Fox Unveils Finalists for Writers Intensive Program

Only one will go on to be named the program's 2015 fellow.
Getty Images

Fox is giving aspiring writers a reason to celebrate.

The company's audience strategy group announced the finalists for the annual Fox Writers Intensive, a program designed to grow experienced, diverse writers and ready them for potential staffing opportunities on Fox's television, film and digital entertainment productions.

The finalists (along with their respective representatives) are Aaron Carew (Independent), Jason Coffey (Kaplan Stahler Agency and Oasis Media Group), David Cornue (Original Artists and Madhouse Entertainment), Cindy Fang (Gersh and Echo Lake Entertainment), Chuck Hayward (APA and Heroes and Villains Entertainment), David McMillan (Creative Artists Agency and Grandview), Diana Mendez (Animo Entertainment), Jess Pineda (Kaplan Stahler Agency and Principato-Young Entertainment), Sarah Carbiener and Erica Rosbe (ICM Partners and Industry Entertainment), Rebecca Walker (United Talent Agency and 3 Arts Entertainment), JaNeika and JaSheika James (ICM Partners) and Jared Romero (Think Tank Management).

This year’s finalists were selected from more than 400 nominations and submissions by various talent representation and arts organizations, including National Association of Latino Independent Producers, Sundance Institute, The Black List, Outfest, Film Independent, NAACP, Women in Film Los Angeles, Coalition of Asian Pacifics in Entertainment and Veterans in Film & TV. Next, the group of writers will spend 14 weeks honing their craft and networking with Fox's many staff writers, showrunners, screenwriters, directors and creative executives.

"Authenticity is essential to successful storytelling. That process starts with hiring writers with diverse and authentic points of view, and that’s exactly who we want to engage through the Fox Writers Intensive," said Nicole A. Bernard, executive vice president of audience strategy for 21st Century Fox. "This has been the goal of FWI from the beginning – it has proven true in the talented and formidable group of writers we’ve announced today, and we look forward to being a part of their continued success."

While all of the finalists will receive staffing meetings for the network's current series and a first-look agreement to option their original and new scripts, only one writer will be named the 2015 FWI Fellow. The winner will be granted either a purchase and development deal on his or her original script or a first-look deal from Fox Broadcasting Company or any of its affiliated entities.