shaun White, who is in contention for his ninth straight ESPY with a Best Male Action Sports Athlete nomintaion, and Pittsburgh Penguins' Sidney Crosby, nominated for Best Comeback along with Maria Sharapova and NY Mets' Johan Santana.

The ESPYS will be televised live Wednesday, July 11 at 9 p.m. ET on ESPN and ESPNHD from the Nokia Theatre at L.A. Live.