Fox Inks Script Deal With Two Fellows

Ed Gonzalez and Jeremy Haft also were staffed on Fox's new drama "Empire."
Courtesy of FOX
Ed Gonzalez and Jeremy Haft

Writing partners Ed Gonzalez and Jeremy Haft have a future at Fox. The duo has been selected as this year’s Fox Writers Intensive Fellows, Fox Audience Strategy announced today.

As such, they’ve inked a script development deal with Fox Broadcasting Company and 20th Century Fox Television and have been staffed on Empire, Fox’s new drama series co-created by Lee Daniels and Danny Strong.

PHOTOS Summer TV Preview

Launched in 2013, the Fox Writers Intensive aims to develop diverse, experienced writers and nurture talent for potential staffing on Fox productions. Last year, Fox Audience Strategy expanded the program to provide opportunities across multiple Fox companies, including HarperCollins and 20th Century Fox Film.

“Three years in, the Fox Writers Intensive continues to excel in finding fresh creative voices for our TV, film, literary and digital productions,” said Fox Broadcasting Company COO Joe Earley.

The four-month program featured collaborative sessions with writers and producers, including BonesHart Hanson, The Walking Dead’s Glen Mazzara, Family Guy’s Cherry Chevapravatdumrong and The SimpsonsValentina Garza.

PHOTOS Broadcast TV's Returning Shows 2014-15

Earley added of the fellows: “Ed and Jeremy are two incredibly talented writers who impressed us with their original work throughout the program, and we’re very excited to have them join the staff of Empire, one of next season’s most highly anticipated new dramas.”

Gonzalez and Haft are represented by Summit Talent & Literary Agency and Luber Roklin Entertainment, and they have selected the Media Access Awards — a Fox Writers Intensive nominating organization — to receive this year’s $15,000 grant.

Other finalists in the 2014 class are being promoted across the Fox creative community and submitted for potential staffing on current and future productions, including Nazrin Choudhury, Tze Chun, Nate Clark, Sonay Hoffman, Johanna Lee, Katherine Nolfi, Gabby Revilla, Bernadette Rivero, Kevin Seccia, Erik Shapiro and Debby Wolfe.