Fox's 'Rocky Horror Picture Show' Casts its Columbia

Annaleigh Ashford - H 2015
AP Images/Invision

Annaleigh Ashford - H 2015

Fox's Rocky Horror Picture Show has cast its Columbia.

Masters of Sex actress and Tony Award winner Annaleigh Ashford has nabbed the role. She joins previously announced cast members Laverne Cox (Dr. Frank-N-Furter), Victoria Justice (Janet), Ryan McCartan (Brad), Adam Lambert (Eddie), Reeve Carney (Riff Raff), Staz Nair (Rocky) and Tim Curry, the original Frank-N-Furter, who is returning as the show’s Criminologist Narrator.

Kenneth Ortega (High School Musical) is directing, executive producing and choreographing the two-hour television remake of the 1975 cult classic. The story follows sweethearts Janet (Justice) and Brad (McCartan), who stumble upon Dr. Frank-N-Furter’s (Cox) bizarre abode. Frank-N-Furter, a sexually ambiguous, flirtatious alien mad-scientist is holding an annual Transylvanian science convention to showcase the birth of “Rocky Horror” (Nair), a fit and attractive man created solely to fulfill Frank’s desires.

Ashford recently starred in the title role of the revival of playwright A.R. Gurney’s Sylvia, opposite Matthew Broderick. She won a Tony for her portrayal of Essie Carmichael in the Broadway revival of Moss Hart and George S. Kaufman’s You Can’t Take It With You. Ashford will reprise her role as Betty DiMello on Showtime’s Masters of Sex this summer.

Ortega, Gail Berman and Lou Adler, who produced the original film, are attached as exec producers. The new Rocky will be produced by Fox 21 Television Studios and Berman's The Jackal Group.